We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice pool, gardens, and views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 16 Pongola B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We were travelling as a family group of four adults, in Dec 12.
Travelling from Kruger to Thonga Beach lodge on the coast (via Swaziland), Tamboti Ridge was excellently situated for us, just 10km or so from the Swaziland/South Africa border post.
The setting was lovely - a large planned garden complex that had some great views over the river. The owners' main house and the guest lodging rooms are well situated, and there is a fantastic pool (unfortunately in mid-repair whilst we were there).
The rooms were basic, and I can attest that the bathrooms are still not clean or well maintained. The bedding was also a bit grey-looking, but perhaps it was grey when it was purchased?
Dinner was at the Shayomoya Lodge, a short drive away (not walkable). The main bar/restaraunt area there has stunning views over the valley, and was very comfortable. The food was good, without being outstanding.
Breakfast in the morning is served in the Tamboti main house, and this too was the standard fare, done well (cereals and fruit, followed by a cooked breakfast - eggs to order).
Whilst I've rated it overall as 'average', that is probably in part because we had been spoiled in the previous lodges that we had stayed at during our trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindy B, Public Relations Manager at Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your detailed feedback and improvements have taken place since. Tamboti indeed is a lovely stop over point from Kruger to Natal and I am glad you appreciated the lovely setting and gardens. Attention has been paid to the rooms and bathrooms at Shayamoya, an A'la carte menu has been introduced to offer more variety.
Regards
Lindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in a very spacious room with a large bathroom. The noisy airco (type: roomcooler) could only be controlled by climbing on a chair. The room itself was clean and the double bed of good quality with clean sheets. The bathroom however was not well cleaned and worn out. One could not use the leaking hand shower in the bath tub. We mentioned this immediately, but nothing was done.
Diner was served in the Shayamoya Game Lodge (same owner) at 6 km. The very steep dirt road was not easy to drive but the view on the restaurant's terrace was stunning. The fixed menu was not expensive but of low quality and not recommendable. But alas there is no alternative and they probably know this.
The Pongola nature reserve is 10 km away and worth a visit. The entrance is next to the Swaziland border post.
The full cooked English breakfast was absolutely perfect and served in a beautiful room. The host Denise is a friendly lady. Together with Brian they form a fantastic couple and they can tell thrilling stories.

Summarizing: do not expect a luxurious room for ZAR 700 per day. We slept in room #4, which was apparently the largest room. The room is OK; the bathroom is not clean and worn out. The swimming pool is large, clean and beautiful. The breakfast is great.

Room Tip: Ask for room #4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindy B, Public Relations Manager at Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guest
Denise and Brian do indeed form a fantastic couple and can tell thrilling stories. Ultimately Tamboti Ridge is a wholesome, farm style with antique finishes, overnight venue. Many thanks for your review which is valuable in that effort has been spent on upgrading the rooms and bathrooms, the deck furniture and linen. Many changes have taken place at Shayamoya Tiger Fishing and Game Lodge aswell and the restaurant now offers an A'la carte menu to add variety.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Tamboti Ridge Guesthouse is wonderfully situated near Pongola/Swaziland Border with a great view and a nice pool. The owner gave us a very friendly and down-to-earth welcome. The rooms are simple but pretty and clean. Owner and staff were friendly and the breakfast was excellent. This bed & breakfast is a perfect stop-over on the way from Johannesburg or Kruger to the eastern coast. The price for our large and cosy room was extremely moderate.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fab3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindy B, Public Relations Manager at Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your down-to-earth review. Tamboti Ridge is just that, with peaceful and lovely settings, a friendly couple as hosts and a farm style breakfast. The positioning is indeed ideal for those travelling from Kruger Park to KwaZulu Natal. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

I have stayed at Tamboti Ridge many times with my fishing tour groups that I take up to Lake Jozini for Tiger Fishing and they have always been more than satisfied. I like it there also because the owners take personal care of my guests and me an I always feel welcome there. The rooms are very comfortable, and face over a lovely garden area which just leads to a relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikaoFishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindy B, Public Relations Manager at Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your positive review. The accessibility to Lake Jozini where the intrepid Tiger fish breed is indeed a plus for Tamboti who host many self-catering fishing groups. However if you choose breakfast to be included, it is a hearty affair with many of the fruits on the platter grown in the area, breakfast is lovingly prepared by the Zulu staff. Regards
Lindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maputo2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matteo108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindy B, Public Relations Manager at Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wlan am Haupthaus und am Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler21682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindy B, Public Relations Manager at Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pongola
21.9 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
466 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Guest House Pongola
The Guest House Pongola
#3 of 16 in Pongola
31 reviews
4.5 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa
3.9 mi away
Nkwazi Lake Lodge
Nkwazi Lake Lodge
#4 of 16 in Pongola
45 reviews
17.4 mi away
Elegant Lodge
Elegant Lodge
#7 of 16 in Pongola
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast

Address: N 2 Highway at Golela Junction | Golela, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Pongola
Price Range: £37 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a lovely sub-tropical garden with a breathtaking view up the Pongola River, ideally located to break the long journey between Johannesburg or Kruger Park to the Zululand Resorts. An established sugar and game farm situated in the peaceful beauty of the bushveld. The spacious rooms lead out onto a wooden deck where you can relax and enjoy the spectacular sunsets and listen to the variety of bird calls. Wholesome farm-style breakfasts are served in the family homestead. Dinner can be arranged by prior booking at our 4 star game lodge, Shayamoya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing