We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, cosy hotel in the country for a perfect relaxing weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Critchley Hackle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dullstroom
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cosy hotel in the country for a perfect relaxing weekend”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

My friend and I took two teenage boys for a weekend getaway. What a pleasant surprise it was, the hotel was superb. The lakeside rooms are beautifully decorated, cosy and warm. The staff excel themselves, wonderful customer service. We only had the breakfast which was fabulous. Overall a wonderful experience, an ideal getaway for the weekend.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    81
    32
    9
    13
See reviews for
46
107
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

For a spur of the moment trip on a beautiful autumn weekend, we couldn't have wished for more. Beautiful views over the trout dam at breakfast, cozy cottage for our family with a log fire lit in the evenings and ample personal attention, this was such a treat!Suman took great care of us by making suggestions for activities to suit us and our 3 year old and even made our bookings.Was lovely to be able to go to great places like Walkersons for horse riding and tea but return to our more relaxed hotel.Would definitely return.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vasanthie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The service and ambiance at the hotel is very good and the setting beautiful and restful. We stayed in one of the Royal Suites which are very spacious but rather sparsely furnished which is a pity. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the lake are the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRIAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Critchley hackle in Dullstroom on the last night of our two week stay in SA. We were looking for somewhere relaxing to break our journey from Hoedspruit to Johannesburg and Critchley Hackle fitted the bill perfectly. We arrived late afternoon and were greeted by two lovely members of staff (I am so sorry I cant remember your names) given a complimentary drink while our room was checked and we took a seat overlooking the beautiful lake.
Once we arrived at the room we were told our fireplace would be lit for us - it seemed a little extreme at first but whoa it gets VERY cold at night in April!! The room overlooked the lake, had a small lounge area with log fireplace, huge kingsize bed and a modern bathroom with massive bath.
After dinner we headed back to a slightly chilly room - we threw another log on the fire and jumped into bed to find a heated blanket - soooo cosy!
There could have been no better end to our holiday than to watch the moon and stars on the lake, in front of a log fire, under a heated blanket. A very special end to a wonderful trip, thank you.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank debzter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

April 20th21st. The weather was cold, wet and very miserable. My husband and I travelled from Gauteng to Dullstroom to attend my niece's wedding at Critchley Hackle. On our arrival, we were met by a smiling Yolanda, who escorted us to our accommodation - despite having a million things to do! The wedding was superbly co-ordinated by Yolanda and her highly efficient team. Thank you all for making Lea and Jason's day a truly magnificent and memorable one. What a wonderful getaway for a tranquil and relaxing stay and ---- a fly-fisherman's paradise! Highly recommended.
Joan and Eric Gunning

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middelburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I stayed at Critchley Hackle for a conference. The conference facilities were good and it was a nice touch to serve hot chocolate as a beverage and not only the usual coffee and tea. The accommodation was nice and cosy....but the food was definitely not up to standard and not good at all!!! Some requests was ignored as we complained about the music, AC/DC, not suitable for a quiet dinner or such a beautiful setting...and they have been playing that same cd since we arrived and when we departed it was still playing, it was very annoying.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaBranders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed at Critchley Hackle as a rest-stop on our way to the Kruger National Park, from Johannesburg. This was convenient as it is just about midway.

We could not have chosen a better place. First, Dullstroom is one of those quaint, picturesque towns that everyone wants to be be part of in their holiday. The surroundings are breathtakingly beautiful and the town itself is built to provide holiday memories to visitors! Then, the hotel itself is also very pretty. it is built next to a lake, with mostly solid wood construction that gives a really nice feel. The staff is great, food is fabulous and rooms are big and comfortable. Breakfast is fantastic and very well done! The hotel has a very good selection of wines. There is free internet.

Our stay was very short but we wished that we had stayed longer- both Critchley Hackle and Dullstroom deserve it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NG42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dullstroom hotels
5.9 mi away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Dullstroom
439 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Highlander Country Retreat & Spa
2.3 mi away
Dunkeld Country Estate
Dunkeld Country Estate
#9 of 30 in Dullstroom
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Valley of the Rainbow
Valley of the Rainbow
#3 of 30 in Dullstroom
51 reviews
14.0 mi away
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
#2 of 30 in Dullstroom
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peace Corner
Peace Corner
#1 of 14 in Dullstroom
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Critchley Hackle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Critchley Hackle Hotel

Property: Critchley Hackle Hotel
Address: 585 Teding van Berkhout Street Dullstroom 1110, Dullstroom 6000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Dullstroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dullstroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Critchley Hackle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Mpumalanga Highlands and just 2.5 hours drive from Johannesburg, Critchley Hackle is a Mecca for stressed execs and tourists. Critchley Hackle has 22 beautifully appointed rooms and suites accommodating a maximum of 59 guests sharing. The hotel and its surrounding area is a great destination to just chill and enjoy the tranquil setting. The red tinned roof and sandstone building is typically “Old Transvaal”.A beautiful small lake stocked with Rainbow Trout awaits guests at their front door. We have trout rods and flies for the use of keen fisherman. Please note we do not practice catch and release, so your catch of the day is weighed and sold to the proud fisherman. Our team will be happy to either cook and or package the fish to be taken home.Ideally suited for both business and leisure, we offer luxurious country accommodation and leisure activities. The red tinned roof and sandstone building looks onto a small lake stocked with Trout.Guests are able to enjoy a morning or afternoon of fly fishing, just outside their room. Any fish caught on the day will be for the fisherman’s account, we do not offer a catch and release policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Critchley Hackle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing