We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Die Gat Guesthouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Die Gat Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in De Rust
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Die Gat Guest House
Ranked #3 of 6 De Rust B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Die Gat Guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Thank you for an absolute wonderful stay. The attention to detail in everything just kept on surprising us. We were exceptionally comfortable and not only was there a fireplace with a lit fire on our arrival, but there was a heater, aircon and electric blankets too! I must congratulate Susan on probably the best breakfast I have ever had. What an imaginative and beautifullly presented breakfast served in the sumptuous dining room. We will definitel be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Thank you Susan, for taking such loving care of your property. From the moment we drove through the gates, it was just so obvious that you love what you do and that you care for your guests comfort. Breakfast's were fantatstic and prepared with care and detail - pity we didn't get the chance to do dinner with you, we know it would have been fantastic. We will definately be back to visit again. Take care and keep well, Cliff & Lea

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffordH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

A museum-like bedroom and inviting swimming pool set in lovely grounds. But the highlight has to be the food, splendidly cooked and most beautifully presented by Susan, with insightful and fascinating conversation from Anton. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

I didn't stay the night here, but I did have some amazing food and service. The owners are fantastic and are extremely friendly.

The location is absolutely beautiful, doesn't even like South Africa anymore - I though it had a bit of a European appeal to it which is different for a change.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank devsterl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

What a beautiful place - the farm ambience, 5* rooms and meals. The attention to detail from the rooms through the garden to the table setting. Susan is such a creative woman. The dinner table as well as the meal was superb! Breakfast was also a feast. I felt like a queen. Close to a beautiful little village called De Rust.
We will go back!
Thank you Anton and Susan.

Room Tip: The excutive suite is fantastic with spa-bath, big shower, lovely big room and on the end of the uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetravel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

This is a very beautiful interior and cool shady garden filled with surprising water features and filled with flowers. Meals are served in 5-star setting. Table setting is not likely to be repeated by anyone regardless of rating which matches the quality. The ambience from minute of arriving is 5-star and sets expectations high. Well recommended and may very well result in a repeated visit.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbury
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

What a hidden gem! Beautiful place with good old fashioned South African hospitality and value for money. Susanne gave us a great welcome, personal service at its best. Excellent home cooking for both dinner, where husband Anton was an attentive host, and breakfast all served in elegant surroundings. Garden and pool area is a green oasis with lovely bird life. Stay a while don't rush through.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingtutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these De Rust hotels
0.0 mi away
Housemartin Guest Lodge
Housemartin Guest Lodge
#1 of 6 in De Rust
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olivier's Rust
Olivier's Rust
#1 of 8 in De Rust
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meijer's Rust
Meijer's Rust
#2 of 8 in De Rust
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Die Malvahuisie B & B
Die Malvahuisie B & B
#5 of 6 in De Rust
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Die Gat Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Gat Guest House

Property: Die Gat Guest House
Address: Middelplaas, De Rust 6650, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > De Rust
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in De Rust
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing