We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best safari lodge ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hospitable welcome from when we arrived is one that we will Always remember, the manager welcomes you with the staff and makes you feel at ease instantly.
The excellent accommodation together with amazing views from the decks of the cabin are mind blowing, the animals are just passing by in front of you.
This luxurious resort is exceeding any expection, especially since it is located in the middle of the wilderness. The spa with the infinity pool, overlooking the river is spectacular!
And last but not least the restaurant, the talented chef prepares amazing local cuisine with a French touch.

Room Tip: All suits/cabins boast amazing views, from their private decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dante V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhosisafari, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Many, many thanks for taking the time to post this lovely review, we appreciate all your comments and even with the challenges of being in the middle of the wilderness, our team do their best to ensure that each stay is a memorable one and that our guests leave with great memories. We certainly hope that on your next visit to our country you come back and visit us. Kind Regards the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

We shall forever treasure memories of our stay at Amakhosi from June 4th to 6th. We saw a lion & two lionesses at such close quarters in our open jeep. And herds of elephants also within touching distance. Philip the Ranger made sure that the 6 of us ( my wife & I, my eldest daughter & husband - both based in Umhlanga, Durban & keen wildlife photographers & our two younger daughters who had recently joined us from India ) would never forget our stay there. And so many other animals.The persistence with which Philip time and again located the lion, lionesses & elephants was most remarkable aided by the Tracker, Jeremy. Jeremy's response , seeing that my wife was terrified of these animals so close by, was most reassuring. For the early morning Safari trip, the blankets & hot water bag were indeed welcome. The rooms were extremely comfortable, and the service excellent ( Zinhle & team ). As we stayed two nights, we enjoyed a 4 course Fine Dining experience the first night & a African open air traditional dinner ( preceded by an African dance performed by the women staff with thumping of legs ) the next night. The bathtubs were filled with hot water & the place decorated when we returned from our evening Safari ! And on the morning when we were leaving, Jeremy was cleaning the car !! So much effort to make our stay an experience we will never forget. And the two recently acquired cheetahs must have been released from the enclosure ( bommai ?). And the next morning we returned to India after a thoroughly thoroughly enjoyable 6 week stay with lasting memories of the country. We hope the lion cubs survive and thrive

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnZachariah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhosisafari, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Having been away on leave it was a lovely welcome back to read you wonderful review. Having such great guests as you and your family makes it all that much easier for the team to go that extra mile. Thank you for mentioning the team that made your stay a memorable one and this type of feedback makes it all worth while! We have sent your feedback to our owners. We hope that this will not be your last visit to our lodge and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. The lions are still doing well and we are awaiting the birth of the cubs any day soon. Thank you again for being such great guests and also look forward to seeing some of your great photographs, we would love to feature them on our Facebook in our Guests Gallery. Regards The Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at Amakhosi from the 6 - 8 June to spend some quality time with our daughter and her boyfriend and celebrate her birthday while visiting from the UK. From the moment we were met at our car by Zinhle and some other staff and having our bags taken to our room, car parked and given hot towels and homemade lemonade we were hooked. Nothing seemed too much trouble. The game drives with ranger Dylan and tracker King were fun, informative and a little hair raising ha ha! While at the drinks stops everything was thought of from Amarula coffee and muffins to the most amazing snacks cooked for us by King. The food was amazing and there was nothing at breakfast, high tea or dinner that we didn't enjoy.
The staff made a fuss of my daughter for her birthday even providing a chocolate cake and singing to her. That night she and her boyfriend got engaged and at breakfast champagne was provided and on the evening drive a champagne tree arranged for them. We were so taken aback by their kindness and willingness to please.
The rooms are superb and we loved the turn down service and lovely bubble bath on our last night.
All in all the best place to relax, rewind and refresh. We will be back very soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms were superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoucherLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhosisafari, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

wow what an incredible review, having such a wonderful family stay with us made it easy for us to ensure that your stay with us was a memorable one, the team love spoiling our guests especially when we are privileged to be part of such great events such as birthdays and engagments and we are so happy that you enjoyed our little surprise for the happy couple. Thank you for taking the time to post this awesome review and hope that we see you all soon again. Best regards the AMA team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

After having read the reviews on Trip Advisor for Amakhosi, my expectations were set very high when I made the booking. My wife and I went for a 2 night stay for our 1 year anniversary. The attention to detail with every aspect of our stay was memorable and the personal level of service that each and every guest receives is second to none. Its a beautiful setting, spacious suite and the game drives were well organised. Highlights of the trip included close viewings of lions & cheetahs and our final game drive was a wonderful anniversary moment as we were surrounded by a herd of elephants, feeding, playing and sharing their special family moments with us. Kevin and Mandla as a guide and tracker were an amazing team, thank you guys!

We enjoyed a wonderful massage in the new spa, its slightly away from the main lodge with an amazing inifinity pool overlooking the Mkuze river.
The food was amazing too, I could go on for ages singing the chef's praises!

Amakhosi exceeded all my expectations and can only encourage you... GO GO GO! You will not be disappointed.
Thank you to all the team at Amakhosi for a fantastic couple of days, we hope to be back again sometime soon - when the lion cubs are born!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbours2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhosisafari, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you, thank you for such a lovely review, and thank you for sharing your special anniversary with us, we are so pleased that the team managed to exceed your expectations, your comments are really great and vital for us, the team are so passionate about their work and you would expect making sure we are up to clients expectations, would be a difficult task, but they do pour their soul into the lodge, making sure each different guest leaves wanting to return back, as we feel that you arrive as guests and leave as part of the family . We are all waiting anxiously for the birth of the little cubs, we will keep you informed on our social media. Thanks again and come back soon regards from the AMA team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We visited Amakhosi Lodge in Pongola from 26/05/2014 to 27/05/2014. The accommodation, ambience, setting and food what out of this world.

Unfortunately I could only stay one night due to business commitments but I will definitely make a point of visiting again as it is absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhosisafari, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time from your busy travels to post a review, your stay was certainly not long enough and we hope that you return soon that you an experience more of what the lodge has to offer. Thank you again for the review it is very much appreciated for all of the team. Hope to see you soon, from the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Having been in the hospitality industry for the last 15 years, we get to see a lot of awesome venues. I only put out reviews of places we stay on holiday and we enjoy or places through our work that are exceptional. out of the more than 200 venues we have stayed at, this place has set a new bench mark. venue has the same basic infrastructure, its how they use this infrastructure. Amakhosi Lodge has got it all spot on. The friendliness of the staff, the attention to detail, the focus on the little things is what will make anyone's stay here memorable.

From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by a number of staff and our bags are taken to our rooms and our car parked while we refreshed with a hot towel. Then while sipping on homemade lemon juice, we were informed of the program for our stay. We were not only escorted to our room, but also shown how everything works and where everything is.

At 3pm we were introduced to our ranger (Nick,who was with us for the duration of your stay) and went to the plains where a late light lunch was waiting for us. After this we explored the 6 000 hectare property. We saw giraffe, elephant, impala, nyala, blue duiker, kudu, white back vulture, white rhino, wildebeest, buffalo and the best sighting was one of their newest lionesses. As it is a private reserve, you and the other guests are the only people driving the reserve. AS the sun set we stopped by the river for sundowners, some snacks and all this whilst viewing a mother hippo and her calf playing in the river. After dark, we did some star gazing and Nick shared his knowledge of the stars with us. On the way back to the lodge we spotted a spotted genet, bush babies and an owl. On arrival back at our room from the game drive, a bubble bath had been run for us with candles all the way round the bath. Attention to detail and sweat the small stuff. If all other hotels could get this right, people would over look other faults and come back again and again.

Pre-dinner drinks were enjoyed with the other guests and rangers where everyone got to tell their tales of their game drives. dinner was really good and gain, the attention to detail and the effort made on the small things made it that much better. That night, I was woken twice by the roars of a male lion. This is really Africa.

Our morning drive was awesome, again with attention to detail, from the blankets to the hot water bottles, to the coffee break by the river and not forgetting the most divine homemade biscuits ( worth the trip just for the biscuits). Breakfast was great and catered for all tastes and needs, yet simple. When we left, it was like leaving family and there was a host of faces around to say goodbye. (I've left family behind easier than that) Not only was our car washed (only to be covered in dust within the a minute of departure), but we also got a snack pack with fruit, chocolates and waters for the road. Sweat the small stuff people, its what makes the difference.

Overall, an exceptional experience, made possible by exceptional people who really care and really want you to have and unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: they are all good. All the rooms overlook the river. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Africantourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhosisafari, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We just dont know how to reply to such an amazing detailed review, but to say a huge, giant thank you from all of us. As you may have noticed for each team member this is more than just a "job" this is a passion and the highlight and reward is making each guests stay a memorable one and by the time that guest leaves they are like family to us too! Thank you for all your accolades for the team and this review has been forwarded to our owners for action. We certainly hope that this means that you will return soon and stay longer! Thanks once again and warmest regards from the zulu bush . The Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had an amazing weekend at Amakhosi Lodge!! Couldn't believe one can rest so much from the hustle and bustle of the city!! The staff took such amazing care of us and made us feel at home. The rooms were absolutely beautiful and the food exquisite!! Since the seven years that I've been there last the quality of service is still incredible!! My fiancé and I had a beautiful 3 night stay in the honeymoon suite and the best rest!! The game drives were exquisite and the staff always delivered!!

I would just like to give a big thanks to Kevin and Mandla who were our ranger and tracker, always delivered, and Sam and spa staff who gave us amazing treatments as well as Lloyd, Gugu, Nick, Londiwe and Happy to name a few of the staff that made our stay amazing and memorable!!

Thank you very much and we will always recommend Amakhosi Safari Lodge!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarinaVosloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhosisafari, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Wonderful review, THANK you from all of the Team, we are so pleased that you relaxed and enjoyed your stay, after all that is what it is all about, enjoying and connecting with each other and nature. Thank for mentioning our amazing team, they are really wonderful and we appreciate each and every one of them. We have passed on your review to our owners for their action. Thank you also for returning and hope that we dont have to wait another seven years to welcome you back, it was a pleasure to host you both. Best regards from the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pongola hotels
14.7 mi away
Pakamisa Private Game Reserve
24.9 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
19.7 mi away
Kastelein B&B
Kastelein B&B
#4 of 16 in Pongola
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
White Elephant Safari Lodge
25.5 mi away
Nkwazi Lake Lodge
Nkwazi Lake Lodge
#5 of 16 in Pongola
42 reviews
28.5 mi away
Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amakhosi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amakhosi Safari Lodge

Address: Vergelegen Farm | R69, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Pongola
Price Range: £276 - £458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amakhosi Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amakhosi Lodge is one of those destinations that you need to visit at least once in a lifetime! Translated as a ‘place of kings’, it is exclusive, offering a unique and personally rewarding safari experience. Situated on the banks of the Mkuze River in the heart of Zululand, this small yet absolutely charming Lodge is not only about experiencing a ‘Big 5’ safari. It is far more than that as the guides pride themselves in sharing their intimate knowledge of this unique and pristine bushveld with their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amakhosi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing