We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! A compulsory Northern KZN visit!”
Review of Nkwazi Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nkwazi Lake Lodge
Ranked #5 of 16 Pongola B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 December 2012

What an awesome spot!

During the 30 minute drive from the entrance gate to the lodge we saw rhino, giraffe, nyala, bush pigs and a wide variety of scarce birds. The natural beauty and vistas is out of this world.

The lodge itself was amazing… overlooking a horseshoe bend in one of Pongolapoort Dam sidings. Well maintained, excellent layout, beautiful views!!!

The staff was friendly and welcoming and they put in extra effort to make our visit one to remember.

Our room was clean, large, bedding clean, unobstructed views, wildlife (gazelle and bush pigs) grazing right below our balcony.

The food (dinner and breakfast) is delectable! The dining hall also provide excellent views over the dam… while we had breakfast in the comfort of the lapa, we saw rhino, giraffe and zebra.

What a special place!

In my opinion, this place beats the best of KZN. Spend time at Nkwazi rather than the large, commercial attractions. This is a place to unwind, relax, do some activities (boat trips, safari, guided trips, birding) or just chill out, read a book or just stare at the spectacular views.

One of my personal traveling highlights.

Room Tip: We were in room no 2. Great views
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MySouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Nkwazi Lake Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2012

It was our anniversary this weekend and we ended up here as the original place booked was more for big tour groups and not very romantic. Luckily they could accommodate us and WOW, were we happy when we arrived. First the dirt track there was great as we saw hundreds of amazing birds, a rhino, giraffe and more (it took us about 90min instead of 30 min to get there as we kept stopping).
From the first moment of dealing with them on the phone they were great. They quickly converted a chalet into a double for us and were super friendly on the phone. We were received with such a warm welcome which to me really makes a difference. The food was really good - both breakfast and dinner AND we were also spoilt with a very nice bottle of sparkling when we arrived in our room after dinner. The chalets each have their own little balcony with a view. Really wherever you are, you are blessed with the most amazing views and you can also see wildlife around the camp. Thanks to Mientjie and crew for a great stay - we will definitely be back and will highly recommend it. It really was good value for money too!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. They are a little dark, but that seems to be the norm for thatch roof plac...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

14k dirty track ride but than you atre in heaven. Little wooden cottages, excellent views to the lake (dam) with corcodiles and hippos, birds and rhinos. Good breakfast and lovely supper! Go there and book a boat trip!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeP_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Six nights here was soooooooo relaxing! Staff and management were always on the ball, going that extra bit for us. Staff singing Happy Birthday in Zulu was a bonus. New years eve was a special occasion too. Wildlife abounded. Fish bit. Beautiful country. I have to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoss007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgrwim, Owner at Nkwazi Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful comments in TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure reading your short comments, straight forward and to the point.
Hope to see you soon.

Regards

Pongola Game Reserve Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

this lodge really caters well for fishermen - but wives/ "non fishers" could spend all day watching game, reading a book , swimming, chilling etc at the lodge - the views are stunning accommodation fairly rustic - mvubu lodge is slightly more up market - both are so reasonable- excellent value for money

Room Tip: if you like ethnic stay here - if you like white crisp crisp linen stay at mvubu
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adeleben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgrwim, Owner at Nkwazi Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Hope to welcome you back to Nkwazi Lake Lodge In the near future.

Warm Regards

Pongola Game Reserve Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Thank you to Chris, Mientjie, Patrick, Gerrit and Martha for your attentive service. Alfred your broccoli salad is define! We stayed over for 4 nights on our way to Mabibi. Will highly recommend this lodge for leasure, tiger fishing and game viewing. Saw in excess of 20 hippos in the river, many crocs sleeping on the banks of the river, Will defenitely be back.

Room Tip: All the challets have a river view, the familiy units do not have the view
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HandsOn_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgrwim, Owner at Nkwazi Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear Guest

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Nkwazi Lake Lodge. It was a pleasure reading and sharing your comments with the Nkwazi team.

Kind Regards

Pongola Game Reserve Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Angelique1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pongola
18.3 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
421 reviews
4.8 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
10.6 mi away
Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
White Elephant Safari Lodge
19.2 mi away
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
#1 of 10 in Pongola
235 reviews
17.8 mi away
Kwalala Lodge
Kwalala Lodge
#1 of 16 in Pongola
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nkwazi Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nkwazi Lake Lodge

Address: Pongola Game Reserve, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Pongola
Price Range: £121 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few exclusive yet affordable private getaways combine the scenic variety of bushveld, mountains, major water bodies and a range of leisure activities that make the best of all the natural features. This combination, an abundance of space and the results of a "light footprint" development philosophy are key ingredients of the special experience offered by Pongola Game Reserve, Pongola Game Reserve in northern KwaZulu Natal. The reserve extends over part of the original area that, in 1894, was declared the Pongola Game Reserve by Paul Kruger, President of the old Transvaal Republic. The original reserve has since been re-proclaimed, in part, as the Phongolo Nature Reserve, which is the present Pongola Game Reserve's immediate neighbour. The business is owned and managed by the Landman family who's ancestors arrived in the Cape in 1744. The Pongola River, broad and perennial, meanders through the centre of the reserve before entering the man-made 13 276 hectare lake. It provides a leisure environment unique for a South African bushveld destination. Safari cruises, canoe adventures, birding and tiger fishing are among the main activities. The area is home to many typical plains game species, four of the Big Five (excluding lion), Hippopotumas and crocodile. It is also a birding "hotspot". Over 350 species have so far been recorded here. One can also enjoy the experience of tracking rhino on foot and participating in the elephant monitoring programme. Please take your time and enjoy your visit to our website and please feel free to make a booking enquiry if you are interested in visiting the Pongola Game Reserve. The reserve is 450km from Johannesburg and 350km from Durban. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nkwazi Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing