We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tswalu Kalahari Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We spent 4 nights at 'The Motse' - Tswalu Kalahari Game Reserve.
We are well travelled through Africa - Malawi, Botswana, Zambia and Namibia - only to discover that Tswalu Kalahari in my own country, is for beyond all the other places.
We were spoiled from the beginning to the end. The food was absolute fantastic - we love the oxtail and pap, thanks to the chef!!!!
Accommodation were out of this world and the staff even better.
Our guide (Richarde) and tracker (Jackson) were very knowledgable - thanks for taking us to the pride of lions, killing and eating a warthog - it was a lifetime experience.
Highly recommended!!
Regards, Riaan and Mercia Kruger, Paarl, Western Cape, South Africa

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mercia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

I want to thank the Oppenheimer family for allowing my wife and I, and others, to experience their vision of conservation in the South African Kalahari region. They are sustaining an ecosystem that may have been lost if they had not taken up the cause. As you can see by other reviews, this is a wonderful place and we concur. The accomodations are over the top, staff is top drawer, and the reserve is full of wildlife. The lodge is also very concerned about the well being of their staff. They run a regional health clinic that is available to the local community as well as staff. The Oppenheimer's also have a medical evacuation helicopter on standby. We have been to many camps in Botswana, and South Africa, and this is one not to be missed. I especially want to thank Warren, our guide, BD our tracker, Wendy, Ruth, Lebo, Joe, Norbert, and basically all the behind the scene players who created an unforgetable experience. There is absolutely no way you will be disappointed by a trip to this first class camp.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Beautiful artistically designed lodges and exceptionally comfortable rooms, complemented with a warm, attentive and welcoming staff. The uniqueness of the locale and the rejuvenation of the land and wildlife lends a mystical air. One night we witnessed a Kalahari thunderstorm the specter of which left us in awe.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristopherC789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

This was our fourth trip to a safari lodge and we did not expect to better Savanna in Sabi Sands, but this did it.
The private aircraft transfer from Jo'burg was seamless with hospitality in the lounge first class. On arrival it was a smooth transfer to the lodge with a very warm, or actually cold beer, welcome. We were lucky to have the use of owners thatched chalet. It was huge with a study area and two bathrooms as well as an outside day bed.
The service and food were exceptional. The staff outstanding.
The game drives very good with some different species for us, i.e. meerkats.
Nothing during our stay was too much trouble.
Only downside was that we did not expect young children, which we were not happy with.
We are very experienced travellers but this has got to be one of the best places we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GEOFF P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This was one of the most incredible experiences I have had in many decades of travelling the world. Tswalu is quite simply a stunning place and, coupled with service of the highest order, a holiday here offers exceptionally high standards in every respect. The staff go out of their way for you and genuinely want you to have a great time with them. Our guide Andrew (and his tracker Jacob) were fantastic - so knowledgable and patient with our endless questions. Jacob's tracking of the lioness (plus cubs) and rhino was incredible! We also tracked two of Africa's rarer animals, an aardvark and a pangolin (rarely seen).From the second we landed 'til the moment of take-off, we were royally treated and had the best holiday of our lives. Go there!!

Room Tip: The family suites are a great option for parents and children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Johnners77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

A magical place. We had an amazing time - everything about it is wonderful: the reserve itself, the guides and trackers, the accommodation, food and staff. The guides are extremely knowledgeable and the staff is uniformly warm and friendly. We'll go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmacd1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Well Tswalus landscape is like when mother earth is showing her best face, I cant find superlatives enough, well done , conservationproject like this in Tswalu is many steps ahead for a sustainable tourism, our guide Brett and tracker BT was so good teachers of the animals and plants especially the birdlife very intresting knowledge , superguides will come back soon with my kids ! Thanks all staff , and Justin a starchef of highest aclaim, G Hansson

Room Tip: number four is exellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matilo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tswalu Kalahari Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tuningi Safari Lodge
Tuningi Safari Lodge
#15 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cunningham Cottage
Cunningham Cottage
#1 of 13 in Kuruman
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kuruman Inn by Country Hotels
Show Prices

Been to Tswalu Kalahari Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tswalu Kalahari Reserve

Address: Southern Kalahari | Kuruman, Tswalu Kalahari Game Reserve 8460, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Northern Cape > Tswalu Kalahari Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tswalu Kalahari Game Reserve
Price Range: £1,618 - £2,655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tswalu Kalahari Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the luxury and beauty of this magnificent malaria free 100,000ha private game reserve, the focus is on flexibility and privacy, outstanding game viewing, gourmet cuisine, indulgent spa treatments, and getting to do the things you've only ever dreamed about.The uniqueness of the safari experience begins with a flexible itinerary, which allows you to dictate your own programme of games drives, bush walks and horseback safaris; and continues with the interactive game experience. With a dedicated vehicle, tracker and guide, you can tailor your Tswalu safari to include whatever appeals to you.Bond with the meerkats before they go foraging or spend the morning tracking the desert black rhino. Witness the sheer size and power of the Kalahari black maned lion. Experience the magic of star gazing and the thrill of sleeping under the night sky. Indulge in boma feasts and bush dinners, sundowners, wine tastings and dune picnics. And whatever you do, make sure you have enough time to experience it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tswalu Kalahari Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing