We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Freaky yet amazing experience”
Review of Warmwaterberg Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barrydale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Warmwaterberg Spa
Pretoria
Level Contributor
357 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Freaky yet amazing experience”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This is the second oldest hot springs resort is South Africa. What makes this resort unique is that much of the original buildings, swimming pools and spas are still in use. Do not expect a modern resort. The purpose of your stay is to experience a historical hot spring.

Although wooden cabins are available I suggest that you book well in advance to stay in the old Sanatorium. The Kitchen converted self-cater unit is the best. Toilets are shared but bathrooms are allocated per room. Bathrooms are not en suite but are NOT shared.

Baths are old sunk cement baths used in hospitals during the 19th century. Its old. Dont expect a modern spa bath-you will be disappointed. Although bathing in the hospital bath feels freaky at first the experience becomes amazing.

The restaurant serves HUGE (VERY HUGE) portions at extremely low prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mario1547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    39
    18
    11
    11
See reviews for
32
32
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Warmwaterberg is a beautifull setting. It has a lot of potential, but sadly the owners are not looking after their investment. I have travelled allover and seen interesting places. I have never had the opportunity to stay in such a dirty place. If you want value for your money, do'nt even think of staying here, just stop take pictures and move on.

Room Tip: Can not give tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank corrie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barrydale hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
South Africa
Level Contributor
133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We have been camping and caravaning at Warmwaterberg for many years and although it is very basic it has a charm all of its own with 2 hot water pools and 1 cold water pool. There are peacocks on the property which make it very much a farm sort of atmosphere but the views over the hills and surrounding mountains are amazing. There is a restaurant/coffee shop on site which serves delicious meals and a bar with views that stretch for ever. If you are looking for peace and tranquility and dont mind basic facilities, then this is your place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PonkySouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Warmwaterberg is set in an incredible location. However, the "spa" and accommodation is incredibly basic. Shared bathrooms, old rooms, average cleanliness, and mediocre service. It feels like a very expensive hostel. We suggest continuing on to Outshoorn and staying at one of the Ostrich palaces that's been converted to a B and B.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tangointahiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We originally discovered this little Karoo gem about ten years ago and since then we have recommended it often and frequented it ourselves. Our February 2011 visit was the first two nights of a planned three-week long road trip exploring the Route 62 and the Garden Route.

Warmwaterberg Spa is a hot mineral spring situated between Barrydale and Ladismith. The spa offers self-catering accommodation in old farmhouse buildings dating back to the 19th century, timber chalets and some parked caravans. The Lapa has a restaurant offering country fare and a bar. There are three outdoor pools, two hot and one cold. The temperature in the pools varies from 25 to 42 degrees C. For those who would like to explore the vast outdoors, there is a hiking trail on the property as well as drives to nearby mountains and town.

We need to make it very clear that this resort owns the words ‘rustic’ and their affordable pricing should be the very fist clue that you will not be getting warm towel railings and your bed will only be turned down in the evening if you do it yourself.

Surrounded by magnificent landscapes of rolling hills and mountains that turn into watercolor blues and purples in the evenings, the chief experience here is the hot mineral water; this is tested and rated by Swiss labs alongside that of Baden Baden in Germany.

We find Warmwaterberg Spa the ideal place to get away from the 'rat race' and relax in the amazing mineral water. We recommend a minimum of a three day stay if you want to see obvious positive effects of the mineral water on your skin and hair. The accommodation may be rustic but the place has always been clean and tidy.

Room Tip: Request a room with a private Roman Bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank roadtravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We stayed in one of the wooden cottages, it was horrible, for starters there was no hot water to shower with and we were not warned of this, it was very dirty, one would expect a little more for the price that you are paying. The restaurant had the most amazing food and the bar was excellent, but there must be a problem with either the water or something there because everyone had the runs, we had terrible stomach aches and pains, and it was horrible, everyone was puking everywhere.
But it was not the food, It might have been the water.
I would not like to return to that place, me and my husband were really shocked by what we got for that price and we were rudely awoken by the duty manager who was shouting and swearing next door about some people who were rude to him. We noticed him being the duty manager as he was shouting over and over - I am the duty manager and they cant speak to me like that etc.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SamCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Unfortunately our visit to the Spa was not memorable. The Langeberg parked home was dirty and old and not a place where I would want to stay. I am only too pleased that my baby hadn't started crawling yet - it was really dirty! Facilities below average. Table tennis bats terrible, shop - counter service and you can't see what you want. We ended up leaving a day early.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrydale
14.1 mi away
Karoo Art Hotel
Karoo Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barrydale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
44.8 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
44.7 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
The Karoo Moon Motel
The Karoo Moon Motel
#3 of 6 in Barrydale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Cow Barn
Blue Cow Barn
#3 of 8 in Barrydale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
13.8 mi away
Sandy's Place
Sandy's Place
#1 of 8 in Barrydale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warmwaterberg Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warmwaterberg Spa

Property: Warmwaterberg Spa
Address: R62, Barrydale 6750, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Barrydale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Barrydale
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warmwaterberg Spa is a hot mineral spring situated between Barrydale and Ladismith on the R62 from Cape Town to Oudtshoorn. The spa offers self catering accommodation in old farm house buildings dating back to the 19th century, timber chalets sleeping 4 – 8 persons and some parked caravans. The kiosk is stocked with basic provisions and the bottle store stocks local wines. The Lapa has a restaurant offering country fare and a bar. There are three outdoor pools, two hot and one cold. The temperature in the pools varies from 25 to 42 degrees C. For those who would like to explore the vast outdoors, there is a hiking trail on the property as well as drives to nearby mountains and town. Here we offer you country hospitality at a slow pace, tranquility, wide open spaces and steaming hot water to restore body, mind and soul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Warmwaterberg Hotel Barrydale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing