We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in De Rust
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
De Rust View Guest House
Ranked #2 of 6 De Rust B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An absolute gem”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

On a two week tour, staying in some appetising looking places, we didn't have this stopover down as a particular highlight - stupid us.
A wonderfully spacious room with a huge private deck offering the most breathtaking views greeted us. The pool looks out over glorious countryside. There's another viewing deck where Ben made us a truly gourmet dinner (the marrowbone starter is a must) for next to no cost.
Wished we had booked for longer.....

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Our room Karoo View 2 was large, spacious and well decorated. The balcony was huge and private and we enjoyed a lovely evening watching the moon rise over the horizon.

Whilst this is the country we were surprised to see 3 dogs at the guesthouse, in the common areas and around the pool. If you are uncomfortable with Great Danes (like us) this isn't the place for you!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benderust1, Owner at De Rust View Guest House, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Hi!
You stayed with us about a month ago on a Sunday and we are a bit unsure of the specific circumstances of your stay, but we are profusely sorry that you were not perfectly at home.
Yes. We indeed have two great danes. We lived on a farm before moving to De Rust and yes a guesthouse isn’t the most perfect setting to have two very old dogs around. But we only had two options – putting them down or move them too.
They are not allowed in the house, but you can’t imagine how sneaky they can be! Generally guests love them, but we know it is not to everybody’s liking. We monitor the situation and if we see guests are uncomfortable with them, we put them in a large enclosure.
(Luckily you didn’t see the very old Spaniel that only wakes up when there is food around : >). But, the danes and the Spaniel don’t have much time left on earth and perhaps a year from now the only surprise that non dog-lovers will have to face is a small Jack Russell that is very concerned when some-one jumps in the pool.
Thank you so much for you kind feedback.
Kind regards,
Ben
De Rust View Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Better late than never - after our stay in October thought I better get around to posting a review and this place is well worth taking the time to do so.

We only had one night here between our stay in Addo and our next stop of Simon's Town and now wish we had stayed longer.

With magnificent views from every room, this was a highlight of our stay, made more special by Ben & Lanie-Marie and their wonderful cookery - not to mention their menagerie of pets.

The room - Karoo View 2 - was spacious, airy, clean and very, very comfortable. I didn't notice whether it had air-con (although there was a fan) or if a fridge was available or even a hairdryer - however, this was not a concern for us as we were only there on a whistle-stop visit.

I would most certainly recommend De Rust View Guest House as a much better alternative to Oudtshoorn.

Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay-and-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2013

What more can one ask for? Reasonable price. Friendly reception by your hosts. Superb hospitality. Beautiful views - yes in this case as beautiful as the internet pictures. Large rooms and in Karoo View One where we stayed, you even have a beautiful view from the bath! And the food - Ben prepared us a Cassoulet, which is a French dish with white beans. I though I hated white beans, but I had three servings. We cannot wait to visit this superb guest house again.

Tienie and Joy Cronje from Pretoria

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capetown
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We recently stayed here on our way to the Cape. What a lovely place! The biggest plus is definitely the views of this guesthouse and the friendliness of the hosts. We stayed in a family room. The only downside was that we didn't have a private entrance and the door to our room opened into the lounge shared by the guests. Our room had a beautiful bathroom and beds were very comfortable. We didn't eat our meals in the guesthouse, but we had early morning coffee. I will recommend this place if you want to sleep over in De Rust.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CapetownKoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

After a long day travelling, imagine our pleasure at finding this magnificent place to stay in a beautiful part of the world! The hosts, Ben and Lanie-Marie (not forgetting the menagerie of friendly cats and dogs!!) made us feel so welcome and our stay so comfortable, it was definitely a highlight of our trip. Thank you so much! This place is very highly recommended, it's off the main road yet very easy to find and you can easily walk down the hill into the "town". If, like us, you get there too late for dinner there you can always go to the restaurant (and bar!) with the pink elephant and partake in the simple but good food as well as attempt to drink one of their chilli shots (it'll blow your head off!) Anyway, great place, great views, fantastic breakfast - GO and stay you won't be disappointed I promise!

Room Tip: Our party stayed in 3 rooms and the best one is the one with the bath BUT (BIG BUT) they are all bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanLooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Even though it has already been four months since my new wife and I spent two nights at De Rust View, I still had to write this review as they deserve all the praise they can get. What an amazing stay. The guest house definitely has one of the most amazing views I have ever experienced (used this word with intent), especially if you are sitting in the Karoo View 1 bath with the sun setting behind the Kamanassie Mountains!

Ben was an exceptional host (Lani-Marie was away) and he is one of the best "I'm not really a chef I just enjoy cooking" I have had dinner with. Try the Springbok Pie, AMAZING!

We can't suggest a better place to stay in De Rust...truly awesome!

Room Tip: Check the website, all the rooms are well laid out! We stayed in the Karoo View 1 room...adjacent to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andri_Stander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Rust
0.3 mi away
Housemartin Guest Lodge
Housemartin Guest Lodge
#1 of 6 in De Rust
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olivier's Rust
Olivier's Rust
#1 of 8 in De Rust
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
8.1 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Meijer's Rust
Meijer's Rust
#2 of 8 in De Rust
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.3 mi away
Die Malvahuisie B & B
Die Malvahuisie B & B
#6 of 6 in De Rust
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Rust View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rust View Guest House

Property: De Rust View Guest House
Address: 1 Vrede Street, De Rust 6651, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > De Rust
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in De Rust
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Rust View Guest House offers dramatic mountain views from our viewing deck and entertainment area which has a fireplace, DSTV, bar and pool table. We have five stylish rooms - all with airconditioning - with two which have their own private deck. All the rooms have en suite bathrooms and are fitted with beautiful Italian tiles. And for hot days? A large pool where you can work on your suntan and can cool off. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing