We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
White Elephant Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Ghost Mountain Inn(Mkuze)(Great Value!)
US$145
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Elegant Lodge(Pongola)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kastelein B&B(Pongola)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
98
14
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
14
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh tealake joziniboat cruiseluxurious tentsgame drivesbird lifeour honeymoonbush walkfabulous experiencegame reservefish eaglessafari lodgeon footpersonal servicelittle piece of heavenspecial treattwo nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed at White Elephant Safari lodge for two nights as a halfway stay on our way to our beach holiday, the rooms were stunning and our boat trip on Lake Jozini were a highlight. Unfortunately we were completely let down by the food. From our arrival to find a 'light lunch" of squared sandwiches with only crushed avocado and tomato and lettuce to the dinners which were far from 5star in taste- bread over breakfast which were still doughy, it almost seemed as they where on a strict food budget. I asked for a bit of mayonnaise the night before to add to my dinner which they provided me with, only find that they have ran out completely the morning after on our departure day (this seemed very strange.....).
We were planning on staying another night on our way back, but where glad that we didn't and tried it out first. It would have been to the lodge's advantage if they gave the consumer a feedback form or if they invited some from us. I would not recommend this to friends and hope that lodge management will take this review as a positive in improving the food on offer, 5 star should offer an experience as a whole and attend to each detail and I believe that food plays an important role in this.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephantPongola, Guest Relations Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear White Elephant Friend

Thank you very much for your valuable comments, we will certainly take them to heart and use them as a tool to learn from.

Kind regards
White Elephant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Just got back from a perfect 2 night stay. Every single thing was thought off and no effort too much for the staff. Not only were they attentive and delivered a great service, but also did it with a smile. Was the best stay I had in a long time and will be sure to return soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephantPongola, Guest Relations Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear White Elephant Friend

Thank you very much for the comments and review of your stay at White Elephant. We are always grateful for positive feedback. We hope to see you back at White Elephant in the near future.

Kind regards
White Elephant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

What a fantastic experience in a beautiful place! The permanent tents were very well appointed, while the service was attentive, and nicely relaxed and comfortable. The perfect compliment to the stunning landscape and view was the kind, engaging and accommodating staff members, who made our stay feel incredibly personal. We arrived very late the first night, and found dinner waiting for us on our personal stoop, after the manager personally introduced himself. Other activities were arranged on site and geared toward our interests. I wish we could have stayed for several more days!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelSfAf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephantPongola, Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Dear Valued White Elephant Guest

Thank you very much for the really nice review, we strive at White Elephant to rub our passion for the nature surrounding us off onto our guests. We loved having you at White Elephant and hope to see you again in the future!

Warmest White Elephant regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Finishing off a week in Zululand we stayed at the White Elephant Safari
Lodge. All over Africa the term colonial used but not too many lodges have
such a true colonial feel as here. The old restored farmhouse with its large
verandas has been beautifully restored. The furniture within, photographs
and paintings create a real atmosphere of times gone by. Breakfast is
plentiful and don't each too much from the cold selection as there will be
something more traditional to follow! High tea is served with sandwiches &
cakes prior to the afternoons activities. Dinner saw more fantastic food
served over 4 courses! What I really enjoyed here was that its not only game
drives that are on offer. There are game cruises to. I hadn't realised just
ho much water is within the reserve. On our evening cruise on the Pongola
River we saw crocodiles, two of which were well over 4 metres in length.
Several pods of hippos and loan bull hippos were also enjoying the water.
The river banks had game everywhere grazing and drinking. Waterbuck, impala,
reed buck & warthogs to name but some. The bird-life was as good as anywhere
I have previously been. Fish eagles, spoon bills, egrets, jacanas, marabou
storks, darters and several sorts of kingfisher are some of the birds on
show.
From my tent I could see the vast amount of water set to a back drop of
mountains. I could even hear hippos as darkness fell. The tent was pure
luxury. The bed draped in pure white linen was given pillows in shades of
red & orange to add a splash of warmth on a cool night. The mosquito net set
the room off perfectly. The adjoining bathroom looked amazing especially
after dark, lit by lanterns & candles.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SafariKZN-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephantPongola, Guest Relations Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Dear Mark

Thank you very much for your review of White Elephant. It was a real pleasure to have you ate the lodge. We sincerly hope to see you come back to the lodge one day!

Warm regards
The White Elephant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We booked the honeymoon package and enjoyed the best service of our three month visit to Africa. We were greeted by a bucket of champagne in the room and a clawfoot tub with a bubble bath drawn. The food is top notch at every meal ( we enjoyed some meals in the lodge and some by candlelight in our tent). We visited White Elephant while researching an upcoming travel book ( Tango in Tahiti) and we'd highly recommend White Elephant for outstanding service, well appointed stylish tents, and an intimate, romantic feel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tangointahiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephantPongola, Guest Relations Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Dear Seth and Whitney

Thank you very much for your review of White Elephant. It was a real pleasure having you at the Lodge. We sincerly hope to see you return to the lodge one day.

Kind regards
The White Elephant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews