We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real foodie find, every time”

Clarke of the Karoo
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Barrydale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“A real foodie find, every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I've been to Clarke's a number of times over the past year and every single time the food has been brilliant. Complex flavours, beautiful presentation and the service is great too. And the venue has a sophisticated, yet relaxed feel to it. Definitely the place to stop on your way through Barrydale!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yolande B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    56
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“Charming hospitality and a tasty meal !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

A friend and I visited Clarke's recently, and our experience was of a warm, affable host, on-hand to ensure we were having a good time, and a tasty, wholesome, meal. I had the spring-rolls and the lamb curry, and could see why it's Clarke's signature dish...loved it !!! The staff and service were also great !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst 'burger' of my life!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I was there a week ago with my daughter. She ordered the regular burger, I ordered the lamb burger. Both were very expensive and - uneatable. I think they were made of crushed bones and other kitchen rubbbish. And nobody enquired, when we gave the unfinished 'burgers' back. I think years ago this was a recommendable place. Definitely a goner now!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dieter791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
“Warm welcome, excellent meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Clarke's new venue is stylish and Mike is on hand to give a warm welcome. Tasty calamari starter, followed by well presented curry dishes, of excellent quality. Try the Virgin Earth wines good quality and reasonable price.
Dont miss this quaint spot on Route 62, Barrydale and dont forget to take a jar of Clarke's homemade preserve with you - we chose the cherry jam which is really good

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welgemoed, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“CLARKE OF THE KAROO - SUPER LAMB CURRY!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Firstly to find a restaurant where you are treated well, set at ease by the owner AND then on top of that enjoy an excellent quality meal and this miles away from any city is in my books a winner.

Clarke makes his curry with LAMB (most other places in the Karoo use mutton). The curry was as good as I last experienced in England, super quality.

Add to this a really good red wine from Joubert-Tradouw, and I can easily tell everyone who passes through Barrydale to not drive through without stopping for a meal at Clarke's of the Karoo.

Well done to this fine establishment!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Riaan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clarke of the Karoo also viewed

Barrydale, Overberg District
Barrydale, Overberg District
 
Barrydale, Overberg District
Barrydale, Overberg District
 
Barrydale, Overberg District
 

Been to Clarke of the Karoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing