We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful weekend away and blissful rest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amakhosi Safari Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“A beautiful weekend away and blissful rest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had an amazing weekend at Amakhosi Lodge!! Couldn't believe one can rest so much from the hustle and bustle of the city!! The staff took such amazing care of us and made us feel at home. The rooms were absolutely beautiful and the food exquisite!! Since the seven years that I've been there last the quality of service is still incredible!! My fiancé and I had a beautiful 3 night stay in the honeymoon suite and the best rest!! The game drives were exquisite and the staff always delivered!!

I would just like to give a big thanks to Kevin and Mandla who were our ranger and tracker, always delivered, and Sam and spa staff who gave us amazing treatments as well as Lloyd, Gugu, Nick, Londiwe and Happy to name a few of the staff that made our stay amazing and memorable!!

Thank you very much and we will always recommend Amakhosi Safari Lodge!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarinaVosloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhosisafari, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Wonderful review, THANK you from all of the Team, we are so pleased that you relaxed and enjoyed your stay, after all that is what it is all about, enjoying and connecting with each other and nature. Thank for mentioning our amazing team, they are really wonderful and we appreciate each and every one of them. We have passed on your review to our owners for their action. Thank you also for returning and hope that we dont have to wait another seven years to welcome you back, it was a pleasure to host you both. Best regards from the Amakhosi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    10
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
61
111
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilderness, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Big may be beautiful but it can lack charm.

We have stayed at two of the large, expensive, and world famous 5* South African private game reserves bordering Kruger National Park and been transfixed by the amount of Big 5 viewing opportunities and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. So it was an act of faith when we booked 3 nights at Amakhosi - We are so pleased that we did.

Although we have seen and experienced what we thought was everything at the famous private reserves, nothing prepared us for the two hours of tranquil heaven we spent in the midst of Amakhosi's breeding herd of elephants watching the larger elephants graze whilst the inquisitive younger tribe members played around us.

I think that I felt like St Francis of Assizi calming the wild beasts but of course it was the other way round! This obviously contented family of elephants shut out the nagging worries of our urban life of by sharing two hours of sheer bliss in close proximity to us. A few of these gentle giants came to within 2 metres of our Land Cruiser and inspected us as fellow creatures with peaceful yet extraordinary knowing eyes.

A young bull named "Touchy Feely" by our ranger Kevin Williams, seemed to want to know more about the Land Cruiser's bonnet by getting ever closer but Kevin kept him guessing by slowly reversing a few metres a couple of times until he lost interest.

During our 3 days at Amakhosi Kevin managed to show us everything but leopard and wild dogs but that was more than made up with his mastery of identifying and showing us the reserve's flora and fauna.

What more could one ask for? As retired French Brasserie owners we also appreciated the fine dinners and scrumptious breakfasts all beautifully cooked and served with relaxed but attentive service. Thank you Chef.

Sorry, I am rabbiting on, but Amakhosi really is a Game Reserve not to be missed.

Room Tip: I understand that the lodges will be up-graded/re-furbished one by one this year so if you are a per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAZYJACQUES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhosisafari, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
What a wonderful surprise on a Friday, about to wind down and find this wonderful review, we are so happy that you had a wonderful time and even better had a great experience with our amazing elephant herd, we are so used to them and think they are special, but when guest confirm this it makes our day. Our team is amazing and we value each and every one, thank you for mentioning them and a copy of the review has been sent to our owners. We hope you do not wait too long and come back and visit us once our river suites have been refurbished. The team wish you all the best and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

WOW. This place was simply amazing and a true gem.

Right from the moment I arrived the level of service was absolutely stunning. They greeted me with a warm towel to freshen up, took my luggage and gave me a detailed tour of the property.

The suites are little villas that are absolutely stunning. Big deck with a hammock, separate living room, Big bathroom with soaker tub, an additional toilet, separate shower, outdoor shower and king size bedroom. The villa was AMAZING.

The safari tours are like clock work. They wake you up at 5:30 and have coffee / tea and light snack for 6am. You head out for a few hours around the park and stop for coffee/tea and snack. The morning safari is about 3 hours and they think of EVERYTHING. Hot water bottles and blankets.

When you return to the lodge, you are greeted with a warm towels to freshen up and then breakfast is served shortly thereafter.

The meals are all home made and FANTASTIC. Every meal is handmade with amazingly tasty options. I'm a picky eater, but everything was delicious.

You have a few hours to do as you wish and at 3PM they have afternoon tea before you head out for the afternoon safari. This time you go out for about 3 hours and stop for a beverage around sunset.

About the safari - WOW! You have a guide and a tracker pair who are very knowledgeable. Our guides - Dylan and King were amazing. They are very friendly and so knowledgeable about all things in the area. We could ask questions all day and they gladly answered.

On our safari we saw - Elephants, Lions, Cheetahs, Giraffes, Water Buffalo, Rhinos, all sorts of Antelope (Impala, Nyala, Kudu and more), Warthogs, Hippos.

The staff went out of their way to make it feel like home. It's a small lodge, so it feels cozy. One night, when I came back from the evening safari, they had a warm bath ready for me. Its these little things that make such a big deal.

Just book this, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Wow, thank you for the wonderful review and thank you so much for posting, we are so pleased that your experience with us was a memorable one and that the team ensured that you were well looked after. Our team is wonderful and thank you for mentioning them, it is lovely comments like this that do make it all worthwhile, we have forwarded your compliments to top management for action. You had some good sightings with our tracking team..and Chef Lauren has the knack of always getting the food right for all tastes. We hope that you come back to Africa soon and stay longer this time. Regards from all of us at the lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at Amakhosi in April - a trip planned by me for my boyfriend's 40th. The staff at Amakhosi were so wonderful. Discrete but warm service. In particular our Ranger Kevin was marvellous - showed true deep respect for the wildlife, and knowledge about the smallest bird to the Big 5. Sam at the Spa was amazing, and we had the most sublime 1,5hr Shaman's full body massage. What made this trip extra special is at sunset during one of the game drives, when we stopped for sundowners, Lee proposed! Unbeknown to us, Kevin radioed the lodge and when we arrived back, we were greeted with champagne and personal congratulations. We got back to our River lodge and a romantic bubble bath complete with petals and candles had been drawn. The personal touches really made this trip memorable for us. I would only recommend Amakhosi for a luxury Big 5 experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are superbly laid out an equipped. Suites 1 and 2 are closer to the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
What a treat to come back from a busy week of Indaba and conference to read this lovely review. HUGE congratulation on your engagement and we are all so honoured that Lee chose Amakhosi to propose. We are so pleased that our staff made your stay and your engagement a memorable one and we thank you for posting the review. Our team love their work and being recognised for good service makes all their efforts worthwhile. We have passed the comments on to our management . We hope that for the NEXT special occasion we see both of you again as it was a delight to host you. Regards the Amakhosi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I go to safari lodges to see animals and also for the overall athmosphere which the bush lodge projects. We stayed in Amakhosi three nights and had six game drives. The availability of animals is not obvious and apparently is due to recent changes in the fences bordering with other lodges, and also restocking on animals in progress. For instance two lionesses are being reintroduced in the area ( +- 5000 hectares ) and hopefully will increase the number of lions. Nevertheless we saw a good herd of elephants ( including babies ), a large herd of buffalos ( all sizes ), wildebeest, impalas,Nyala galore, giraffes ( including a three month old ), rhinoceroces ( in perfect conditions ), zebras, and stacks of birds ( my favourites ). The landscape is pretty and hilly with a wide river ( Mkuze) adding fun. Our team of ranger/tracker was good and Dylan is a motivated, educated ranger with a good sense of humour. King the tracker was efficient and the pair provided for good professional entertainment. The lodge itself ( which we visited seven years ago ) has aged but remains comfortable and the standard lodging consists of a lounge with fridge, a toilet, a good size bathroom with toilet , a shower, and a bedroom with four posts bed with netting for night comfort. It also has a deck from where one can rest watching the river, the birds from comfortable chairs. Only negative point, they were working on the spa lodge next door to our establishment during the lunch breaks and one had to live with the sound of pneumatic nailing and occasional tile cutting. I did not understand the idea of giving us that room since all the others were empty and we were alone in the camp for two of the three nights. Food is very good, even sophisticated, if anything a bit too rich and abundant. Difficult to resist so I must have added a couple of Kgs.
Management and staff is discrete but is efficient. Overall a very pleasant experience which we would love to repeat sooner than later.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andresonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalfione, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank so much for such a detailed review, it is really lovely to read and also of benefit to other travellers. Thank you for the compliments of your tracking team, we will pass this on to management for their action. With regards to the lodge we are constantly striving to improve the lodge for our guests, in 2012 we did some soft refurb of the main lodge and decks of the river suits and bathrooms and then last year we undertook to build the lovely SPA and we have just been given the go ahead to refurbish all the river suites,we are all very excited with the news. When you next visit your game and lodge experience will be even better. We are terribly sorry that you had the bad experience of the noise from the SPA, the worker are not meant to work when the guests are there and our General Manager will ensure that corrective action is taken. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Hope to see you soon again, Regards the Amakhosi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We took our family to Amakhosi for a long weekend recently and had a wonderful, memorable stay. We were celebrating our son's 40th birthday, and the staff pulled out all the stops! Sonja organised an upgrade to a honeymoon suite, and Lloyd arranged a superb cake for him. All the staff were excellent, the service was personal, friendly and efficient, and the attention to detail was exceptional. Our rooms were beautiful, with lovely views of the river, and all the meals were absolutely delicious. Lloyd made us feel totally at home and comfortable, and our entire stay was filled with treats and surprises. Our game drives with Kevin and Mandla were exciting and informative, and we had some great game viewing and excellent birding. We spent some spare time at the beautiful spa, and the ladies made it very special for us....a real treat! All in all we had a fantastic stay, and we will definitely be back for another Amakhosi experience.....we loved it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalfione, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words and wonderful review, it is so motivating for all our team to hear that all their hard work is appreciated. We are so pleased to hear that you family had a memorable experience and even better that you are looking forward to returning. We have passed on all the compliments to top management and the Team thanks you again and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We spent a two-day stay at Amakhosi in early March and it easily surpassed our expectations. This relatively small game reserve has fabulous lodges with great views, coupled with exceptional service from great staff The food was really good especially the gourmet evening meals. We also enjoyed a traditional African evening with wonderful young dancers from the local village - a real treat.
Most of all we enjoyed 4 superb game drives conducted by our very knowledgeable ranger Nick and his tracker. We saw all the animals we expected to, thanks to their skills.

The Amakhosi management don't miss a trick in spoiling their guests, so we thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
What a lovely surprise to have notification of our 80th review, thank you very much for taking the time to write in, our team love hearing from our guests and especially that they managed to make your stay with us a memorable one. Our local villagers are a treasure, their dancing is always a treat, they only dance for our reserve and always with such passion. We are also so proud of our rangers and trackers, they are all so talented and most importantly, passionate about nature. Thank you for mentioning them and we have passed on your compliments to top management. We hope that you visit us again and for a little longer so you can experience our other game activities. Regards
The Amakhosi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pongola
24.9 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
14.7 mi away
Pakamisa Private Game Reserve
21.7 mi away
White Elephant Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
24.7 mi away
African Spirit Game Lodge
23.8 mi away
Mavela Game Lodge
Mavela Game Lodge
#1 of 7 in Mkuze
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amakhosi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amakhosi Safari Lodge

Property: Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Address: Vergelegen Farm | R69, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Pongola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amakhosi Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amakhosi Lodge is one of those destinations that you need to visit at least once in a lifetime! Translated as a ‘place of kings’, it is exclusive, offering a unique and personally rewarding safari experience. Situated on the banks of the Mkuze River in the heart of Zululand, this small yet absolutely charming Lodge is not only about experiencing a ‘Big 5’ safari. It is far more than that as the guides pride themselves in sharing their intimate knowledge of this unique and pristine bushveld with their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Amakhosi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing