We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and entertaining”

Dullstroom Bird Of Prey & Rehabilitation Centre
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Dullstroom
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Dullstroom Bird Of Prey & Rehabilitation Centre strives to educate the public on the plight of raptors. We provide flying demonstrations, handling and photographic days to the public as part of our educational drive. We rehabilitate injured wildlife and also breed and release raptors back into the wild. Our centre is a worthwhile visit.
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good and entertaining”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Although we heard the sad news that the previous owner have been diagnosed with brain cancer, and place was subsequently closed for a while, we were so impressed with the guide that did the performance. Although she is also still learning, they are really trying hard to keep this legacy alive and it shows in the effort they are putting in to keep this place and the good work they're doing alive. Keep it up. It's a wonderfull experience to get so close to a bird of prey you normally do not see up close.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hestervorster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    39
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good news!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I recently visited the centre and found that they had closed temporarily.
Sandra Pretorius, Frith Douglas and Magdali Theron have taken over the management of the centre and WOW, what a wonderful enthusiasm they show for getting the place back up to the level that it should be at.
All the very best, as I will be visiting shortly again to sample some of the delights in the Barn Owl Snack Shack!
Go girls go.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 635JONO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Close to nature”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Fascinating being so close and personal with such amazing birds, and seeing how they live, hunt, stay alive and depend on undisturbed nature

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RianGIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent project!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A great cause. Well run, lovely owners. Excellent displays, happy, healthy animals! I highly recommend a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Urban L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great amont of birds and raptors”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

It has a great amount of owls and raptors, who are been rehabilitated and taken care of. The show was great. Keep up the great work

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yusuf11223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dullstroom Bird Of Prey & Rehabilitation Centre also viewed

Dullstroom, Mpumalanga
Dullstroom, Mpumalanga
 
Dullstroom, Mpumalanga
Dullstroom, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Dullstroom Bird Of Prey & Rehabilitation Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing