We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved Amakhosi BIG time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved Amakhosi BIG time.”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Our two-day stay at Amakhosi surpassed every reasonable expectation. Beautiful lodges, splendid surroundings, exceptional service by lovely staff, great food, very relaxing spa and most of all terrific safari's by very knowledgeable rangers and trackers. We loved every second of it and will recommend - or actually command - all our friends to go there. GO, GO, GO there!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vlijtigliesje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhosi L, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Wow thank you , thank you and thank you for the lovely review, we are always so happy when our international guest that have travelled so far to be with us enjoy their stay. We enjoyed having you as well and hope that you and ALL your friends return soon. We have passed your complements or our amazing TEAM and look forward to seeing you soon. Regards The Amakhosi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    10
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
114
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile


We have been going on safari for the last twenty years and have in many ways been spoilt when it comes to gaming experiences and stay. When we decided to try this area of South Africa we came in with lowered expectations about the game viewing as we know this area to be not as densely populated as the greater Kruger area . Happily for us, we were proved wrong at Amakoshi.
The good experience started with our correspondence with Sonja the lodge manager. She was prompt, approachable and obliging and we knew that if nothing else, we were going to have a comfortable stay. We had a eight day stay here and each and every day was delightful. The service was off the charts in terms of quality and friendliness. Our interactions with everyone, the other rangers, the office and housekeeping staff were all wonderful and warm and everyone just seemed happy to go the extra mile to make our stay great. The location of the suites along the river is picturesque and though the decor is somewhat dated, the standard of housekeeping is spotless. The dining was superlative and every effort was made to meet our admittedly peculiar dietary needs.
We were perfectly happy to spend our time doing the usual round of game drives and dinners, but the Amakhosi staff decided to change things about and devised surprises and treats that made us feel very special.
At the spa I heard some quite extraordinary music and when I mentioned how much I liked it, Samantha, the head therapist immediately offered to download it for me..pretty typical of the general attitude of helpfulness at Amakhosi.
These things alone would have made our stay memorable; what knocked it out of the ball park was the game viewing. Our ranger Nick and tracker Zack gave us an experience that rivaled some of the best we have had elsewhere in Africa. The number of game may have been limited but the quality of viewing and the encounters we had with the wild life were top notch. Their passion for wild life and genuine desire to give us a great experience made us extremely happy with our choice of lodge.
The only down side to this was that we hated having to leave !

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vijiram8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhosi L, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
What a lovely feeling to log on to my computer this morning to find this amazing and humbling review. THANK you for the posting and for mentioning what a great team we have, we are so proud of each and everyone and without them Amakhosi would not be the success it is. I have passed on your compliments to top management so that the team can be complimented. There are many challenges in the bush from technology that lets us down to the challenges of nature. But the team take it in their stride and always go that extra mile. We do agree with you regarding the decor and last year we invested heavily in the new SPA and this year we will start to redecorate, so when you next visit us you will see some pleasant changes. We hope to see you soon again best regards from us ALL!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I can't really rate the lodge itself as we were unable to book despite being told there was space available for the weekend we wanted to go. Never got a response via email, so contacted the owner (Sonja) on her cellphone. She promised to call me back later that day, but nothing. Sent more emails without reply. Left a voice message on Sonja's phone the following day but still nothing. PATHETIC service. Will give my money to somebody else now. Was really looking forward to the trip but if they don't even have the decency to respond then they don't deserve to have any guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdub-centurion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
We are totally devastated to read this review , which is by no means in line with our policy of service excellence. There is no amount of apologising that can make up for the disservice and the frustration that you must have felt at not being able to contact us and we are truly sorry. As mentioned, this past week our server at the lodge exploded, which left the staff with no access to emails, to add to this is the challenge that we experience of being in a remote location, ( which is truly speculator part of Zululand and a wonderful experience for our guests) but which means technicians and any form of assistance and parts need to travel from the cities, which are a great distance away from us, as well as the fact that telecommunication reception is also very poor in our area. Sonja, has meticulously gone through every mail, she managed to retrieve and for some reason, yours must have slipped through the cracks. The above are by no means excuses and we have been aware of our problems for years and are constantly looking at any alternative means of communications, in order to assist our clients should " technology in the bush" fail us again and now more than ever, so that this NEVER happens again. we currently have a few action plans in place and hope that we can implement these soon. We once again apologise and hope that you send us your details and more details as to when the incident occurred so that we can further investigate and respond to you accordingly . As I am sure your are aware that as this type of review is detrimental to our reputation and also to our policy of delivering the best possible service to our clients. Look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK_Traveller019
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Now, a sceptic might call this place a "zoo". It's a former farm, returned to the wild and stocked with game to provide a modest-sized private game park. So the game drives are almost a game of hide & seek (it's amazing how easily a herd of elephants can hide!), although no less fun for that.
But for what it is it really couldn't be better. The suites are super-luxurious and really comfortable, the food really excellent and the hospitality superb - including the staff giving an impromptu singing concert on the evening we arrived. We were really well looked after, and the game viewing too was great - closest I've ever been to elephants (when we found them!).
A brief but memorable and very worthwhile stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_Traveller019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely posting, we are so pleased you mentioned the game drives, it is so amazing that there many people that go on safaris and expect to find animals "on tap" zoo style. Our rangers pride them selves on giving you the full experience of tracking and finding the animals, Amakhosi was a farm 25 years ago and the animals have adapted well over the years and we try maintain this natural environment, we are at present negotiating to purchase more land around us and hope that you visit us soon so that you can experience this as you did mention your stay was too brief. Thank you for the lovely comments on our hospitality and we will pass this on to the team.. Regards for all at Amakhosi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Amakhosi Safari Lodge will far exceed any expectations you may have. In November 2013 we were married in the bush with every attention to detail made by Sonja and her amazing team. From the moment my wife Hannah and I from the UK contacted Sonja regarding our wedding plans, only six weeks beforehand, we were given friendly, useful and completely appropriate advice with regular email contact. We only wished for a simple ceremony and Amakhosi listened to our requirements and acted on them in the most special of ways. We stayed in the Honeymoon suite and following the ceremony were greeted with exquisitely hand decorated flower petals, heart shaped leaves and personalised gifts. The staff left no stone unturned to ensure we had the most memorable, personal and heavenly stay with them. Hannah was five months pregnant at the time and the Spa tailor made their massage services to accommodate this fact, taking great care to ensure the treatments were completely appropriate and safe. The food in the restaurant is second to none with the chef introducing herself before each meal to explain the menu for the evening. The drivers and trackers on the game drives were informative, knowledgeable and friendly. It was truly first class. We cannot thank Sonja and the whole Amakhosi team enough for our dream wedding and stay with them and we have promised to return again some day. Thank you for absolutely everything, Hannah and Nigel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Hannah and Nigel
Thank you so much for taking the time to post on Tripadvisor, we were so honoured that you chose Amakhosi for your wedding and we are so happy that we made your wedding a memorable one even with the challenging weather. It is guests like you that make all our efforts worthwhile and we hope that you return soon so that we can meet your child! The TEAM wish you all the best and look forward to hearing from you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here in the honeymoon suite as it was our first year anniversary. The staff could not of been more helpful they places petals all round the room, champagne and left lovely messages for us. It was just so perfect.
We loved the staff's friendliness, they would do anything to help and would always stop for a chat. The decor in the rooms and lodge was absolutely stunning, warm, cosy, African and classy. A real touch of love went into each area. They now have a spa which overlooks the river it's incredibly relaxing with again amazing staff who look after you so well.
Thankyou amakhosi for making our stay perfect. We will be back!! Our new favourite African bush jewel. :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186338Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Firstly thank you for choosing Amakhosi to spend such a special occasion and also a big thank you for sharing your experience. We are so pleased that we managed to make your stay a memorable one and also to hear that you will return. It is comments like this that make it all worthwhile. Regards and see you soon The Amakhosi TEAM!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here late September 2013 and should have written this review a long, long time ago - but the memories arte still intense. We must have missed the spa by days and it would have been handy for the 2 rainy days while we were there. But with or without spa Amakhosi Lodge was definitely the most impressive and complete lodge/guesthouse we enjoyed on our extensive road trip around KZN. The fairly remote location already gets your adventure juices gurgling and upon arrival you're amazed by the design and layout and overwhelmed by the welcome and comfort. The rooms are as good as all the other reviewers explain and the common areas like the restaurant, lounge, terraces, pool etc etc are perfect. All this and the attention from Faith and the others makes for very firendly guests and a great atmosphere at the lodge and on the drives. Kevin and Mandla (and the other guides and trackers) are extremely proficient in what they do and taught us loads & the wlldlife is pretty good at its stuff too :)
In my experience food is always generous in RSA, often very good and always copious - but at Amakhosi it is simply fantastic. Imaginative, inspired & creative food that has something very African about it while keeping international appeal and 5* service. e.g. Impala Loin stuffed with spinach & feta, red onion marmalade & rosemary jus - mmm. Without doubt the finest cuisine we had while in KZN - chef's parents were staying at the Lodge and they have every right to be as proud of her as they are.

101% deserving of its reputation and surprisingly affordable considering the lengths to which every aspect of your stay is cared for. Unforgettable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
What a lovely surprise to get a notification of a new review and to see this amazing one. Thank you for taking the time to write in and we appreciate the fact that you thought of us since your visit in September. It is always great to reward staff for their exceptional service and we will certainly pass on your comments to all. We are proud of each and every one in our team and as proud of our lovely Lauren, as much as her parents are. I am sure that your informative report will assist many in their travels. Thank you once again and hope that you visit us again when back in South Africa, this time you will be able to enjoy our lovely SPA. Regards the Amakhosi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pongola
22.6 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
10.0 mi away
Pakamisa Private Game Reserve
15.9 mi away
White Elephant Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
24.7 mi away
African Spirit Game Lodge
13.8 mi away
Kwalala Lodge
Kwalala Lodge
#1 of 15 in Pongola
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amakhosi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amakhosi Safari Lodge

Property: Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Address: Vergelegen Farm | R69, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Pongola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amakhosi Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amakhosi Lodge is one of those destinations that you need to visit at least once in a lifetime! Translated as a ‘place of kings’, it is exclusive, offering a unique and personally rewarding safari experience. Situated on the banks of the Mkuze River in the heart of Zululand, this small yet absolutely charming Lodge is not only about experiencing a ‘Big 5’ safari. It is far more than that as the guides pride themselves in sharing their intimate knowledge of this unique and pristine bushveld with their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amakhosi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing