We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Valley of the Rainbow
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Valley of the Rainbow is closer to Dullstroom and Belfast than Middelburg. We stayed there over easter weekend and loved it there. They have 5 trout dams and although we are amateurs and did not catch anything that looks remotely like a trout we had a ball. The 5 course dinner is amazing and the breakfast was good. The elderly couple running the lodge is super friendly and the staff on the premises are all very helpful. They even have horses although they are not really for outrides. The lodge management were willing to arrange outrides for us at a neighbouring farm. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Valley of the Rainbow.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irmaSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

What a lovely place to stay. The couple running it were so welcoming and accommodating. The 5 course meal was to a very good standard and the breakfast was too. Beautiful countryside, just the perfect place to get away from it all.
We wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Went went to the Valley in April 2012, and were looking to just get away from the city and thats exactly what this allowed.
Cell phone reception is minimal, so no excuses to get away. We stayed in the manor house, with the most amazing 5 course dinner everynight, and an equally lovely breakfast.
We forgot to order lunch the day before, but they managed to organise us a picnic basket, which we had out by the trout farms, in the middle of nowhere. Sitting in the sunshine and just marvelling nature was magical. The place is so nice a quiet. We will be back

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chantel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed in the tented chalets at Valley of the Rainbow. We stayed in similar tents at a different lodge a few weeks earlier so were expecting similar clean well maintained luxury tents. However, although these tents had a brilliant really amazing view over one of the dams and they are quite secluded and cosy, we found the tents to be in no good condition. The bathroom section felt "wobbly" and could do with serious maintenance and the zip could not always close the bathroom. The tents in general were just really old. The other major problem was the bugs. When we arrived there quite late at night they left the lights on in the tent and so the place was absolutely crawling with insects (this being right next to the water there are plenty around). We could hardly touch anything without touching bugs. Lucky my wife and I are not squeamish about insects, but even we felt uncomfortable about how many there were. The place just felt unclean. The next morning they were all gone and then the tent looked much better. So the bottom line is just that I would not recommend you stay here if you are afraid of bugs.
PS, this probably does not apply to the rooms in the main house.
PSS, I recommend you do one of the hikes up the mountain to the ruins and the waterfall. It's really incredibly beautiful there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knersus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed here for three nights towards the end of October 2011 and we were amazed by the quality of the food which was by far and away the best we have ever had in South Africa. Full board is a must if you are staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan Miguel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElkeDiehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dullstroom hotels
16.1 mi away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Dullstroom
540 reviews
23.9 mi away
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
#3 of 33 in Dullstroom
100 reviews
9 mi away
Dunkeld Country Estate
Dunkeld Country Estate
#8 of 33 in Dullstroom
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Cpirit Country Haven
Cpirit Country Haven
#6 of 14 in Dullstroom
23 reviews
11 mi away
The Rose Cottage & Co, B&B
The Rose Cottage & Co, B&B
#1 of 14 in Dullstroom
103 reviews
10.6 mi away
KlipHuisjes
KlipHuisjes
#9 of 33 in Dullstroom
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley of the Rainbow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley of the Rainbow

Address: Witpoort Farm, Dullstroom 1110, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Dullstroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Dullstroom
Price Range: £43 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Valley of the Rainbow 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Valley of the Rainbow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing