We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Vestby, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Warm welcome back”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

After last years visit we just had to bring our son, his wife and our two grand sons to experience this fantastic place with this friendly people. We became good friends with Philip and Jeremy last year and had an unforgettable time game watching with them . We inquired if it was possible to meet them again. And can you believe it, they postponed their vacation and spent two unforgettable days together with us. We did not see the lions on the first two safaris but when we rested at noon, Philip searched for the lions in the bush by feet - brave man - and found them!! After noon Philip and Jeremy managed to drive to the tree male lions resting in the shadow. No roads, but with help of machete and skill they managed, What a thrill for all of us.
We saw lots of other animals and together with their knowledge and the willingness to share it with us made everything just fantastic. Big groups of elephants, giraffes and antelopes, some buffaloes, warthogs, ostriches, etc.
The rest of the staff and kitchen are top class. I have been travelling most over the world, but this is my favorite place.
Olav, Eli, Per, Anita, Olav jr. and Simen from Norway

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
The team of Amakhosi thanks you for once again reviewing our lodge. It was wonderful to welcome you and your family back and we are so happy that you enjoyed yourself and that Phillip managed to be there for your stay. Phillip is a great asset to the team and we are do appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback. Hope we see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    10
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
114
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blythedale Beach
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Our family recently spent 3 amazing days at Amakhosi Safari Lodge. From our arrival to our departure we were treated like royalty. The Lodge is beautifully situated on the banks of a river, which, after some recent heavy rain, was flowing swiftly passed the Lodge. To Sean, Tamsin, Mandy, Kevin and Mandla, who helped make this time in our beautiful African Bush such a memoriable experience - a very big thank you. Our rooms were well situated over looking the river and so comfortable and attention to detail so special.
Our game drives were filled with amazing experiences, lots of good humour and plenty of entertainment from all the elements. From muddy roads - Kevin handled these challenges well, to stormy skies to wonderful game viewing. The catering is exceptional and presentation of all meals really good. We were thrilled to be able to see all but one of the Big FIve - the leopard remains elusive - next time buddy!!! When not out game viewing, just sitting on your own private deck taking in the sights and sounds of the amazing bird life, or cooling off in the sparking pool at the lodge or enjoying a pampering massage, will certainly fill in the gaps of the day.
On our final night there, the staff entertained us with some amazing zulu dancing.
To Sean, Tamsin and all the staff at Amakhosi Safari Lodge - thank you for wonderful memories of an amazing African adventure.

Room Tip: All rooms over look the river - you can't get better than that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
120 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

There is not much I can add to the superlatives from other reviewers except to say that they are all true and Amakhosi is one of the best travel experiences I have ever had.

Accomodation, food and service were all top notch. We had close encounters with lions, cheetah, elephants, rhino, hippo, giraffes, zebras, impala, ostrich and many others. Our ranger Nick and tracker Melanda did an amazing job.

Thank you to all of the staff at Amakhosi for helping us to have such a great time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MB747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Actually travelled more than 2 years ago!
They talk about Imperial hospitality - that is certainly what you get!
As we arrived, we were greeted by burning braziers, iced Red Bush tea, hot towels and friendly faces, and we were completely spoiled from that moment on. Typically: Early starts (to catch the game) but hot drinks and light biscuits/pastries to get you going. Full breakfast on return, luncheon, full afternoon tea with savoury and sweet pastries etc and finally full dinner. All early or late game drives included a sunrise or sundowner stop with drinks, pastries or a mini braii. Game drives at different times to see different game/wildlife. A bush walk. An evening of local custom (Zulu dancers and a Braii). We stayed just 3 nights. Close encounters with Elephants, Lions, Rhinos and Cheetahs, numerous buck and birds.
The cabins were charming. Spacious, well appointed luxury. Baths were run for us on return from evening drives. Clothes were washed an ironed. Just a brilliant experience, we were treated like royalty.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThimbleBBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We have stayed at many top Lodges and Amakhosi rates at the top of our list in every respect, great service, wonderful meals and the attention to detail. We had a fantastic weekend away. Thank you Wendy and Leon.

Room Tip: All rooms were equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonT6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

From the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome.
The whole lodge is beautiful, it has just been refurbished so looks really tip top! Our room was stunning, very spacious seperate sitting room, huge bathroom seperate wet room with shower, all tastefully and comfortably furnished . Every little detail is thought off, tea and coffee making facilities with a jar of home baked cookies, fresh fruit, magazines and bathroom candles. each room has a huge deck overlooking the river, a lovely place to relax between game drives.

We had Nick as our Ranger for the game drives and as well as being really knowledgable he was great fun and beat our boys at chess at least once a day, a really charming gentlemen . our tracker was also brilliant. The game drives were all superb, we were so close to so many animals including 3 male lions who were just beautiful, they even sharpened their claws on a tree 2 metres away from us. I loved the elephants best, we were lucky enough to seem them several times, they walked all around us on their way to the river and the matriach stood and sniffed us with her trunk from only a few feet away as a way of making sure we ment no harm to all the young babies. the babies were adorable, all together in a little group.
i loved all the animals, zebra, giraffe even all the antelopes were so pretty. We were lucky enough to see a cheetah being released into the reserve to hopefully breed with a female.

The food at the lodge is also superb, my husbands only complaint was it was all so good he was putting on weight! the staff are also all great, very friendly and great fun, the girls sung and performed a traditional zulu song one evening it was great fun,all the guests loved it! We all really loved Mandy who hand reared the resident wart hogs who are so funny.
I would have no hesitation in recommending Amakoshi to anybody, I wish i was still there in fact

Thank you one and all for making our holiday

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debramackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you so much for posting the review, we are also so pleased that you enjoyed the new look lodge as the team worked really hard to make sure that it looked great for our first guests and that the animals were not disrupted too much during the new road building. Please submit some of your pictures to us for our guest competition to sales@amakhosi.com we would love to see them and share them with our FB fans and friends. We look forward to welcoming you once again to our lodge. Regards the Amakhosi Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Forgot to post this review last year. We booked last August for a one night stay as part of our honeymoon. We loved it so much that we immediately booked a 2nd night. I have been to many game parks across Africa and I rate this as my favourite. Although this is a long old drive from Durban the friendly intimate atmosphere, knowledgable staff, brilliant accomodation and top notch food mean we could not recommend this place highly enough. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vW76_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post the review we appreciate the time you took after your stay to post it and hope that your stay made your honeymoon a memorable one and hope to see you soon again for your 1st anniversary. Regards the team of Amakhosi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pongola
22.6 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
10.0 mi away
Pakamisa Private Game Reserve
15.9 mi away
White Elephant Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
24.7 mi away
African Spirit Game Lodge
13.8 mi away
Kwalala Lodge
Kwalala Lodge
#1 of 15 in Pongola
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amakhosi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amakhosi Safari Lodge

Property: Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Address: Vergelegen Farm | R69, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Pongola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amakhosi Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amakhosi Lodge is one of those destinations that you need to visit at least once in a lifetime! Translated as a ‘place of kings’, it is exclusive, offering a unique and personally rewarding safari experience. Situated on the banks of the Mkuze River in the heart of Zululand, this small yet absolutely charming Lodge is not only about experiencing a ‘Big 5’ safari. It is far more than that as the guides pride themselves in sharing their intimate knowledge of this unique and pristine bushveld with their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amakhosi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing