We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Karoo at its BEST!!!”
Review of Tradouw Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tradouw Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 6 Barrydale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Old Karoo at its BEST!!!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Visiting Tradouw Guesthouse was true experience. It is very personalized with a beautiful garden, a great breakfast under a vine covered pergola. Full of old world charm and hosted by loveable Leon and chef extraordinaire, Dennis. We will never stay anywhere else on Route 62.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelvedereC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    27
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
89
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Barrydale is like an oasis in the middle of nowhere on route 62. We were warmly greeted by Leon and shown to our room. Charming stable door overlooking their delightful garden, wonderfully maintained by the elusive Dennis!! We were quite happy to collapse on a sunbed in the shade before venturing out to a recommended restaurant, their good friends The Jam Tarts! (Also great!). The room was comfortable enough with evidence of Leon & Dennis'
eclectic mix of artefacts. Lovely breakfast next morning on the shaded patio (more artefacts) and then a wander around their adjacent garden with the native Indian wheel and a surprise encounter with Priscilla! Leon was happy to chill and chat with a glass of wine on his verandah and we thoroughly enjoyed our stop here. Would definitely recommend this friendly informality over a hotel any day and hope to return another time. Thanks to you both.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilary_crosby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is an amazing place, we were made to feel so welcome. Its a special place if only more places like this existed. Accomodation is comfortable and the garden a perfect spot to relax.
Stay for at least two nights to discover the magic of the place and Barrydale.

Room Tip: Try for the rooms up in the garden area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonRiley, Owner at Tradouw Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hi there Jules,

What a pleasure it was to meet you and to introduce you to the charming village of Barrydale.We hope you will return soon and we can introduce you to more of the delights Barrydale has to offer.
Take Care and fond regards
Leon and Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was our 4th stay and it is the most amazing B&B ever. The welcome from Leon and Denis sets the tone, with a stunning courtyard where breakfast is served and a relaxing garden. The bar is the centre of the evenings activity for residents. Such a relaxing place to be. Just the best!!

Room Tip: Garden rooms have a great view of the lovely gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonRiley, Owner at Tradouw Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hello Gordon,

Thank you so much for your review, and what a pleasure it was to host you, Richard and the newest member of the family Julian, at the Guesthouse for your 4th visit to Barrydale. Wow you feel just like family and we hope you will just keep returning.
Take Care and fond regards from The Klein Karoo
Leon and Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Our visit was our second time to this unique guesthouse. It was a joy to chat to Leon over a late night brandy, especially with another guest's pet hedgehog scampering on the bar! The garden is a delight to relax in with the silky hens and chicks clucking happily around. Leon was great at sorting out our dining arrangements over three evenings. A special place to stop on Route 62 where you can be sure of a warm welcome.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Habibisambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonRiley, Owner at Tradouw Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Greetings in The UK,

Thanks Steven and Lesley for the great review, we appreciate it so much. The hedgehog certainly added some fun to McCavities bar. Was so nice to host you a second time in Barrydale, you feel like family. We look forward to your next visit. Take Care and fond regards Leon and Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sion, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Unique location in the middle of nowhere, where we were warmly welcomed by the owners. Leon looked after us as a father.

Fantastic attention to detail. The rooms are great. The gardens are so well maintained and everything is neat as a pin.

We only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonRiley, Owner at Tradouw Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Greetings in Switzerland,

Thank you for your great review. Its was so special meeting you and sharing our special home with you. We do hope that you will be able to return one day and spend a little more time in Barrydale,
Fond Regards
Leon and Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
190 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

As my wife and I entered Barrydale I declared, "Well I guess we need to carry on." With that I consulted my phone to search for closest accommodation. The Tradouw was about 100 feet away. Nice.

We drove up and had a chat with Leon. Nice, if rustic, accommodation. We got the garden suite. It was quite comfortable and provided a nice evening's rest.

Above all, Leon & Dennis provide the warmth and friendliness that has too often been replaced by catchy lines uttered insincerely.

Nice informative conversation and a real feel of being in a home away from home make this an unquestionable five star venue for me.

From being a little worried at our lack of accommodation we were quickly rewarded with a wonderful and memorable stay. Truly accidental joy.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TimFargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonRiley, Owner at Tradouw Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Greetings from Barrydale Tim and Sylvia, Thank you for you nice review and of course thank you to Trip Advisor, without them you may just have driven on. It was so nice to meet you both and to enjoy such good company. I hope you enjoyed your adventure on The Route 62 and had a great stay in Prince Albert with Mae. Take Care, fond regards and we look forward to seeing you back in Barrydale one day. Leon and Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrydale
0.3 mi away
Karoo Art Hotel
Karoo Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barrydale
334 reviews
17.5 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.5 mi away
The Karoo Moon Motel
The Karoo Moon Motel
#3 of 6 in Barrydale
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandy's Place
Sandy's Place
#1 of 8 in Barrydale
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sorgvry - House of Guests
Sorgvry - House of Guests
#2 of 6 in Barrydale
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Whitehouse
The Whitehouse
#4 of 6 in Barrydale
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradouw Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradouw Guesthouse

Property: Tradouw Guesthouse
Address: 46 Van Riebeeck Street, Barrydale 6750, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Barrydale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Barrydale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tradouw Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tradouw Guest House offers value for money comfortable rustic private and quiet en-suite bedrooms for overnight or longer stays. Quoted rates are for bed only with full breakfast optional, thereby giving guests the choice of not having breakfast should they wish to sleep in late, or enjoy breakfast at one of the many restaurants in Barrydale. The building, dates back to the late 1800s and was once the local trading store in the town. Situated in the charming village of Barrydale just off the now famous Route 62. There are 6 bedrooms outside the main house, four with a small bathroom with shower opening onto a vine covered courtyard and two larger queen bedded rooms with private patio and en suite shower facilities opening onto a large private landscaped Garden with abundant bird life. There is a Guest Lounge and Brel's Bar with open fire place and various board games.Listen to music from Leons extensive collection of Classical, Opera, Broadway musicals and his all time favorite French singer Jacques Brel. Relax, unwind or go for a walk through our large extended indigenous gardens across the road from the guesthouse meet our family of sheep and cows and take a stroll down to the to the river. Spend some time in Barrydale and experience the Little Karoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tradouw Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing