We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life time experience”
Review of Nkwazi Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nkwazi Lake Lodge
Ranked #5 of 16 Pongola B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I, my son (both from Holland) and my 2 brothers in law spend our well planned fishing trip to Jozini dam and stayed at Nkwasi lodge. We stayed in the self catering mansion which was large enough to house 10. Tiger on a flyrod was high on my bucket list. We had booked a boat for 3 mornings and never having caught a tiger in my life before it became a life time experience. We caught plenty, varying in size between 1 and 3 pounds including barbels in excess of 8 pounds. The wild life is extraordinary and grazing on our front lawn. In addition we had a game drive on the other side of the lake under the superb supervision of Dumi the head ranger who also guided us on our fishing trips. Words are not enough to express the quality time we had (4 days). Any day, any time again !!

Room Tip: The self catering was splendid. You have to bring all your goods because its a 3 hrs drive to the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricWijngaarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed over unexpectedly for one night, as friends and I were leaving St Lucia for JHB and decided we were not ready for the real world just yet. As were driving we came across Nkwazi Lake Lodge on the internet and gave them a call. A very professional and friendly reservationist sold us the booking and gave us directions. When we arrived the staff were all exceptionally friendly. The group manager Donovan assisted us with check-in, great cocktails by the splash pools on the deck that look over the dam and arranged a game drive for us. The park has four of the big five (no lion) and apparently 120 elephants. As with game viewing it is luck of the draw and we did not see any elephants but not due to lack of trying as we were taken all over the place by Duane who was a great host on the drive. It is also known for its Tiger fishing. The rooms are comfortable, spacious with no fuss and superb meals. Was a perfect escape for us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimmoW16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We spent one unplanned night at Nkwazi Lake Lodge in the Pongola Game Reserve in May 2013 and what a nice surprize did we get when after a half an hours drive from the entrance to the lodge we came over a hill and saw a very nice view of the Pongolapoort dam (Lake Jozine) right in front of us. Food where really good and the views exceptional. If you plan to drive through that area we really recommend staying over at Nkwazi Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrevanderMerwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My family booked us at Nkwazi for three nights during our recent trip from NZ. What an awesome place! Food was good, the pool is lovely, drinks were great and the staff lovely. beautiful views. The "boys" had fun fishing; the "girls" relaxed at the pool. The trip to the spa at Mvubu was excellent

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenz179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We enjoyed a fun filled vacation in December 2012 at Nkwazi Lake Lodge which is situated in the Pongola Game Reserve. The reserve boasts with all of the great 5 except Lions. We spend a marvelous day fishing Tiger Fish in Lake Jozini, which does have crocodiles and hippo. Nkwazi Lake Lodge has thatched lodging which overlooks the dam, thus meaning that you have a constant view of wild all day. Nkwazi Lake Lodge also have game viewing, however just travelling from the main gate to the lodge we counted 15 giraffe.
The staff at Nkwazi Lake Lodge is so helpful, and friendly and their food is of 5 star quality. I personally feel that this is affordable family vacation, and is already planning our next trip there! Thanks Nkwazi Lake Lodge for your hospitality and for making our vacation one to remember!!

Room Tip: There is two rows of chalets which all have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

What an awesome spot!

During the 30 minute drive from the entrance gate to the lodge we saw rhino, giraffe, nyala, bush pigs and a wide variety of scarce birds. The natural beauty and vistas is out of this world.

The lodge itself was amazing… overlooking a horseshoe bend in one of Pongolapoort Dam sidings. Well maintained, excellent layout, beautiful views!!!

The staff was friendly and welcoming and they put in extra effort to make our visit one to remember.

Our room was clean, large, bedding clean, unobstructed views, wildlife (gazelle and bush pigs) grazing right below our balcony.

The food (dinner and breakfast) is delectable! The dining hall also provide excellent views over the dam… while we had breakfast in the comfort of the lapa, we saw rhino, giraffe and zebra.

What a special place!

In my opinion, this place beats the best of KZN. Spend time at Nkwazi rather than the large, commercial attractions. This is a place to unwind, relax, do some activities (boat trips, safari, guided trips, birding) or just chill out, read a book or just stare at the spectacular views.

One of my personal traveling highlights.

Room Tip: We were in room no 2. Great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MySouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

It was our anniversary this weekend and we ended up here as the original place booked was more for big tour groups and not very romantic. Luckily they could accommodate us and WOW, were we happy when we arrived. First the dirt track there was great as we saw hundreds of amazing birds, a rhino, giraffe and more (it took us about 90min instead of 30 min to get there as we kept stopping).
From the first moment of dealing with them on the phone they were great. They quickly converted a chalet into a double for us and were super friendly on the phone. We were received with such a warm welcome which to me really makes a difference. The food was really good - both breakfast and dinner AND we were also spoilt with a very nice bottle of sparkling when we arrived in our room after dinner. The chalets each have their own little balcony with a view. Really wherever you are, you are blessed with the most amazing views and you can also see wildlife around the camp. Thanks to Mientjie and crew for a great stay - we will definitely be back and will highly recommend it. It really was good value for money too!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. They are a little dark, but that seems to be the norm for thatch roof plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pongola
18.3 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
429 reviews
10.6 mi away
Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa
4.8 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
White Elephant Safari Lodge
17.8 mi away
Kwalala Lodge
Kwalala Lodge
#2 of 16 in Pongola
86 reviews
19.2 mi away
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
#1 of 10 in Pongola
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nkwazi Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nkwazi Lake Lodge

Address: Pongola Game Reserve, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Pongola
Price Range: £120 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few exclusive yet affordable private getaways combine the scenic variety of bushveld, mountains, major water bodies and a range of leisure activities that make the best of all the natural features. This combination, an abundance of space and the results of a "light footprint" development philosophy are key ingredients of the special experience offered by Pongola Game Reserve, Pongola Game Reserve in northern KwaZulu Natal. The reserve extends over part of the original area that, in 1894, was declared the Pongola Game Reserve by Paul Kruger, President of the old Transvaal Republic. The original reserve has since been re-proclaimed, in part, as the Phongolo Nature Reserve, which is the present Pongola Game Reserve's immediate neighbour. The business is owned and managed by the Landman family who's ancestors arrived in the Cape in 1744. The Pongola River, broad and perennial, meanders through the centre of the reserve before entering the man-made 13 276 hectare lake. It provides a leisure environment unique for a South African bushveld destination. Safari cruises, canoe adventures, birding and tiger fishing are among the main activities. The area is home to many typical plains game species, four of the Big Five (excluding lion), Hippopotumas and crocodile. It is also a birding "hotspot". Over 350 species have so far been recorded here. One can also enjoy the experience of tracking rhino on foot and participating in the elephant monitoring programme. Please take your time and enjoy your visit to our website and please feel free to make a booking enquiry if you are interested in visiting the Pongola Game Reserve. The reserve is 450km from Johannesburg and 350km from Durban. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nkwazi Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing