We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Now, a sceptic might call this place a "zoo". It's a former farm, returned to the wild and stocked with game to provide a modest-sized private game park. So the game drives are almost a game of hide & seek (it's amazing how easily a herd of elephants can hide!), although no less fun for that.
But for what it is it really couldn't be better. The suites are super-luxurious and really comfortable, the food really excellent and the hospitality superb - including the staff giving an impromptu singing concert on the evening we arrived. We were really well looked after, and the game viewing too was great - closest I've ever been to elephants (when we found them!).
A brief but memorable and very worthwhile stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK_Traveller019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely posting, we are so pleased you mentioned the game drives, it is so amazing that there many people that go on safaris and expect to find animals "on tap" zoo style. Our rangers pride them selves on giving you the full experience of tracking and finding the animals, Amakhosi was a farm 25 years ago and the animals have adapted well over the years and we try maintain this natural environment, we are at present negotiating to purchase more land around us and hope that you visit us soon so that you can experience this as you did mention your stay was too brief. Thank you for the lovely comments on our hospitality and we will pass this on to the team.. Regards for all at Amakhosi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
There are newer reviews for Amakhosi Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Amakhosi Safari Lodge will far exceed any expectations you may have. In November 2013 we were married in the bush with every attention to detail made by Sonja and her amazing team. From the moment my wife Hannah and I from the UK contacted Sonja regarding our wedding plans, only six weeks beforehand, we were given friendly, useful and completely appropriate advice with regular email contact. We only wished for a simple ceremony and Amakhosi listened to our requirements and acted on them in the most special of ways. We stayed in the Honeymoon suite and following the ceremony were greeted with exquisitely hand decorated flower petals, heart shaped leaves and personalised gifts. The staff left no stone unturned to ensure we had the most memorable, personal and heavenly stay with them. Hannah was five months pregnant at the time and the Spa tailor made their massage services to accommodate this fact, taking great care to ensure the treatments were completely appropriate and safe. The food in the restaurant is second to none with the chef introducing herself before each meal to explain the menu for the evening. The drivers and trackers on the game drives were informative, knowledgeable and friendly. It was truly first class. We cannot thank Sonja and the whole Amakhosi team enough for our dream wedding and stay with them and we have promised to return again some day. Thank you for absolutely everything, Hannah and Nigel

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Hannah and Nigel
Thank you so much for taking the time to post on Tripadvisor, we were so honoured that you chose Amakhosi for your wedding and we are so happy that we made your wedding a memorable one even with the challenging weather. It is guests like you that make all our efforts worthwhile and we hope that you return soon so that we can meet your child! The TEAM wish you all the best and look forward to hearing from you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here in the honeymoon suite as it was our first year anniversary. The staff could not of been more helpful they places petals all round the room, champagne and left lovely messages for us. It was just so perfect.
We loved the staff's friendliness, they would do anything to help and would always stop for a chat. The decor in the rooms and lodge was absolutely stunning, warm, cosy, African and classy. A real touch of love went into each area. They now have a spa which overlooks the river it's incredibly relaxing with again amazing staff who look after you so well.
Thankyou amakhosi for making our stay perfect. We will be back!! Our new favourite African bush jewel. :)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186338Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Firstly thank you for choosing Amakhosi to spend such a special occasion and also a big thank you for sharing your experience. We are so pleased that we managed to make your stay a memorable one and also to hear that you will return. It is comments like this that make it all worthwhile. Regards and see you soon The Amakhosi TEAM!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here late September 2013 and should have written this review a long, long time ago - but the memories arte still intense. We must have missed the spa by days and it would have been handy for the 2 rainy days while we were there. But with or without spa Amakhosi Lodge was definitely the most impressive and complete lodge/guesthouse we enjoyed on our extensive road trip around KZN. The fairly remote location already gets your adventure juices gurgling and upon arrival you're amazed by the design and layout and overwhelmed by the welcome and comfort. The rooms are as good as all the other reviewers explain and the common areas like the restaurant, lounge, terraces, pool etc etc are perfect. All this and the attention from Faith and the others makes for very firendly guests and a great atmosphere at the lodge and on the drives. Kevin and Mandla (and the other guides and trackers) are extremely proficient in what they do and taught us loads & the wlldlife is pretty good at its stuff too :)
In my experience food is always generous in RSA, often very good and always copious - but at Amakhosi it is simply fantastic. Imaginative, inspired & creative food that has something very African about it while keeping international appeal and 5* service. e.g. Impala Loin stuffed with spinach & feta, red onion marmalade & rosemary jus - mmm. Without doubt the finest cuisine we had while in KZN - chef's parents were staying at the Lodge and they have every right to be as proud of her as they are.

101% deserving of its reputation and surprisingly affordable considering the lengths to which every aspect of your stay is cared for. Unforgettable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

What a lovely surprise to get a notification of a new review and to see this amazing one. Thank you for taking the time to write in and we appreciate the fact that you thought of us since your visit in September. It is always great to reward staff for their exceptional service and we will certainly pass on your comments to all. We are proud of each and every one in our team and as proud of our lovely Lauren, as much as her parents are. I am sure that your informative report will assist many in their travels. Thank you once again and hope that you visit us again when back in South Africa, this time you will be able to enjoy our lovely SPA. Regards the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

From the moment we arrived, after a 4.5hr drive from Durban, we were treated like royalty. Zinhle, Faith and the team, gave us a such a warm welcome, which continued through out our stay. We were fortunate to be the only guests there that weekend, and so we really felt like we were in our own private game reserve! The facilities and accomodation were well appointed, with beautiful furniture and design. Our chalet consisted of a room with a queen bed, a bathroom with toilet and bath, a seperate toilet, seperate shower, outside shower and a sitting room - with sofa bed for the kids, on the banks of the Mkuze River. There are 8 river facing rooms and 1 Honeymoon suite. The buck, warthogs and other animals are often seen on the banks of the river. What a beautiful sight. There is an Africology spa, which offers body and facial treatments. Phume and Zinhle gave us wonderful massages with Shea butter. The food: high tea is served before the afternoon game drive and consists of lemonade, iced tea, teas, coffees, wraps, mini burgers, canapes, fruit, biltong, cheeses. Supper is 4 courses, and beautifully prepared. The chef comes through and discusses dinner options, dietary requirements and they are so obliging! Breakfasts are even 3 courses: yoghurt, home made muesli, fruit, cheese and home made breads, and full hot breakfast. The game drives: We had 3 game drives - we were very fortunate to have seen the lions on a kill, and we were about 3m away from them. It was both amazing and very scary! Kevin and Mandla were really knowledgeable about the animals and bird life.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you so much for posting this great review and thank you for especially mentioning the staff that made the stay at our lodge a memorable one. It is with reviews like yours that make our team want to strive to always ensure that our guests have great memories of their stay. The lovely description of the lodge and our facilities, we are sure will assist other Trip Advisor customers in making decisions as where to stay. Our management team have passed on your kind words to all and we hope that you visit us soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

one week (August 2013) in Amakhosi. Honey moon suite. just paradise!! 3 years ago we were in different lodges. after one night in Amakhosi we could confirm what our friends, having a house near Durban, said: JUST GO TO AMAKHOSI. now we did. and enjoyed an excellent stay. beautiful setting on a river, every day 2 Jeep tours with the best ranger and tracker (thanks Nick and "Sack"). all these amasing animals in a very diversified landscape. Excellent Food is guaranteed too. thank you Sonja and Team. we soon will come back. Maria and Hans from Switzerland.(I only hope with all these positive Feedbacks we still will find a house for us!)

Room Tip: Sonja will arrange for you.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Hans R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you so much Hans for the lovely review, your time with us was so short and we hope that you and Maria return soon to visit us, we will make sure we have a suite for you. Thank you for the lovely comments on all our staff and of Nick and Zack it is with this positive feedback that we are motivated to keep up our service levels. Thank you again and regards from Sonja and the TEAM of AMAKHOSI!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Wow... wow... wow!!!!!! have you ever seen 2 male Rhino fight for females???... Holy Moly was that thunderous!!!!! ...but the most amazing thing is that they squeal like pigs... BIZAAR!!!
Amakhosi Safari lodge is, in my opinion, one of the best BIG 5 safari destinations in KZN. And now that have added a spa, making our safari experience complete!!! to sum this lodge up into one word... WOW!!!! We came as guests and left as family... thank you Sonja and team xxxxx

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelson N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

WOW is what we think of your review, thank you! Thank you for for taking the time to write a review on our property and we are so happy that your stay was a memorable one. Our rhino are very precious to us all and we are so pleased that you had a once in a life time experience seeing them this way. We have passed on your compliments to the team and hope that you visit us again. Regards the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pongola
22.6 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
421 reviews
15.9 mi away
White Elephant Safari Lodge
10.0 mi away
Pakamisa Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
24.7 mi away
African Spirit Game Lodge
13.8 mi away
Kwalala Lodge
Kwalala Lodge
#1 of 16 in Pongola
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amakhosi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amakhosi Safari Lodge

Address: Vergelegen Farm | R69, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Pongola
Price Range: £292 - £874 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amakhosi Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amakhosi Lodge is one of those destinations that you need to visit at least once in a lifetime! Translated as a ‘place of kings’, it is exclusive, offering a unique and personally rewarding safari experience. Situated on the banks of the Mkuze River in the heart of Zululand, this small yet absolutely charming Lodge is not only about experiencing a ‘Big 5’ safari. It is far more than that as the guides pride themselves in sharing their intimate knowledge of this unique and pristine bushveld with their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amakhosi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing