We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the middle of a drive to Kruger”

The Mayfly Restaurant and Cocktail Bar
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Dullstroom
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mayfly Restaurant & Cocktail Lounge Dullstroom
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
224 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A gem in the middle of a drive to Kruger”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on the way to our safari in Kruger from Johannesburg. I had one of the best meals of my vacation here. The trout salad was fresh and one of the tastiest salads I've ever eaten (you can eat the fresh vegetables/lettuce here without any worry). We came here on the way back from Kruger given it was so good - and I had the fried calamari which was one of the best (extremely tender!!!) fried calamaris I have ever eaten! Would highly highly recommend and come back whenever possible if only I didn't live so far away!!! What a gem!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    136
    39
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great food and place to eat”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Had lunch here with the family of 10. We were all ages and there was food for everybody on the menu. The prices are very reasonable and the portions generous. The service was great and we had a lovely meal. Please try the double cheese burger. Outstanding pure beef party with amazing think cut chips. Really can recommend the restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Henk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Trout ever”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Having never been to Dullstroom we were told to try this restaurant for trout. I am not a great fish eater but the saying "when in Rome...." Came to my mind.
We ate a creamy trout pate starter which called for a second one being ordered at the table. The beef carpaccio was delicious too and those were just the starters.
The rainbow trout en papilote with spinach was ordered by 3 of us and the lemon trout by 1. We all agreed the food was tasty, easy to eat (I am usually put off fish because of bones and there were none) and very filling.

We sat outside in the warm winter sun and blankets were provided to hide the chill factor from the wind. The staff were very friendly and jovial.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dietlyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A trendy, upmarket gem in Dullstroom”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This restaurant is truly the best that Dullstroom has to offer.

The service is outstanding, from all levels, waiters and waitresses, the manager, and owner. The food was flavourful, extremely well presented and timeous, there was a great variety of wines, beers, and more. The log fires brought a warm country atmosphere to this modern restaurant. Upmarket, yet still so invitingly comfortable that lunch turned into sundowners, which turned into dinner, and an all-round great day!

I can surely recommend this place as a must for any traveller passing through Dullstroom towards Kruger Park or wherever.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D_o_n_o_v_a_n_511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Such a warm,comfortable place to have lunch!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Lovely restaurant. Child friendly, had a child seat and coloring books. Ordered a Dagwood and a Pizza, pleasantly surprised. The food is very good. Excellent range of Whisky at the bar. We will definitely return to this restaurant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ZAExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mayfly Restaurant and Cocktail Bar also viewed

Dullstroom, Mpumalanga
 
 

Been to The Mayfly Restaurant and Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing