We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarian food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Farm 215 Nature Retreat & Fynbos Reserve
Ranked #10 of 27 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I adore Farm 215 anyway and this was not my first and will not be my last visit either. However, I want to praise Sam for preparing a proper & balanced vegetarian meal for me. Being vegetarian and living & travelling in South Africa is not always easy. More often than not, chefs seem to believe that a good vegetarian meal consists of plenty of vegetables. Of course, fresh & nicely prepared vegetables are core to any vegetarian meal, but proteins are as important and mostly forgotten. The great surprise was that Sam did plan my vegetarian dinner properly and had a good balance between carbs, vegetables and proteins, and it was beautiful at the same time. Well done Sam, well done Farm 215!

Room Tip: Are you a hairdryer girl, chose the Homestead suites that are on the grid. Are you a nature & e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mini69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Perfect, perfect perfect! Beautiful room, beautiful landscape, amazing pool, very good service and good food and wine. The place is very special and perfect for enjoying nature and relaxing. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Priscila Salern... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I went on a 3-day, 4 night ride with the African Horse Company. We stayed at Farm 215 on the first and last night, a jewel of a place. The ride was an experience not to be missed. Footsure, willing, dependable horses, a wonderful guide who owns and runs the AFC, scenery of astounding beauty. Challenging and highly recommendable, another unspoiled and stunningly beautiful part of the western Cape. I have done many trail rides in various parts of South Africa and Europe, this one was by far the most exhilarating, exciting and worthwhile.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Went on a two and a half hour ride with six friends and had a blast. This isn't your typical horse follow horse on a flat landscape. We went up hillsides, through streams and back down into the valleys. Never a dull moment as the scenery is breathtaking and the horsea love to trot. A must do when in town.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aline22D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Thanks for a fabulous four night stay. Amazing scenery, great food and wonderful people. A unique, top-class place to visit which has inspired us in many ways. We enjoyed seeing the area and were inspired by the way that the farm combined luxury with environmental awareness and conservation. Horse riding was very fun. We learnt a huge amount from Maarten. Thanks a million for the time you spent with us.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Aileen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We actually came here in July 2011.

Once again, we had a place almost to ourselves, the benefits of travelling in South African winter!

Martin was an excellent host and provided a fine feast for the couple of nights we ate there.

We wandered around the reserve one day, Martin had provided maps of the trails and a packed lunch. We saw all the replanting work that was going on, they had experienced a brush fire a couple of years before, they are very keen on preserving the Fynbos nature of the land and have so far done an excellent job, I expect that by the time you visit it will all be regrown once again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

During our honeymood we spent 3 days at the Farm: a warm welcome, yummie breakfast and excellent diners. We visited 10 accomodations during our 3 weeks-trip in South Africa. Farm 215 was the most remarkable. We did horseriding and walks at the fynbos: what silence, what flowers, what colours!!
We had a room en suite with bathroom (2-persons shower!), own terrace, all like a dream.
Maarten, Natasja, Sam, Maggie and staff, thank you so much. See you all next time, for sure!

Room Tip: You can choose either a room in the mainhouse or a little bungalow on its own. Looking for nature...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wim188630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
7.9 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#4 of 27 in Gansbaai
188 reviews
8.5 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
9.2 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#2 of 27 in Gansbaai
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 7 in De Kelders
654 reviews
6.7 mi away
Franskraal B&B
Franskraal B&B
#9 of 27 in Gansbaai
103 reviews
8.7 mi away
On The Rocks B&B
On The Rocks B&B
#11 of 27 in Gansbaai
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farm 215 Nature Retreat & Fynbos Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farm 215 Nature Retreat & Fynbos Reserve

Address: Hartebeeskloof, Baardskeerdersbos - Overstrand | PO Box 1314, Gansbaai, Overstrand 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Overstrand > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: £130 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Farm 215 Nature Retreat & Fynbos Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farm 215 is located in the Cape's undisturbed Overberg. Farm 215 offers luxury, tranquillity, privacy, space, original food and exceptional floral beauty. Panoramic views over the plains towards the ocean, vineyards hugging the lake and endless mountains. Located in a pristine private nature reserve of 800 hectares, farm 215 is a shelter from the daily routines of life and a haven for the conscious traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Farm 215 Nature Retreat & Fynbos Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farm 215 Nature Retreat & Fynbos Reserve South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing