We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Soft spot”

The Mayfly Restaurant and Cocktail Bar
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Dullstroom
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mayfly Restaurant & Cocktail Lounge Dullstroom
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Soft spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stopped here to have a couple of drinks on a hot afternoon and only to find that they served real good food and a nice variety for a quick lunch. They had a nice and interesting menu.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    134
    39
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were visiting from Malawi while getting in some flyfishing and we ate there twice and the food and the service was excellent. Management also hands on!! Keep it up Mayfly!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeanneSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

First visit to Dullstroom and what a wonderful surprise to eat at The Mayfly. Service was exceptional - every single waiter/waitress looked after us. The food too was excellent - homemade soups, chicken roulade and the pepper lemon trout. Great evening

Helpful?
1 Thank ADBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kruger National Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious and tasty value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We come through Dullstrom quite often, and absolutely love the Mayfly!
We recently stayed for the night, and visited Mayfly for supper. The man had a pizza, and I had a double burger without the bun (they were very accommodating to my non-wheat diet). We both thoroughly enjoyed our food and wished we had saved room for the lovely dessert menu. A must for breakfast, lunch or dinner!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LodgeTrackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent! This place quickly became our 'regular.'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

What can I say? My fiancé and I must have eaten at The Maylfy over 50 times during our time living in Dullstroom. Every meal was superb, the calamari is to die for! Easily better than many I've eaten on the coast of South Africa! Gareth the owner is a great guy, very accommodating and nothing is too much trouble. Service is fantastic and the restaurant itself has a wonderful atmosphere. There are around 30 restaurants in Dullstroom and in 6 months we ate at the Mayfly at least twice a week! If we had friends of family visiting us, the Mayfly was our restaurant of choice every single time!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Urban L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mayfly Restaurant and Cocktail Bar also viewed

Dullstroom, Mpumalanga
 
 

Been to The Mayfly Restaurant and Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing