We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing short of EXCELLENT”
Review of Ulusaba Rock Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ulusaba Private Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ulusaba Rock Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We just returned from our stay at Ulusaba. Everything about it was incredible....we did not want to leave and look forward to the day we can return! I must give a special shout out to our Ranger Brandon and Tracker Jack who had an huge impact on our experience. They made such a fabulous team, were extremely knowledgeable and both had a great sense of humor, our group was playing and cracking jokes the entire time. They were so good at tracking animals, we started making requests. And if you are in to photography, these are your guys....we were always situated in the perfect position to get the best possible shots. It was easy to wake up at 5am every morning knowing that an action packed day of animals awaited us.

The rest of the staff and lodge lived up to our expectations, which were high, after all the glowing reviews on trip advisor.

There are so many safari lodges to choose from it is truly hard to make a decision, but know that if you choose Ulusaba, you not be disappointed.

Thank you Ulusaba for an experience of a lifetime!

Room Tip: We stayed in Rock Cliff #1 and our friends were in Rock Cliff #2 and both were fabulous.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2Trvl60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLELondon, General Manager at Ulusaba Rock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience from your stay in December. We will pass on your lovely feedback to Ranger Brandon and Tracker Jack who helped to make your game experience so special. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes
Karl Langdon
General Manager of Ulusaba Private Game Reserve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Ulusaba Rock Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

What can I add to all the great previous reviews… ?! Everything was just perfect: the weather, the location of the lodge, its beautiful architecture, our room, the food, the staff, the game rides…..
Everybody working there was young, clean cut, very polite and well spoken, very friendly with the guests and with each other and seeming genuinely interested in everything you need … Splendid!
We were greeted at the airstrip with cold drinks, big, friendly smiles and a jeep that took us to the lodge. We stayed three nights at the Rock Lodge where we had the Rock Cliff room # 2. In the room we found a nice welcoming letter from the management, together with two nice, high-quality-print books, one about the lodge itself and another about the animals in the area – a nice touch! The room itself was very spacious, with all the amenities expected, immaculately clean, wonderful views from the balcony and a huge bathroom area downstairs with even better views.
The food was constantly excellent and the drinks… whatever you want, as much as you want, whenever you want ….
Our ranger, Dale, was very pleasant, knowledgeable, with a good sense of humor and always willing to help, no matter what that was, like everyone else at the lodge. As about the spotter, Don - the guy was even able to spot a chameleon, on a tree, in the dark of the evening, while returning to the loge-incredible!!! The game: elephants, rhinos, giraffes, zebras, all kind of antelopes, lionesses with cubs, leopards, hyenas, wild dogs, chameleons (!) and others I don’t remember. We even happen to see something apparently very rare: a predator attacking another predator. In this case it was three lionesses killing a young hyena, which in its attempt to savage through the remains of a nyala killed by the lionesses the night before, got too close to the cubs. It was gruesome…

There was also a wonderful, surprise dinner. On our second evening, when returning from an afternoon game drive, out of a sudden we noticed in a distance (before going uphill, to the lodge) a lot of lights, lights in the tree (just like on Christmas) and when we got closer also heard the sound of the drums. There was a very interesting song and dance show performed by the people of a village nearby, followed by a tasty buffet dinner. On the last morning, there was a surprise breakfast when returning from the game drive, in the middle of nowhere, with pancakes made to order, champagne and … anything else you want…
We didn’t really want to leave but this was just the beginning of our trip to South Africa and there were so many other places to see. We’ll surely be back ….

Room Tip: Our room (Rock Cliff # 2) was excellent, but I do not think there are any bad rooms
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldnomad_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed at rock lodge, amazing experience, staff are out to make sure your stay is nothing but perfect. You are greeted at the airstrip, and a nice bottle of bubbles on ice waiting for you.
Ryann who collected us was our game driver, he was fantastic his knowledge of the wildlife was incredible, he had a person who has never really taken an interest in birds becoming a bird watcher, well done Ryan! He did everything in his power to make sure we had an amazing wildlife experience. We'll done to everyone associated with rock lodge it's a team effort. Heather

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heathergeorge00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Would totally give ULUSABA 6 stars! its seriously an overall AMAZING experience! from the initial booking via emails, to the Transfers in/out, the welcoming, the location, views and STAFF! there is not one thing anyone could fault here! Take the federal air transfer (if you get motion sick then take a pill) We were greeted by Dale our Safari / Game guide, a few champagnes on arrival into the airstrip then a quick 5 min transfer to the lodge. and WOW! Amazing. seriously words cannot describe how amazing this place is. the view up high of the sabi sands and reserve takes your breath away. Everything is included, food, drinks and whatever else you want / need! on arrival to the lodge got a welcome Jack Daniels or 2, then moved to our room, where thry brought the entire bottle for me to keep for the stay. lol. (this is just how good the service is) 5am game drives with breakfast on the safari, seeing everything you can imagine! AND AS FOR GAME DRIVES...... the BEST! they dont stick to the road, they actually go BUSH, running over trees to get you up close to the wildlife! all i can say is i CANT WAIT TO COME BACK, and bring a group of people! WELL DONE!!! by far the best hotel ive stayed at! o and if you get a chance go and check out PRIDE & PURPOSE, their volunteer / community program, bu take some gifts for the kids :)

Room Tip: both lodges are totally different but you get a better overall view from rock lodge. the entry room...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritchie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stayed at Safari Lodge for two nights and Rock Lodge for another two. Although we enjoyed both, I would definitely say our favorite was Rock. The views are just phenomenal...our room (dusk suite) had its own plunge pool and wrap around porch. We stayed at the treehouse suite in Safari, and although it was also beautiful--the hippos and baboons are very loud at night! :)
But what really made our stay at Ulusaba unforgettable was the staff. Our guide Sean was incredible---he was such a wealth of knowledge and we were lucky enough to have the jeep to ourselves for a day and a half. We saw the Big Five, cubs, a kill + countless other beautiful animals & birds. I can't imagine a better safari experience...we were treated to two breakfasts in the bush, drinks at night with the hippos, star-gazing, and other magical experiences we will never forget.
If you're like me and do A LOT of research before your trips, look no further. This is a trip you will never forget.

Room Tip: Our dusk suite was amazing...private plunge pool, wrap around porch and stunning views. If you are...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elisaanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

For first timer's on safari (let alone first time in Africa) we couldn't have jagged a better place to stay. Travelling with my mum and another friend of ours, this was our last port of call in Africa on the way home and we stayed for 4 night's, I really needed another 2 night's or better yet the rest of my life! I'm absolutely in love with the place and can't wait to go back. When the staff first meet you and say everyone in the lodge is like one big family, including all the guests, and to treat it like home they aren't kidding, the warm welcoming nature is truly a comfort and we made some fantastic new friends who we intend to keep in touch with and hopefully will see in the future. We were fortunate enough to have Brandon (who had only been there for 2 weeks and we were his first guests) as our Ranger and Anios as our tracker, the knowledge and passion these guys have for their environment is second to none and we will miss them a lot! After spending the majority of your time with them you really do become the best of friends. I highly recommend requesting these guys if you choose to stay at Ulusaba! Definitely a place you could also travel solo, which is on the cards for me!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

No surprises, another fantastic review coming for Ulusaba.
From the moment you touch down on the private airfield, you are welcomed into the Ulusaba family - big smiles and genuine service from all. We split our time with one night in rock lodge and two in safari lodge. If you can stay at both, do.. as both locations offer something different and just as special.
Ryan and Kiaser became our new best friends, and your ranger and tracker will become yours. They went out of their way to show the best of bush and their "land rover hospitality" could not be faulted be it early in the morning or in the evening. They also have such passion and knowledge of the bush which showed from photos we were able to take and bring home.
The rest of the Ulusaba family made sure we were fed great tasting food (at all times of the day), that our glass was never empty, and that our room was always welcoming and well stocked.
Ulusaba is very well appointed, and has plenty of space for some personal time as well as opportunities to meet other people staying. The spa was fabulous with a great back drop of the bush.
You really are transported into the relaxing motherland at Ulusaba, without losing any of your creature comforts we have become accustomed to in the city.
Nothing was too much trouble.. and it is one place I would not hesitate to return to. Highly recommended for family, friends, couples and travelling on your own.
Go enjoy the warmest service and brilliant location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clareyb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulusaba Private Game Reserve
19.2 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
387 reviews
9.5 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
450 reviews
3.0 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#16 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
840 reviews
1.6 mi away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
280 reviews
9.5 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#19 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ulusaba Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulusaba Rock Lodge

Address: Sabi Sand, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Ulusaba Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Ulusaba Private Game Reserve
Price Range: £11,500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With panoramic views overlooking the miles of African bush, there are 8 rooms at Rock Lodge, including the Master Suite, Makwela Suites, Rock Cliff rooms and the two bedroom Rock Suite, some of which have private plunge pools. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ulusaba Rock Hotel Ulusaba Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing