We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Critchley Hackle Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Critchley Hackle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dullstroom
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Yes! - the Main photos are not the correct place - so please look at the reviewers one's! We decided on the spur of the moment to leave JHB for NYE and happened across Critchley Hackle. It was a great find and we would return. Yolande was very pleasant and welcoming on arrival - even walking us to our lake-side room, even though the Lodge was full and I'm sure had plenty else to attend too. Our two night stay was peaceful and refreshing. Both dinners were quality offerings and the leisurely breakfast available all day long is very welcome. The added help for ice buckets for our champagne and then offering glasses plus extra ice in tumblers all showed that the staff are willing to help with anything. We will be back!

Room Tip: Lakeview #12 was private and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0livinglife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2012

Opening point, appears to be one and the same (though I don't recognise that main photo).
We stayed at Critchley Hackle LODGE in Dullstroom. And it was superb.
A very helpful staff member showed us the rooms and initially we thought it expensive but chose to splash out and glad we did. The lovely rooms have a view of the trout lake from your back porch where you can sit and just enjoy the scenery. Though summer, the mist and rain drifted in and simply added to the atmosphere of the place, that made you appreciate the sun when it broke through. It wasn't cold but understood better why we were offered hot water bottles and wood for the fire. A soak in the large bath with a drink was all we needed.
The Lodge was not very busy and we decided to eat there in the evening, rather than venture along the nearby High Street in the drizzling rain. This was another good choice on our part. The very attentive staff and excellent meal was a great end to our day.
The room included breakfast and this also was delicious. Sitting over looking the lake in the morning in such wonderful surroundings. Critchley Hackle certainly does style, one in which I could become accustom. Loved it.

Just across the road from the Lodge is the Anvil Brewpub. Spend some time there, if you can.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed in the hotel in the beginning op December 2012. Low season and from the second day on we were the only guests. It was great because we had breakfast, luch and dinner all over the property. Dinner in the library sitting in front of the fireplace, breakfast outside because the weather was great and luch in the shade. The rooms with a lakeview are great; you can sit there and read or do fly fishing in the hotels own lake.

The food is very good and we could adjust dishes to what we wanted. Lovely wines.

The village is in a walking distance. We also had two times a massage at the beaty saloon in the village. This is something we can suggest you to do as well. The people at the frontdesk in the hotel can arrange this for you.

Room Tip: We had a room far from the main building with lake view an d we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

Could not fault this place.booked one night stayed two, would have been longer if we were not flying home the next day.A perfect place to unwind after a long safari.food and service top notch.The staff could not have been more helpful and coming back to a roaring wood fire in our room every night was very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bollox99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We're a family of four and we stayed at Critchley Hackle on our way to the Kruger Park. The Accomodation was superb, and the food was great. The setting is just picturesque with the ducks completing the picture. Special mention to Yolanda - she's a gem. She was great with our kids, and made our short stay memorable. Will definitely return in future.

Stayed: October 2012
1  Thank Sonette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My husband and I stayed for the second time recently at Critchley Hackle for three nights.
Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the General Manager, Yolanda.

We stayed in a luxury Lakeside room close to the main building. Our room was spacious, elegant and very neat. Note that the rooms are all decorated according to the unit owner's taste.
The bathroom had a huge bath and shower. Bottled water was supplied daily as well as in-room coffee/tea facilities and rusks.

Every evening our fireplace was lit by a friendly staff member which created a cosy and romantic atmosphere.

Breakfast was a delight with a cold buffet accompanied by a warm a la carte menu. There is no set time for breakfast which we found a huge bonus as it adds to a no- rush relaxing experience.

Dinner was a la carte and every dish we had was very tasteful. We had the most divine steak and trout. Dinner menus change daily and each menu did not fail to surprise.

We celebrated our Anniversary during our stay and the Manager on duty and staff effortlessly upon our request arranged a table on our patio for an intimate dinner with candelight, complimentary Champagne and dessert.

Crichley Hacle did not loose any of the charm and elegance we experienced 3 years ago!

Thank you to all the staff for contributing to a very relaxing and romantic getaway!

We will always be back!

Tip about Dullstroom: Always take something warm to wear not only during winter, but also in summer - this is Highveld!

Room Tip: Luxury Lakeside rooms with a lovely view of the trout dam and adorable white ducks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zerwickrenatevictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

A charming complex of stone cottages that are signature with Dullstroom. Greeted on arrival by friendly efficient staff and 9 adorable white ducks.
The room was comfortable and suited all our needs. Close to the main road, a good hotel if left car-less for the day as you can stroll down the main drag and window shop all the quaint little shops, great conversation to be had at the local shops as well. Interesting town of interesting people and cats.
Food was simple but respectfully prepared and tasty. Lounging areas good but wi-fi not so good. As we were there off season, we were the only visitors and an early morning call to locate towels went unanswered til 7, (the towels are located under the basins in the bathroom in very well camo'd drawers. Fantastic stay, really enjoyable but suggestions are to put an info leaflet in the room with tel directory of services and location of extra blankets, pillows and towels. Also perhaps get the receptionist a mobile phone as the incessant ringing of the mainline in the lounge area was a little annoying, while trying to relax.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynneJSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dullstroom hotels
5.9 mi away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Dullstroom
504 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Highlander Hotel
The Highlander Hotel
#3 of 14 in Dullstroom
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peace Corner
Peace Corner
#2 of 14 in Dullstroom
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
#3 of 31 in Dullstroom
98 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dunkeld Country Estate
Dunkeld Country Estate
#10 of 31 in Dullstroom
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rose Cottage & Co, B&B
The Rose Cottage & Co, B&B
#1 of 14 in Dullstroom
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Critchley Hackle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Critchley Hackle Hotel

Address: 585 Teding van Berkhout Street Dullstroom 1110, Dullstroom 6000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Dullstroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dullstroom
Price Range: £47 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Critchley Hackle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Mpumalanga Highlands and just 2.5 hours drive from Johannesburg, Critchley Hackle is a Mecca for stressed execs and tourists. Critchley Hackle has 22 beautifully appointed rooms and suites accommodating a maximum of 59 guests sharing. The hotel and its surrounding area is a great destination to just chill and enjoy the tranquil setting. The red tinned roof and sandstone building is typically “Old Transvaal”.A beautiful small lake stocked with Rainbow Trout awaits guests at their front door. We have trout rods and flies for the use of keen fisherman. Please note we do not practice catch and release, so your catch of the day is weighed and sold to the proud fisherman. Our team will be happy to either cook and or package the fish to be taken home.Ideally suited for both business and leisure, we offer luxurious country accommodation and leisure activities. The red tinned roof and sandstone building looks onto a small lake stocked with Trout.Guests are able to enjoy a morning or afternoon of fly fishing, just outside their room. Any fish caught on the day will be for the fisherman’s account, we do not offer a catch and release policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Critchley Hackle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing