We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprise on R62”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ronnie's Sex Shop

Ronnie's Sex Shop
Ranked #7 of 16 Restaurants in Barrydale
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, American
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Surprise on R62”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We had heard of Ronnies from other friends, but stumbled upon it quite by accident one Sunday morning. The view, the signs, all the wallgraffiti, shirts, forein notes and the varous lingerie items make it a bar with a lot of character and history. The food options are limited, but well prepared, affordable and quite tasty. Some drinks are pricey, but the standard choices are all well priced. All in all, a nice pit stop.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Engela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    38
    26
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A must to stop on Route 62”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We had been told about this place by South African friends, and the story about how it came about is very entertaining. Ronnie himself is a real character. We stopped only for coffee as we were on a long drive to our next destination, but it was well worth it for the 'free' entertainment of looking at the graffitti and underwear left by other visitors! As others have said, it is NOT a sex shop, so family friendly during the day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pob-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast, Great Stories, Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Pulling over for breakfast is usually done at a reputable fast food chain. But the Famous Ronnie's sex shop from now on will always be on the list if driving the majestic R62 in Sout Africa. Great service. We had a delicious breakfast. Friendly staff who are always willing to tell you a story or two. And we were lucky enough to actually meet Ronnie and hear how the place started out. i can now say i've been there, done that and literally got the T-shirt.

Note for the Ladies. Pack an extra pair of underwear and join the tradition of having them hung up above the bar.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anees M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
380 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Must stop here for a visit! NOT a sex shop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

We were driving through the Karoo when we came across Ronnie's Sex Shop and we just had to stop in for a look.

There's a bar area with lots of bras and bikinis hanging up that people have donated over the years. It's a very quirky bar. We stopped for a beer and then we sat outside and had a burger and chips.

The staff/owners are very nice and they strike up a conversation with you.

It was a bit surreal coming across a place like this in the middle of the Karoo and nothing else around for miles. That added to the mystique.

Drop in if you happen to be passing, it's not far from Barrydale.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vazbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluebell Hill Village,Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“make a great musical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Just a great experience and something you must do before you expire.It just lifts the Soul.especially the Bearsted golf club badge on the optics ....have a look!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HarryS73_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ronnie's Sex Shop also viewed

Barrydale, Overberg District
Barrydale, Overberg District
 
Barrydale, Overberg District
Barrydale, Overberg District
 
Barrydale, Overberg District
 

Been to Ronnie's Sex Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing