We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity Spa....really?”
Review of Highland Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Rose
Ranked #8 of 14 Dullstroom B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Serenity.......the state or quality of being serene, calm, or tranquil; sereneness

During a visit to Dullstroom in November I went to this Spa with a family member. The quality of the treatments were shocking. The two "therapists" were totally unorganised and not well trained at all...if trained at all. First of all when we went there to make the bookings they were very reluctant to help us saying they were tired. That was 9 o'clock in the morning. We had massages which was only 60% acceptable. The towels on the beds were all crumpled and dirty from previous treatments. My Aunt who had the spinal detox had even less joy than myself because at one stage her "therapist" dissapeared for a long time and certain parts of the treatment got left behind???
The facials were shocking as well. Again very dirty towels and the therapist was texting on her cellphone while trying to do a facial. At one stage my therapist placed her cellphone on my lap????? She also tried to do some kind of extraction on my face with her nails and the skin came off my face. It is healing now....!! I can go on but I think that is enough said. We spent nearly R2000 to"treat" ourselves but what a shocking experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ulrike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

Nothing what you are looking for in a 4 star was there! No tea on the coffee and tea tray. Only soap in the bathroom. Television didn,t work.because they didn,t pay for the decoder [only message on the screen was pay your invoice before 8 october,Istayd 1 november]

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank anneline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Room was clean + neat,but the shower in bathroom is open and entire bathroom was under water after showering.
Breakfast- no choice of menu given. You had to eat what was presented.
Management never seen.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Good venue, needs a bit of maintenance here and there, bath enamel chipped, door lock bathroom broken, tap handles loose.Garden beautifull, spa was fantastic, lights can be dimmed!! The guy who books you in can help with the luggage.The food I would say was basic but well prepared. Asked for Brandy and was told we dont keep it just to find the fully stocked bar around the corner....no mixers for drinks....beer was limited to a few local brands. Staff needs training, little bit of hands on maintenance, and better management ....this venue can then increase their prices by 30% and still be cheaper than the mainstreem....spa was fantastic!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jaco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Advertises 4 Star grading and AA Highly Recommended, when asked proof, I was told they don't subscribe - but the boards are not taken off, and web sites not corrected. Manager was quite rude about this. "Luxurious facilities and excellent service" do not exist !!
Water pipes make a noise, mattresses need to be replaced - in all - a 'run down' establishment. Breakfast - a joke - food served - no questions/choice i.e. allergy. What an unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tiily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

It was an amazing place to stay. So quite and serene. The food was out this world. The couples massage and champagne was better than we imagined it would be. Will definitely visit there again as soon as our workload allowed us to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Black widow spiders pounce at you and your baby near bedtime. When we wished to leave instead of stay over and risk a bite, noone working for the establishment could be found, not even security which was terrifying since the hotel is within walking distance of a township. The place is hard to find,especially after dark and the employees are not helpful. This trip saw us trekking out into the mist and rain in the middle of the night with our 3 month old baby looking for alternate accommodation or risking the drive home instead.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genevieve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dullstroom hotels
6.5 mi away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Dullstroom
540 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Rose Cottage & Co, B&B
The Rose Cottage & Co, B&B
#1 of 14 in Dullstroom
103 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dunkeld Country Estate
Dunkeld Country Estate
#8 of 33 in Dullstroom
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Cpirit Country Haven
Cpirit Country Haven
#6 of 14 in Dullstroom
23 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Highlander Hotel
The Highlander Hotel
#3 of 14 in Dullstroom
143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peace Corner
Peace Corner
#2 of 14 in Dullstroom
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Rose

Address: Amajuba Street | Plot 442, Dullstroom, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Dullstroom
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Dullstroom
Price Range: £67 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Highland Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing