We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farm 215 and African Horse Company”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Farm 215 Nature Retreat & Fynbos Reserve
Ranked #13 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Farm 215 and African Horse Company”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I went on a 3-day, 4 night ride with the African Horse Company. We stayed at Farm 215 on the first and last night, a jewel of a place. The ride was an experience not to be missed. Footsure, willing, dependable horses, a wonderful guide who owns and runs the AFC, scenery of astounding beauty. Challenging and highly recommendable, another unspoiled and stunningly beautiful part of the western Cape. I have done many trail rides in various parts of South Africa and Europe, this one was by far the most exhilarating, exciting and worthwhile.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    14
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
62
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Went on a two and a half hour ride with six friends and had a blast. This isn't your typical horse follow horse on a flat landscape. We went up hillsides, through streams and back down into the valleys. Never a dull moment as the scenery is breathtaking and the horsea love to trot. A must do when in town.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aline22D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Thanks for a fabulous four night stay. Amazing scenery, great food and wonderful people. A unique, top-class place to visit which has inspired us in many ways. We enjoyed seeing the area and were inspired by the way that the farm combined luxury with environmental awareness and conservation. Horse riding was very fun. We learnt a huge amount from Maarten. Thanks a million for the time you spent with us.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bikera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We actually came here in July 2011.

Once again, we had a place almost to ourselves, the benefits of travelling in South African winter!

Martin was an excellent host and provided a fine feast for the couple of nights we ate there.

We wandered around the reserve one day, Martin had provided maps of the trails and a packed lunch. We saw all the replanting work that was going on, they had experienced a brush fire a couple of years before, they are very keen on preserving the Fynbos nature of the land and have so far done an excellent job, I expect that by the time you visit it will all be regrown once again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2013

During our honeymood we spent 3 days at the Farm: a warm welcome, yummie breakfast and excellent diners. We visited 10 accomodations during our 3 weeks-trip in South Africa. Farm 215 was the most remarkable. We did horseriding and walks at the fynbos: what silence, what flowers, what colours!!
We had a room en suite with bathroom (2-persons shower!), own terrace, all like a dream.
Maarten, Natasja, Sam, Maggie and staff, thank you so much. See you all next time, for sure!

Room Tip: You can choose either a room in the mainhouse or a little bungalow on its own. Looking for nature...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wim188630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We spent five days at Farm 215 in November 2012, and we could not have found a better place to stay. We were absolutely delighted by the gorgeous and impeccable premises, the stunning surroundings, the fine quality of the food and wine, and last but not least by the remarkable kindness, helpfulness and professionalism of the entire staff. My wife and I immediately felt at home at Farm 215 and our three daughters aged 7, 5 and 3 still recall our stay there as one of the highlights of our entire journey in South Africa. Highly recommended to those who seek the best.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I am happy to write that I do not agree at all with some of the latest reviews. I stayed 2 nights at Farm215 from the 26th of December till the 28th of December and I loved every minute of it. I walked for hours at the fynbos reserve and saw so many flowers during the hike that there was no need for me to find them in a vase at my room....The next day I had a lovely horse ride and saw another part of this beautiful reserve. There was hardly time enough to enjoy the peacefulness of the place and the beautiful views so, although I am not a rich foreigner, I will definitely come back for more of that! Thanks Sam and Maarten for your friendly hospitality and Dianne for your wonderful meals!".

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank maximeAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
18.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
682 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
612 reviews
8.5 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
155 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
284 reviews
12.5 mi away
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
#1 of 12 in Stanford
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farm 215 Nature Retreat & Fynbos Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farm 215 Nature Retreat & Fynbos Reserve

Property: Farm 215 Nature Retreat & Fynbos Reserve
Address: Hartebeeskloof, Baardskeerdersbos - Overstrand | PO Box 1314, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Farm 215 Nature Retreat & Fynbos Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farm 215 is located in the Cape's undisturbed Overberg. Farm 215 offers luxury, tranquility, privacy, space, original food and exceptional floral beauty. Panoramic views over the plains towards the ocean, vineyards hugging the lake and endless mountains. Located in a pristine private nature reserve of 800 hectares, farm 215 is a shelter from the daily routines of life and a haven for the conscious traveler. Certified by Fair Trade in Tourism South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Farm 215 Nature Retreat & Fynbos Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farm 215 Nature Retreat & Fynbos Reserve South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing