We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at Lentelus”
Review of Lentelus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barrydale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lentelus
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at Lentelus”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had a lovely stay with friends at Lentelus Guesthouse. The setting is beautiful with a lovely lawn for children to play. The units are lovely inside and clean. Each unit has its own braai and stoep which we enjoyed a lot. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sonneke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
25
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durbanville
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Great location and services. This ideal for families, groups and friends. Room was clean. We felt at home and braai almost every night. They supply the wood and you can order braai packs. It was quite care free stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dela101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto,ON
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We spent 5 weeks in South Africa, staying mostly in B&B's and this one stands out. The separate building housing 2 units had all the modern amenities you need. A small living room overlooking the fruit orchard on this winery estate had beautiful views of the mountains. And what better welcome than a bottle of their Joubert Tradoux Syrah, a terrific red from their own vineyard.
We had lots of fun at breakfast with Helena, the owner, who regaled us with stories and fed us a beautiful meal.
Every once and awhile you hit a relaxing, refined place that's good for your soul. This is it. Only sorry we could stay one night.

Room Tip: Upstairs unit has a balcony overlooking the orchard and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
344 reviews
330 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had a great stay at Lentelus and can’t say enough about the friendly and welcoming reception we received. We were traveling the historical Route 62 and made Barrydale one of our stopover points and we weren’t disappointed. The guesthouse, about 10km west of Barrydale, is set in a stunning garden area overlooking the verdant orchards and vineyards. Lots of trails and roads to explore on the farm, making for a nice walk or run. The hosts are super friendly and made us feel very welcome.

The guest house comprises a roomy 2-storey building with 1unit upstairs and 1 unit down. The upstairs unit has a big sunny balcony that is great for soaking up the morning sun as you sip your coffee and admire the view. The rooms are spacious, light and airy with a nice sitting area and separate bedroom, spotlessly clean and well-maintained. The bed was very comfy and we had a very restful night’s sleep, no disturbing noises whatsoever, then being awakened in the morning by the birds singing outside. The breakfast, served in the beautiful garden area, was superb – lots of fruit, yogurt, cereal and eggs made to order.

We had a great stay here and would highly recommend it to anyone passing through Barrydale. We would definitely stay here again given the opportunity.

Room Tip: Ask for the upstairs unit - beautiful balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is an absolute gem! One is transported to another reality here. Nestled in an old pear orchard, in full bloom at the time of our visit, our senses were immersed in birdsong and the smell if spring. Out of every one of the over-sized windows a different view captivates. The interior and design of the accommodation is luxurious and bespoke.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meerwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We (2 couples) arrived tired and cold at Lentelus after a long day in the saddle of our motorcycles to the friendly welcome by Helena. After showing us to our warm and comfortable rooms, we settled to enjoy the beautifull sunset and mountain views from the deck. Helena arrives with a bottle of Joubert Tradoux Syrah and a few minutes later with a plate of snacks. To top it all she hand me her car keys saying "you will need transport for dinner".

The delicious breakfast ( the stewed apples was njam njam) and friendly chat with Helena and husband Jacobus brought our stay to an end. We will definately be back in season to pick our own fruit.

Room Tip: Top room with lovely views from the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heinrich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Energetic Helena runs this wonderful small B&B on the farm, providing a wonderful base for our three-day stay in the Barrydale with her warm and welcoming hospitality.
The self-designed separate guest house, nestled behind orchards, was an unexpected piece of modern, almost mediterranean-style architecture. The studio was very well laid-out and we loved our little veranda in the back of the ground floor apartment.
The yummy breakfast was served in the beautiful garden behind the main house. All was fresh and tasty and the conversations with Helena made for an interesting and entertaining start to the day before exploring the area.
We also loved the lunch and the wine tasting on the actual farm, a bit further down the road.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topo012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrydale
15.0 mi away
Karoo Art Hotel
Karoo Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barrydale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
23.8 mi away
Mymering
Mymering
#1 of 12 in Ladismith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
23.4 mi away
Koedoeskloof Country Lodge
Koedoeskloof Country Lodge
#4 of 7 in Ladismith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
The Karoo Moon Motel
The Karoo Moon Motel
#3 of 6 in Barrydale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
14.7 mi away
Sandy's Place
Sandy's Place
#1 of 8 in Barrydale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
14.9 mi away
Sorgvry - House of Guests
Sorgvry - House of Guests
#2 of 6 in Barrydale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lentelus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lentelus

Property: Lentelus
Address: Route 62, Barrydale 6750, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Barrydale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Barrydale
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing