We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect escape from city life”
Review of Bronze Grove

Bronze Grove
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barrydale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bronze Grove
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This place is the perfect escape from the busy city life. My wife and I stayed at River Ikhaya and we had a great time. Everything was perfect, from the setting of the house, to the attention to detail inside the house. We will definitely be heading back there soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

Idyllic, Epic and Breathtaking are just three words to describe this tranquil gem of the Klein Karoo. In writing this review, I risk exposing one of SA's best kept secrets. My partner and I did not even budge from the property for two days as we soaked up the sun, finished entire books, braid outdoors and just submitted to the rural surrounds. The experience left us both completely relaxed and rejuvenated and ready to tackle the onslaught of the Christmas Season madness. Beautifully equipped, with every item you will need to make you stay completely comfortable. A home away from home.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Garth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic long weekend at Bronze Grove - we stayed at River Indlu and really had a great time. The farm eggs and port that were left for us were a nice touch. It is really quiet and relaxing - and the stars are incredible!

Room Tip: River Indlu has two bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank butt80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We found the River Ikhaya to be a great little hideaway. The staff (Koos and Marie) were very friendly and really went out of their way to ensure that we saw all that the farm had to offer. Marie's flower arrangements were a very nice touch.

I would recommend the olives. Wish we had gone there is the heat of summer as we may have been forced to have a swim in the river then. You must try the Blue Cow in Barrydale for lunch (you must have dessert), Swellendam has a pretty good supermarket (and the best Checkers I have ever seen) if you want to stock up for the weekend.

The Mystic Tin (dinner) and the Oude Kombuis (breakfast or lunch) are worth the effort in Montague.

Room Tip: The River Ikhaya sleeps 2 and the other one (can't remember the name) sleeps 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicklongley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

What a perfect place! After a warm welcome by Koos and Marie, they showed us the really beautiful River Ikhaya house. The place is romantic and it's decorated very beautifully with an eye for detail. We felt at home and spend some wonderful nights on the terrace. In the morning the cows joined us for breakfast. Bronze Grove is a place to remember and to get back to!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonicaC1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We had a lovely overnight stay at Ikhaya. The cottage is just perfect, with a lovely setting close to the river and views of the surrounding mountains. The cottage is simply but beautifuly furnished with such nice attention to detail including a small carafe of sherry as a welcome! Its situation is beautifully peaceful but not far from Barrydale, perhaps 3km at most so if you werent in the mood to selfcater, near enough to the restaurants of Barrydale. We just wish we could have spent more time to enjoy some hikes in the area which I'm sure are well worth doing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marianne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We are so happy to have found this little peace of heaven on a route we so often travel and will definately make this one of our regular stops! Friendly staff lead you thro a valley to a cottage perched on a small hill overlooking a river and the magestic mountain range beyond! The cottage is perfectly equipped and extremely comfortable - lovely stone and rock bath - deep with plenty of hot water! We love sitting on the terrace listening to the wind in the trees and the river rushing by. Perfect stay in every way! We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaynie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrydale hotels
0.2 mi away
Karoo Art Hotel
Karoo Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barrydale
356 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Karoo Moon Motel
The Karoo Moon Motel
#3 of 6 in Barrydale
29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandy's Place
Sandy's Place
#1 of 8 in Barrydale
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Whitehouse
The Whitehouse
#4 of 6 in Barrydale
7 reviews
0 mi away
Plaas Wegbreek
Plaas Wegbreek
#5 of 8 in Barrydale
7 reviews
0 mi away
Blue Cow Barn - Boutique Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bronze Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bronze Grove

Address: 2km From R62/R364 Intersection | Tradouw Pass, Barrydale 6750, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Barrydale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Barrydale
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing