We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Critchley Hackle Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fortis Hotel Malaga(Waterval Boven)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travel Lodge(Middelburg)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kairos Home(Middelburg)(Great Value!)
US$69
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
76
85
35
10
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
85
35
10
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa small sitting areanice dinnersmall laketrout damrustic stylegreat view of the lakecold meatsboutique hotelrooms are greatunderfloor heatingthe cottagesold schoolbeautiful venuenext morningthe general managerfly fishingspent one night
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed in the hotel in the beginning op December 2012. Low season and from the second day on we were the only guests. It was great because we had breakfast, luch and dinner all over the property. Dinner in the library sitting in front of the fireplace, breakfast outside because the weather was great and luch in the shade. The rooms with a lakeview are great; you can sit there and read or do fly fishing in the hotels own lake.

The food is very good and we could adjust dishes to what we wanted. Lovely wines.

The village is in a walking distance. We also had two times a massage at the beaty saloon in the village. This is something we can suggest you to do as well. The people at the frontdesk in the hotel can arrange this for you.

Room Tip: We had a room far from the main building with lake view an d we loved it.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

Could not fault this place.booked one night stayed two, would have been longer if we were not flying home the next day.A perfect place to unwind after a long safari.food and service top notch.The staff could not have been more helpful and coming back to a roaring wood fire in our room every night was very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bollox99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We're a family of four and we stayed at Critchley Hackle on our way to the Kruger Park. The Accomodation was superb, and the food was great. The setting is just picturesque with the ducks completing the picture. Special mention to Yolanda - she's a gem. She was great with our kids, and made our short stay memorable. Will definitely return in future.

Stayed: October 2012
1  Thank Sonette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My husband and I stayed for the second time recently at Critchley Hackle for three nights.
Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the General Manager, Yolanda.

We stayed in a luxury Lakeside room close to the main building. Our room was spacious, elegant and very neat. Note that the rooms are all decorated according to the unit owner's taste.
The bathroom had a huge bath and shower. Bottled water was supplied daily as well as in-room coffee/tea facilities and rusks.

Every evening our fireplace was lit by a friendly staff member which created a cosy and romantic atmosphere.

Breakfast was a delight with a cold buffet accompanied by a warm a la carte menu. There is no set time for breakfast which we found a huge bonus as it adds to a no- rush relaxing experience.

Dinner was a la carte and every dish we had was very tasteful. We had the most divine steak and trout. Dinner menus change daily and each menu did not fail to surprise.

We celebrated our Anniversary during our stay and the Manager on duty and staff effortlessly upon our request arranged a table on our patio for an intimate dinner with candelight, complimentary Champagne and dessert.

Crichley Hacle did not loose any of the charm and elegance we experienced 3 years ago!

Thank you to all the staff for contributing to a very relaxing and romantic getaway!

We will always be back!

Tip about Dullstroom: Always take something warm to wear not only during winter, but also in summer - this is Highveld!

Room Tip: Luxury Lakeside rooms with a lovely view of the trout dam and adorable white ducks.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zerwickrenatevictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

A charming complex of stone cottages that are signature with Dullstroom. Greeted on arrival by friendly efficient staff and 9 adorable white ducks.
The room was comfortable and suited all our needs. Close to the main road, a good hotel if left car-less for the day as you can stroll down the main drag and window shop all the quaint little shops, great conversation to be had at the local shops as well. Interesting town of interesting people and cats.
Food was simple but respectfully prepared and tasty. Lounging areas good but wi-fi not so good. As we were there off season, we were the only visitors and an early morning call to locate towels went unanswered til 7, (the towels are located under the basins in the bathroom in very well camo'd drawers. Fantastic stay, really enjoyable but suggestions are to put an info leaflet in the room with tel directory of services and location of extra blankets, pillows and towels. Also perhaps get the receptionist a mobile phone as the incessant ringing of the mainline in the lounge area was a little annoying, while trying to relax.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynneJSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews