We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A guest house with a difference”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barrydale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tradouw Guest House
Ranked #1 of 6 Barrydale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Staying here is a bit like staying in a museum and it is certainly different. The hosts Leon and Dennis were most attentive and helpful. The room was quite comfortable but could do with a good clean. The only problem with the antique feel is keeping one's own possessions separate. Cooked breakfast was first class. Opposite they have a large garden with a pet pig! Barrydale is a nice area and central to quite a few places to visit and Tradouw guest house makes a good base to stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank OceanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Leon and Denis were wonderful hosts at their lovely rustic guesthouse filled with interesting antiques. Leon has a collection of records which he will play for special guests on one of his old stereos. I needed an explanation from Leon about the medicine circle they have in the extensive garden across the road. This used to be a residence for school children.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meme532014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at Tradouw Guesthouse as part of a tour through the region and what a little treasure. Leon and Dennis were such brilliant hosts. There is a small bar that is only for guests, Dennis cooked for us while Leon entertained us. They are truly passionate about their accommodation and even though it's simple - it is done with love. I would stay here again and recommend it to everyone I know!

Room Tip: I saw 4 of the rooms and they were all decorated differently but gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kipa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The Tradouw Guesthouse is situated in the heart of this small town. You can reach restaurants by feet without walking more than 5minutes.

The guesthouse is surrounded with a big garden, lots of flowers and some cute, running chicken.

Our room was comfortable and clean. If you like hiking, they can give you advice for some nice trails. Leon even drove us to the starting point, a couple of km away.

We can recommend a stay at Tradouws! For dinner, go to the Bistro Blues and on Wednesdays to Clarke of the Karoo!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mhugento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

What a lovely little guest house! We loved the cozy bedrooms, leafy outdoor breakfast area, quaint bar and fabulous company! Dennis and Leon were more than hospitable, showing us the downtown sights and restaurants in Barrydale. We miss Priscilla and hope she is doing well in Barrydale. I am sure those little chicks are almost full grown now. A must on your Little Karoo trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeatherHHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

What a warm welcome by Dennis and Leon, they just make you feel home staight away. I visited with my friend Buddy who already came here before several times. The house and the garden are so beautifully decorated and the breakfast served in the backyeard is very delicious! A must when coming to the nice little town of Baridale!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dolorenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Like many, many other people who return to this guesthouse again and again, this was a repeat visit. This time we were able to stay a few days & this was still not enough time to do all the great things Leon suggested! One could spend a good four or five days here and still find plenty to do, especially if you use the place as a base for exploring the Klein Karoo.There are also a few excellent wineries nearby, as well as some truly outstanding restaurants.The guesthouse is looking as delightful as ever - Leon and Dennis did some subtle refreshing of the place since our last visit, but Tradouw Guesthouse remains as full of quirky, comfortable charm as ever. And Leon and Dennis are the warmest, kindest hosts imaginable, full of love for their guesthouse and the charming little town in which it sits. And it is very reasonably priced, though for visitors from abroad like us, it is truly outstanding value. Still our favourite ever B & B in all the countries we have visited!

Room Tip: All rooms are great but the garden rooms are particularly lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lavalampboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrydale
0.9 mi away
Karoo Art Hotel
Karoo Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barrydale
354 reviews
16.4 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.7 mi away
The Karoo Moon Motel
The Karoo Moon Motel
#3 of 6 in Barrydale
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sorgvry - House of Guests
Sorgvry - House of Guests
#2 of 6 in Barrydale
34 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Whitehouse
The Whitehouse
#4 of 6 in Barrydale
7 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barrydale Karoo Lodge
Barrydale Karoo Lodge
#4 of 8 in Barrydale
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradouw Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradouw Guest House

Address: 46 Van Riebeeck Street, Barrydale 6750, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Barrydale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Barrydale
Price Range: £36 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tradouw Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tradouw Guest House offers value for money comfortable rustic private and quiet en-suite bedrooms for overnight or longer stays. Quoted rates are for bed only with full breakfast optional, thereby giving guests the choice of not having breakfast should they wish to sleep in late, or enjoy breakfast at one of the many restaurants in Barrydale. The building, dates back to the late 1800s and was once the local trading store in the town. Situated in the charming village of Barrydale just off the now famous Route 62. There are 6 bedrooms outside the main house, four with a small bathroom with shower opening onto a vine covered courtyard and two larger queen bedded rooms with private patio and en suite shower facilities opening onto a large private landscaped Garden with abundant bird life. There is a Guest Lounge with open fire place and various board games.Listen to music from Leons extensive collection of Classical, Opera, Broadway musicals and his all time favorite French singer Jacques Brel. Relax, unwind or go for a walk through our large extended indigenous gardens across the road from the guesthouse meet our family of sheep and cows and take a stroll down to the to the river. Spend some time in Barrydale and experience the Little Karoo. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing