We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I wish we could have stayed longer!”
other travellers have booked this property
View of cottage back door and dam
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of cottage back door and dam
View of Cottage Stoep Second Bedroom - Watersmeet cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
View of cottage back door and dam
View of Cottage Stoep
Second Bedroom - Watersmeet cottage
Main bedroom with en suite bathroom - Watersmeet Cottage
Lounge with open fireplace - Watersmeet Cottage
View through to open plan kitchen - Watersmeet Cottage
Bedroom - Feathers Cottage
Bathroom with shower, Feathers Cottage
Kitchen - Feathers Cottage
Dining area - Feathers cottage
Living area with open fireplace - Feathers Cottage
French doors out into private garden - Feathers Cottage
Entrance Stoep with Braai facilities - Feathers cottage
View of one of the dams on Walkersons Private Estate where we are situated.
View of the dams on the Estate where we are situated.
Snow scene - Watersmeet Cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Dullstroom, Mpumalanga

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“I wish we could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed 9 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We love Dullstroom and particularly the Walkersons Estate. We have stayed at this cottage several times and loved each and every minute. The kitchen is well equipped and all super comfy and cozy. Can't wait for our next opportunity to return!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam373
pretoria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“VERY DISAPPOINTING - BEWARE !”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I have had the most shocking experience at this cottage & hope others will be warned.

We arrived to a cold Dullstroom that was experiencing a power outage (the owners cannot be held responsible I agree). But, under the circumstances the facilities were very poor. A 2 plate gas stove meant we could boil some water in a pot for a coffee. There were 2 candles provided and a fire place with wood.

When the electricity had still not come on by the next day we decided to leave Dullstroom.

The owner now claims a candle burnt her "hand made" lamp shade and is expecting me to reimburse her for the cost thereof!. I am of the opinion if this did indeed occur it would have been beyond my control, due to NO visibility in the cottage from the time of arrival.

Under the circumstances the facilities were poor considering we arrived in the dark and no back-up emergency lighting (battery operated lighting or torches) were provided. It was also mentioned on our arrival by our host that power outages are a common occurrence in the area.

If you run a business like this please be prepared, under any kind of circumstances, to make the necessary provision for guests. It is far too convenient to claim "beyond our control !" as our hosts frequently mentioned to us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2017
Thank you for your opinion, I will bear it in mind.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinBCap...
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome setting - the South African Highlands!”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Rare to find 5 Star, self catering accommodation for a single traveller or couple in an area mostly catering for large family groups. Highly recommended for anyone who knows what to do with a fly rod. Otherwise the peace in this estate, with winding streams, river, weirs and dams, together with the zebra, assorted buck and other wildlife grazing on the hills around you made my stay memorable. So nice to come back to a warm fire and spotless accomodation at the end of the day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed having a guest who really appreciated his surroundings, enjoyed the fishing, and left the accommodation as he found it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lulu008
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Waters Meet Cottage & Her Younger Sister Feathers Cottage”
Reviewed 8 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We were lucky enough to stay at Feathers Cottage, the smaller 1 bedroom unit on the same property as waters meet cottage. The property is so beautifully perched on the top of a hill in Walkersons Estate which affords one spectacular views of the estate and trout dams etc. The garden is a lovingly cared for 'English country' styled garden which is tranquil & lush. Feathers is self contained, has a large well appointed double bedroom & comfortable lounge area with fire place, generous bathroom with both shower and bath and a small kitchenette. Hosts Patsy & Andrew are charming and welcoming - Although we did not stay in the larger Waters Meet Cottage I did have a look through it with Patsy and it looks spacious and welcoming. I definitely recommend this property

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation of the Property
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannelie2...
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cosy in the country”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a lovely weekend away with our two boys for my husband's birthday. The setting is tranquil, safe and beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Safety
Liked least: Limited Dstv
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
We are thrilled that you appreciated our wonderful surroundings. A little piece of heaven to be shared with those who love the country, fishing, and walking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toptastic...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous. Don't tell anyone else.”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely place with breathtaking views, and within easy reach of the Kruger etc
Extremely clean secure luxurious 4 Star accommodation with delightful hosts.
Lovely walks, trout fishing and stunning sunsets. Easy access to Dullstroom with its interesting shops and excellent restaurants

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and quietness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickyFitz...
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delightful hideaway”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were lucky enough to find this gem - we stayed at the 'baby sister' cottage Feathers which has the same owners and is just across the garden from the bigger cottage listed here. Ours was a country bed-sit with a spacious room, comfy king-sized bed, lovely sitting area, TV (we watched heaps of sport - our sublime relaxation), separate WC, wonderful shower and a cosy kitchen/dining area. We simply couldn't have been happier. Our hosts Patsy and Andrew live on site and made sure we had everything we needed. The walking is lovely (we had our dogs with us) and were told the trout fishing excellent (we don't fish). There is the Walkersen's Hotel on the property - we had coffee there and I enjoyed a wonderful massage in the spa. Perfect retreat from the hustle and bustle of our home town Johannesburg. We will return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely location
Liked least: The dining table just a tad too small
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;