We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic stay in a beautiful setting, hospitality far above just authentic Karoo at it 's best!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in De Rust
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Die Gat Guest House
Ranked #3 of 6 De Rust B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fantastic stay in a beautiful setting, hospitality far above just authentic Karoo at it 's best!”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

This is a very beautiful interior and cool shady garden filled with surprising water features and filled with flowers. Meals are served in 5-star setting. Table setting is not likely to be repeated by anyone regardless of rating which matches the quality. The ambience from minute of arriving is 5-star and sets expectations high. Well recommended and may very well result in a repeated visit.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
newbury
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

What a hidden gem! Beautiful place with good old fashioned South African hospitality and value for money. Susanne gave us a great welcome, personal service at its best. Excellent home cooking for both dinner, where husband Anton was an attentive host, and breakfast all served in elegant surroundings. Garden and pool area is a green oasis with lovely bird life. Stay a while don't rush through.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingtutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHB
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We only stayed one night at "Die Gat" and of all our travels in 30 years this guesthouse will remain one of our most enjoyable. It is a living museum of lovingly collected memorabilia in a 200 year old family farmhouse that has been beautifully and authentically restored to all it's former glory. The gardens are no less spectacular. True small town hospitality and courtesy are combined to welcome you to this treasure. Susan is an accomplished chef and she and Anton maintain an impeccable standard throughout. This is a 5 star establishment masquerading as a 4 star. It is not to be missed.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MOYENI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

The combination of setting, rooms and service marks Die Gat out as somewhere very well worth visiting if you are anywhere near. I can only agree with the previous two reviewers' comments about the food and Anton and Susan's attention to detail. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite, a self contained beautifully furnished cottage with an uninterrupted view over the surrounding countryside. If I had any concern it was worrying about where to put my morning cup of tea down without disturbing any of the tastefully arranged period decorations!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank njohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Uniquely furnished in early 20th Century traditional style with tremendous attention to detail. This attention to detail was further reflected to extraordinary food for breakfast and evening meal of exceptional quality and magnifcently presented. Anton joined us for dinner and was hugely informative about the area and South Africa more generally. Susan gave us a lot of time over breakfast and was fascinating to listen to. Quite simply this is the most sensational guest house we have ever stayed in. Worth visiting South Africa just to stay here. Our one night with our South African friends should have been extended if it had been possible. The area is delightful for walking, driving and sightseeing. The Museum in nearby Oudtshoorn is worth a visit and excellent example of a community wishing to talk about its past.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PRO123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2009

We stayed at Die Gat near the small village of De Rust for one night. It was a last minute arrangement - the booking made in the afternoon of our stay, yet it was one of the best B&B's of our trip and we wished we could've stayed longer because it was such a fantastic place.

The farmstead is an historical building and the surrounding gardens are magnificent. In the dry Karoo - this lush paradise was quite amazing to find. Susan (the owner) is able to maintain this wonderful garden and surroundings due to a constant water source on the property. The plants, the trees, the birdlife, and the garden 'decor' are truly remarkable. There are a number of chairs, benches and tables throughout the garden to sit and admire the view and the beauty.

The rooms are exquisite - very comfortable, large and the decor is special with many antiques and interesting objects.

The breakfast was absolutely marvellous. The presentation, the freshness, the tastiness, the choice were all completely excellent. I have since heard that the dinners are also legendary.

The owners are friendly and helpful and really provide a first class establishment. Out of the 14 b&b's we stayed during our month's trip - this was the only one that washed our car......(they observed that it was rather dirty after 6000kms and told one of their staff to wash it - we did not even have to request it...now that is service as it should be...!)

An absolute gem of a find - I would highly recommend it for a truly wonderful stay in every respect.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Av v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these De Rust hotels
0.0 mi away
Housemartin Guest Lodge
Housemartin Guest Lodge
#1 of 6 in De Rust
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meijer's Rust
Meijer's Rust
#2 of 8 in De Rust
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olivier's Rust
Olivier's Rust
#1 of 8 in De Rust
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Die Malvahuisie B & B
Die Malvahuisie B & B
#5 of 6 in De Rust
14 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Die Gat Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Gat Guest House

Property: Die Gat Guest House
Address: Middelplaas, De Rust 6650, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > De Rust
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in De Rust
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing