We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch”

The Jam Tarts Barrydale
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Barrydale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT: The Jam Tarts Barrydale has a whole new look. New thin crust pizzas in our wood fired oven. Mina's famous Malay lamb curry; Venison and chicken pies; famous baguettes; Bobotie. We are fully licensed and as a result make fabulously naughty milkshakes. We look forward to giving you a friendly Karoo welcome.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

These days Barrydale boasts some pretty good cooking, but Jam Tarts - one of the original food places in this lovely little town - remains wonderful. We had an utterly delicious lunch there a few days ago: fresh ingredients put together in really interesting ways and lovely warm staff, including the owner who recognised us from a previous visit to Barrydale some 18 months previously. How's that for service? An absolute must for lunch on Route 62!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lavalampboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    54
    8
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to stop.”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stopped here weary after a very long journey. Not to be missed. Food was great, place was clean and staff were lovely. Terri who runs it could not have been more charming and gave us lots of good tips for our journey ahead. Ignore bad reviews - a great place to stop and relax for a couple of hours.
.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stopped for a quick bite on our way to Cape Town. We were greatly disappointed and I will not recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnelieDirker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kloof, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Funky stop”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Lunch was a must so tried Pizza - good value and Lemon Meringue Pie - Excellent..

overall pleasant service and good value for money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 498Graham64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gracious hosts and great food!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Thank you for hosting the ladies of Rape Crisis Cape Town Trust during our community visit in Barrydale! You greeted us with such warm hospitality and amazing food, we almost didn't want to leave!

If you were ever passing by The Jam Tarts Restaurant, make sure to call in and grab a bite to eat! Our recommendation would be every pizza on the menu and the delicious selection of cakes that we could not get enough of! Terri, Joan and all the staff at Jam Tarts are such welcoming people and it was lovely to see local businesses being enthusiastic in their support for our campaign and the change that we are trying to achieve in the area.

Once again, many thanks! You guys are great and next time we're in the area, we'll be sure to drop by!

Love,
The Rape Crisis ladies

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meladybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Jam Tarts Barrydale also viewed

Barrydale, Overberg District
Barrydale, Overberg District
 
Barrydale, Overberg District
Barrydale, Overberg District
 

Been to The Jam Tarts Barrydale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing