We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blommenberg Guest House
Ranked #4 of 11 Clanwilliam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Nice central place. Mattresses were just way too cheap. We stayed two nights but the not because of them. The operators/owners were nice folks who tried there best. Breakfast was nice and well organized. A great three star place.

Great location if looking for the Protea Seedeater / Protea Canary.

Room Tip: Bedding was not the best. Location and friendliness of staff made up for a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

Blommenberg is the typical B&B. The rooms are OK. Nothing fancy but good.
The breakfast is basic. The service as well. It is a good location for a 2-3 nights stay.
Recommendation by the receptionist for restaurants in Lamberts Bay and Clanwilliam very good.
Staff is very freindly and helpful if needed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmun1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

On a trip to see the spring flowers in August 2013 we spent a very comfortable and most enjoyable night at this ideally situated B&B.
As you enter Clanwilliam it is situated on the right hand side making it very easy to find. The parking is ideal and the layout of the B&B is very attractive, with rooms situated around a sparkling pool. Though we had a very hot day , the water was still too cold to enjoy the pool unfortunately but it should be superb in the summer !
The room was spacious and well appointed with one of the most comfortable and best linen experienced on our trip.
There is also a well stocked bar fridge in the room ( operated on an honesty system ) and the usual other amenities including air-con and a ceiling fan.. The flat screen TV is also well positioned for watching TV from bed !
The bathroom was adequate as well and in particular the shower was spacious , worked well and there was plenty of hot water.
The breakfast served here was another highlight of our stay !! The selection and amount of food available was superb and the service provided in the dining room – top class ! You will see a photos of the breakfast menu which I have posted with this review.
We look forward to visiting here again !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billdelange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We just returned from a brief, impromptu trip to the Cederburg mountains and stayed at the Blommenberg Guest House in Clanwilliam.
First off, if you arrive in June-August be prepared that much of the accommodation in town will be closed and if you arrive on a Sunday, as we did, be prepared not to find any place to eat--all closed. That being said, since we naively arrived with no reservations we were lucky and relieved to have found the Blommenberg not only open but extremely accommodating. The owner immediately offered us a nice family room, found us a delicious home-cooked restaurant open to have lunch near a fantastic hiking trail across the Puikpass and offered to make us a real South African Braai that evening when we return. What could be better?
The braai was amazing and the owners stayed with us and chatted all evening. The power was out in the region for the whole day and we were a bit concerned about being cold at night with no heat, but they gave us loads of extra blankets, oil lanterns and flashlights. Our kids will never forget it!!
It isn't 5 star luxury but it is clean and super friendly and in an excellent location to visiting the area. It wasn't pool weather when we were there but there is a nice courtyard pool to swim in and the rooms have aircon which apparently is good since it gets really hot in the summer.
The breakfast was also excellent, with lots of items to chose from--hot and cold.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were in a family room on the road side. It was a bit noisy in the morning from road traffic which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kleiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This was a handy place to stay, not far off the N7. Room was well furnished and clean. We were en route to Namibia, so it was purely a stop-over. We didn't try any of the facilities. Breakfast was plentiful and good. Jean Pierre was very helpful about recommending places to eat (although watch out for the Friday evening market if you're heading for the Clanwilliam Hotel - the street area is closed off).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We have stayed in Clanwilliam before but this was definately a much better experience than the last time! We really enjoyed our stay! Jean Pierre, a member of the family who own the guest house was most helpful and very attentive. My husband enjoyed swimming in the pool and sitting in the peaceful garden was delightful. We stayed for three nights and the breakfasts were most enjoyable. We will return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jchapelr0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay if you want to stop over in Clanwilliam.
It is like a little oasis in the town, with a beautiful inner courtyard, with pool and plenty of shaded sitting areas. We enjoyed staying, and think the poor review we saw much have stayed at another place (it is not expensive and in no way disappointed)! The bedrooms were clean and very well appointed too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road. Although the road is really quet anyway!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clanwilliam hotels
0.4 mi away
Clanwilliam Hotel by Country Hotels
0.5 mi away
Saint du Barrys
Saint du Barrys
#1 of 11 in Clanwilliam
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellow Aloe Guest House
Yellow Aloe Guest House
#2 of 11 in Clanwilliam
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
de Pakhuys
de Pakhuys
#2 of 22 in Clanwilliam
165 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ndedema Lodge
Ndedema Lodge
#3 of 11 in Clanwilliam
69 reviews
13.6 mi away
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blommenberg Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blommenberg Guest House

Address: 1 Graafwater Road, Clanwilliam 8135, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Clanwilliam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Clanwilliam
Price Range: £71 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blommenberg Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blommenberg Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing