We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded, Romantic Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Elephant Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We booked the honeymoon package and enjoyed the best service of our three month visit to Africa. We were greeted by a bucket of champagne in the room and a clawfoot tub with a bubble bath drawn. The food is top notch at every meal ( we enjoyed some meals in the lodge and some by candlelight in our tent). We visited White Elephant while researching an upcoming travel book ( Tango in Tahiti) and we'd highly recommend White Elephant for outstanding service, well appointed stylish tents, and an intimate, romantic feel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tangointahiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephantPongola, Guest Relations Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Dear Seth and Whitney

Thank you very much for your review of White Elephant. It was a real pleasure having you at the Lodge. We sincerly hope to see you return to the lodge one day.

Kind regards
The White Elephant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2011

The White Elephant Lodge can only be described as ones personal African Paradise. From being personally greeted with a drink after navigating the track to the lodge to getting a free carwash before leaving the service is immaculate and very personal. It is located within the Pongola Game Reserve and a reservation/booking is necessary to enter the Reserve.

We stayed there in May 2011 for (sadly) just one night on our way from Sodwana Bay back to Jo'burg and enjoyed every single minute. Our "Tent" was very luxurious with a double bed with moskito netting, writing desk, lounge chairs with fridge in front of the tent, bathroom with two washbasins, a free standing bathtub, and as a special feature and additional free standing shower outside. We felt like being in a five-star Safari camp. The Lodge has 8 of these tents and all a very nicely spread out so that each tent is in its own secluded area.

The main building is a very nicely preserved farm building complete with hunting trophies, memorabilia, and small library and with its open rooms and the veranda an ideal spot to lounge in between game drives or other activities. Depending on the weather the melas are served either in the big dining room or out on the veranda. The Pool is currently under renovation (it should be finished by now) and next to it is a additional wooded deck with lounge chairs and in the evening a small fire is lit there.

All meals are freshly prepared and beginning with the Breakfast one is tempted to stuff oneself with too much of the treats on offer. It definitely is a notch above the normal B&B offerings and they are more than happy to accommodate special wishes.
In the afternoon High Tea is served complete with a selection of teas, scones, pastries, and sandwiches - in most places this would be a full dinner buffet.
Dinner is a set meal with 5 courses and we were treated to fresh Kudu - simply outstanding and one of the best meals we had in SA on our entire trip.

To watch the wildlife they offer a range of guided drives and walks (no self driving allowed) around the Reserve and also highly recommended boat trips on the Pongolapoort Dam with their own boat. All trips are with a private Guide and can be pretty freely scheduled. Where else can one watch the sunset on a boat, with a family of Hippos coming by, Eagles soaring overhead, and a freshly made Gin Tonic in Hand? Just by driving to and from the Gate we saw Rhino, Giraffe, Kudu, Impala, Monkeys, and dozens of colorful birds.

Did we have a complaint? Yes, now we are spoiled... ;-)

Additional Info:
Give them a call before you make a booking - normally very attractive discounts are available that makes a stay there a very affordable treat.
It is a 6-8 hr. drive to/from Jo'burg depending on the traffic. A good 300km of the N2 is currently under construction and stoppages of up to 30 min. can occur on single lane stretches.
At the entrance gate the guards sell very good and homemade Biltong (similar to Beef Jerky) made out of Kudu or Impala (which has been legally shot in the Park).
If this is your first place where you stay on a trip around SA be prepared to be disappointed with other places...

Room Tip: Call them direct and ask for specials/discounts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diggfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephantPongola, Guest Relations Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Thank you very much for your excellent review of White Elephant. We loved having you at the lodge and hope next time your stay will be longer than one night!

Until then, warm regards
The White Elephant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We stayed for three nights at the White Elephant and had a perfect time! The Lodge has a wonderful location and is in very good shape. The best part, however, was the service! Everybody - including and especially the two managers Terry and Peter - created an incredible atmosphere. We stayed in several high quality lodges in South Africa, but none of them had such a warm and welcoming service.

We will never forget the safari trips with our ranger Freedom, who is also not only very knowledgeable but helpful and charming, too. We learned a lot about the wildlife, both about the big (especially the black rhinos were thrilling!) and the small animals.

Thanks again to all the staff of White Elephant for the great time we had with you!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBremer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephantPongola, Guest Relations Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Dear Mr. Bremer

Thank you very much for your excellent review of White Elephant. We really enjoyed having you at the lodge. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards
The White Elphant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

My Husband and I spent 3 days this past December at White safari Lodge, it was fantastic. The variety of wildlife to see is amazing - no lions to take all the focus which was great. The bird life is unreal. Watching the elephant, buffalo and rhino was unforgetable and our guides Freedom & Moses were brilliant. The welcome by Terry, Peter and all the staff is world class. The tents are gorgeous, its fantastic to wake in the morning to the sound of the bush around you. The food and wine were tops served in a beautiful setting by really friendly staff. We really enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend it to anyone especially couples looking for a romantic break.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneandGarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephantPongola, Guest Relations Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Dear Valued White Elephant Guest

Thank you very much for your review of White Elephant. We really enjoyed having you at the lodge and hope that you will return soon.

Until then, warm regards
The White Elephant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Just off the main road that travels up the east coast of Kwa Zulu white Elephant bush camp is one of the best I have experienced in my many trips to the area. As soon as you drive through the gate you start spotting game and in front of you the vie across the lake to the Ghost Mountains is superb.

The camp itself is a superb destination for a large family or friends group, loads of guest chalets that are well appointed and a great central kitchen and dining area with pool and for those missing the rest of the world a TV room.

Great for evenings round the fire and meals round a giant table in a thatched dining area, Though watch out if you leave food on the kitchen tops as the monkeys are quick to come in and taste test your dinner!

We were looked after by Adrian who was only 5 minutes away on his motorbike whenever you needed him. He took us on a fishing trip/sunset cruise where we saw hippos and crocodiles and also for a bush walk that was memorable.

He also arranged a trip to the reserves abattoir where we purchased impala, warthog and kudu, superb meat at great prices.

We visited the Ubombo children's care village which was a moving experience and led to us starting a charity in our business to support Dawn Irons in her great work supporting orphaned children. We urge you to visit and support her great work.

This is a great venue and I'm sure we will return for another family trip, its understated, great value and is supported by great staff.

All our thanks for a great trip.

The Malcolms

Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
Thank MrMonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephantPongola, Guest Relations Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Dear Valued White Elephant Guest

Thank you very much for your review of White Elephant. I was a real pleasure having you at Bush Camp. We hope to see you return to Bush Camp again soon.

Until then, warm regards
The White Elephant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2009

Scalla is the best guide we have ever had. He has the best eye in South-Africa for spotting animals. He definitely knows what he's doing. And I love him so much. There is no one on earth as precious to me as this man...Scalla...I love you forever...Thanks for the best time of my life!!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maakdroog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephantPongola, Guest Relations Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you very much for your review of White Elephant. We value your opinion and strive to use the feedback given to us on TripAdvisor to make the White Elephant Experience even better in the future.

We hope to see you return to White Elephant Safari’s one day!

Warm Regards
The White Elephant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

the perfect place to get family and friends together in a relaxed atmosphere - a rustic cosy, comfortable old-style camp without all the unauthentic bling of a modern safari camp - exactly what one needs in this modern hustle/bustle
I would recommend 3-4 nights minimum - do a walk, boat cruise, couple of game-drives and just relax and do some birding or read a book

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephantPongola, Guest Relations Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Dear Valued White Elephant Guest

Thank you very much for your excellent review of our lodge. We apologize for the belated response, we sort of only discovered Tripadvisor this year.

We are looking forward to hosting you at the lodge again someday.

Until then, have a merry festive season!

Warm regards
The White Elephant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pongola
14.6 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
459 reviews
21.7 mi away
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
#1 of 10 in Pongola
244 reviews
20.2 mi away
Pakamisa Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Nkwazi Lake Lodge
Nkwazi Lake Lodge
#4 of 16 in Pongola
45 reviews
7.8 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
8.6 mi away
Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Elephant Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Elephant Safari Lodge

Address: | Pongola Game Reserve South, Farm Leeuwspoor, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Pongola
Price Range: £341 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — White Elephant Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Elephant is the only lodge in South Africa to offer Kariba-like, water based safari activities as well as the traditional land based activities. We are passionate about conservation and offer a superb Black Rhino tracking experience (with a chance of viewing Black Rhino on foot), as well as fascinating Elephant research activities. We also offer game drives, educational bush walks and incredible boat cruises on Lake Jozini. These varied activities as well as the chance of catching tiger fish and superb bird watching possibilities, make us a truly unique South African Safari experience. White Elephant Safari Lodge (TGCSA 5 star) captures the history and romance of a bygone era. The deep verandah, sweeping views and tranquil setting provide the venue for a unique African experience. Eight luxurious safari tents, each with romantic ball and claw bath, outdoor canvas shower and private verandah provide an evocative safari in the Pongola Game Reserve Wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your White Elephant Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing