We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb lamb curry and calamari!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarke of the Karoo

Clarke of the Karoo
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Barrydale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Willebroek, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb lamb curry and calamari!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Mike surely knows how to please his customers! Very nice atmosphere, absolute superb cooking and very friendly staff. We took the lamb curry which was a delight and the calamari were also really top. For European standards, very cheap too.
The sign "prices may vary according to customers attitude' is a hit ...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rafi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    52
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“disappointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

a quiet Thursday evening in Barrydale and we were the only patrons in Clarke's - always a bad sign. No fault with the service but the lamb curry we both ordered was very poor - cold curry with a watery sauce. We also ordered vegetables to go with it which never appeared. At R140 pp for the curry, rather disappointing to say the least

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank julespCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montagu, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food on a busy day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have stopped at Mike's "Clarke of the Karoo" some time ago in different premises but our most recent visit for Sunday Lunch was a pleasant and memorable surprise. We enjoyed our meal tremendously and left having exhausted all spare space in our stomachs. No space for desert so can't comment on that but the food, atmosphere, friendly demeanor of the Maitre "D" was enough to provide an excellent experience to be recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FriendofGrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A restaurant with ambience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Wendy and I had supper at Clarke of the Karoo on 18 and 19 September 2013. Both these events were excellent experiences. The lamb curry, lamb burger, roasted sirloin of beef were exceptional. The vegetable soup that accompanied the sirloin was to die for - best soup I have ever tasted!!

Thanks Mike!! We wish upon you and your restaurant many hungry patrons!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GrobJans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food for the soul and great vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Went with friends to Clarke of the Karoo on Wednesday Locals Night. What a great experience. Superb food,great atmosphere, fantastic company, friendly host and great staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeonRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clarke of the Karoo also viewed

Barrydale, Overberg District
Barrydale, Overberg District
 
Barrydale, Overberg District
Barrydale, Overberg District
 
Barrydale, Overberg District
 

Been to Clarke of the Karoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing