We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Critchley Hackle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dullstroom
Certificate of Excellence
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Such a lovely setting but a Very tired looking hotel which was so disappointing. They had put a flower blossom on the bed when we arrived which I moved to a table and there it stayed all dried up until we left. They supplied tea and coffee in the rooms but we never got any milk. No serviettes and dirty cutlery at the breakfast table. Used serviettes lying under the tables. No bed turn down on our first night , did come and knock at 6:30 on the second night to see if we required our fire lit. Curtains in the bedrooms are were dirty. The outside patio and chairs had bird droppings all over and were not cleaned at all during our stay. Cigarette ends on the lawn and patio outside the dining room never cleaned up. Pool needs to be resurfaced certainly not up to 4 star hotel standards. I always remember people talking about how lovely Critchley Hackle was, well sadly that is no more.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debsabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gideon J, Manager at Critchley Hackle Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Good Morning.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. At Critchley Hackle we strive to not only meet our guest expectations but to exceed them, and it is with regret to hear that this was not the case with your recent stay.

Please be assured that all comments and suggestions are taken in the best possible way and used in a constructive manner to improve our service and enhance our product offering.

Thank you
Gideon Jordaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    80
    32
    9
    13
See reviews for
46
106
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bethal, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel many times over the years but recently found them overrated for out of date and worn furnishings. Breakfast used to be a buffet but now you order from a menu and the service was very laid back. This was very surprising as there were almost no people staying over.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross O, General Manager at Critchley Hackle Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Good morning Carelina,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your response. We pride ourselves on guest feedback and use this as our first and foremost tool to improve anything that may need to be improved within our establishment.

We have taken your comments and will use them constructively. We hope on your next visit that you see an improvement to your previous stay.

with kind regards

Ross Owen
general Manager
0132540146 / GMHighlander@urbanhiphotels.co.za
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great setting with trout pond and cottages that surrounds it. Well maintaned gardens. Rooms were clean and well laid out. Fireplace was a welcome sight as we encountered cold weather during our stay. Enough wood was provided at no extra charge. Rooms were quickly serviced. Well located close to trouist attractions (Harry's Pancakes) and some good restuarants. We only had breakfast at Critchley, Harry's Pancakes for lunch and dinner at Poachers- purely due to the fact there was more selection elsewhere (There are loads more restaurants just up the drag).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross O, General Manager at Critchley Hackle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Good morning Gavin,

What a wonderful review. The team and I wold like to thank you for taking the time to write this. I have printed it out for all the staff to see.

We hope that you arrived home safely and that the family enjoyed the rest of your trip.

We all are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Ross Owen
gmhighlander@urbanhiphotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

I didn't stay at the hotel so can't comment on the accommodation but recently went there for lunch. The lunch menu is quite sparse but I initially thought that was a good thing. Surely a chef that only has a few different dishes to prepare is going to prepare them REALLY well. I was wrong.
We were a group of 4 adults and 2 kids. There's no kids menu but they made arrangements for us which was nice. Three of us had the steak and three of us sent it back because it was very over cooked. The replacement steaks were not much better. In fact mine was thin, grey, over cooked and full of fat and grissle. I could not eat it.
On the plus side my wife's stirfry was very nice.
The manager was very apologetic but this is not what you expect from a place like Critchley Hackle.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AndyDrewSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross O, General Manager at Critchley Hackle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Good morning Andy,

I would like to thank you for your feedback. It is with feedback such as yours that we continue to improve.

I have spoken to our Chef regarding the quality of the produce sent to our guests, and we have written to our suppliers regarding the quality of our produce. We strive to bring our customers the best that we can.

We hope to see you again in the near future to see the improvements we have made.

Kind regards

Ross Owen
gmhighlander@urbanhiphotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Made a reservation online via urban hip. Got confirmation of reservation and when i arrived with a weekend retreat in mind i was told i could only check in at 2.30pm. I said where on the confirmation of my booking does it say this and was told its in the welcome letter! i then said it would have been helpful to have this on the confirmation of booking. For the exhorbitant price per night i expect a much higher calibre of professionalism and customer service. Given first impressions are lasting impressions this will be my first and last visit to this establishment or any other that falls under urban hip hotel group. Not recommended.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WalkingBoots1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross O, General Manager at Critchley Hackle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Good morning Mrs Lavoipierre.

Thank you for taking my call. we would like to thank you for your feedback and appreciate that with feed back such as yours we can improve the Hotel from strength to strength.

Our check in time is 14:00 and we will see that our correspondence for our guests reflects that. We are very much looking forward to you visiting us again to see the improvements that we are making.

Kind regards

Ross Owen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We decided to break up our drive to the game reserve and stop off at the cool little town of Dullstroom. Which I highly recommend visiting. Make sure you get there during the day as the shops do close earlyish. Anyway, we did a last minute booking at the Critchley Hackle hotel (it's actually a lodge). Upon arrival the staff were very friendly and kind. However, once we were taken to our room we realized that we'd been conned, literally. The pictures on the website of the rooms were exactly not what the rooms looked like. Also, the bed was unmade. Unacceptable. Frustrated and disappointed, I asked the receptionist why this is the case and the gentlemen mentioned that the pictures were taken of the owners private rooms and not of the actual lodge accommodation. After a semi-heated conversation to which the staff had no form of response we decided to call the Highlander another lodge in Dullstroom. I then discovered that the owners of Critchley are the same owners of the highlander and the highlander receptionist specfically told me that the photos on the highlander website are also a lie. This is absolutely rediculous!!! After making a fuss the Critchley staff showed us about 8 different rooms and we choose the best 1. After all this and once we had the fire place going with an ice cold GnT we were able to find some peace!

Room Tip: Dont use the website pictures as a base for choosing this lodge. Same for the Highlander.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross O, General Manager at Critchley Hackle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Good morning Greg,

thank you for your feedback. we have looked at the site, and have upgraded and changed the site. We have a brand new website, www.urbanhiphotels.com. We are very proud of this and welcome any feedback form guests so that we may constantly improve the guest experience.

Please feel free to contact me at anytime on 0132548000, or gmhighlander@urbanhiphotels.com.

Once again thank you for your feedback, and we are looking forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

Kind regards

Ross Owen
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I recently spent a night at the Critchley Hackle. After a hard days drive it was like heaven getting there. A wonderful welcome and sherry and then directed to my room which was extremely well appointed. Lovely double bed, plenty coffee,tea etc and other assorted items. The rooms look out onto a lake. So very picturesque. The bathroom was fabulous. Lots of fluffy towels and plenty of hot water. Breakfast next morning was excellent and I can wholeheartedly recommend this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesBinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross O, General Manager at Critchley Hackle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Good morning James,

It was a pleasure to host you, and we would like to thank for the amazing feedback received. We cannot wait for your next visit.

We hope to see you again sometime soon on your next adventure.

Kind regards

Ross Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dullstroom hotels
5.9 mi away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Dullstroom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Highlander Country Retreat & Spa
2.3 mi away
Dunkeld Country Estate
Dunkeld Country Estate
#8 of 30 in Dullstroom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
#3 of 30 in Dullstroom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Treelands
Treelands
#5 of 30 in Dullstroom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
11.1 mi away
Valley of the Rainbow
Valley of the Rainbow
#2 of 30 in Dullstroom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Critchley Hackle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Critchley Hackle Hotel

Property: Critchley Hackle Hotel
Address: 585 Teding van Berkhout Street Dullstroom 1110, Dullstroom 6000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Dullstroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dullstroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Critchley Hackle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Mpumalanga Highlands and just 2.5 hours drive from Johannesburg, Critchley Hackle is a Mecca for stressed execs and tourists. Critchley Hackle has 22 beautifully appointed rooms and suites accommodating a maximum of 59 guests sharing. The hotel and its surrounding area is a great destination to just chill and enjoy the tranquil setting. The red tinned roof and sandstone building is typically “Old Transvaal”.A beautiful small lake stocked with Rainbow Trout awaits guests at their front door. We have trout rods and flies for the use of keen fisherman. Please note we do not practice catch and release, so your catch of the day is weighed and sold to the proud fisherman. Our team will be happy to either cook and or package the fish to be taken home.Ideally suited for both business and leisure, we offer luxurious country accommodation and leisure activities. The red tinned roof and sandstone building looks onto a small lake stocked with Trout.Guests are able to enjoy a morning or afternoon of fly fishing, just outside their room. Any fish caught on the day will be for the fisherman’s account, we do not offer a catch and release policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Critchley Hackle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing