We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
De Kelders B&B
Nearby Hotels
Baleens(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$794
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor Hotel & Apartments(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$88
SA Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
US$227
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Pines Lodge(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Schuur(Vermont)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
31
9
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
9
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Staying with Gerhard and Alet is certainly a pleasure. Their local knowledge is great and they are so informative and helpful it saves a lot of time, particularly when they go out of their way to make bookings for boat-based whale watching and/or shark cage diving The location is absolutely superb and the views are simply stunning.
The rooms are squeaky clean and more than comfortable. The breakfast is superb.
As a tour company we'll continue to use them while in the area

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cruiselite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We have stayed with Gerhard and Alet a number of times over the past 8 years and every occasion has been a delight. The location is unparalleled. As the longest-established bed and breakfast in the area, you will not find a better authority on -- and sightings of -- whales, pods of dolphins, porcupines, mongoose, not to mention the spectacular (and only) model of the Birkenhead.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SixContinentChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed with Gerhard & Alet in October for 3 nights. It was a pleasure to stay in their beautiful home. They are such a lovely couple who are so friendly, helpful and informative and Alet arranged our whale watching boat trip which was a great experience. The view of the whales from Elmein room was fantastic - it was difficult to drag ourselves away - we didn't want to miss a moment of the "performance". Every time we looked out of the window/stepped out onto the balcony the whales were there!!! Breakfast was substantial, lots to choose from and the room was very comfortable with everything we needed. It was a shame we were only there for 3 nights. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jude0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

In November we spent 3 days at the De Kelders B&B. The wonderful guesthouse is situated on the cliff directly at the sea and is the perfect place for "relaxing with whales". A very special thanks to Alet and Gerhard, we were not like guests but more part of the family for our time there. The picnic with you down at the bench, the whales breaching directly in front of us, it was just perfect!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We're staying at this B&B right now for 2 more nights, and to be honest, it is just perfect. I am actually right now watching the whales playing only a 100m from the room. We're staying in Elmien room, it has a little balcony and is big enough.

breakfast is great with all you need. The hosts are very nice and just want the best for you. the path down to the whale viewing bench is the perfect place to start, end or even spend your day.

We would definitely come back. It is a bit noisy in the morning, but any way better to get up than staying in bed.
if you like big beds then ask for it, i am not sure if they have super king beds.

Room Tip: perfect view in the elmien room
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChaletCygnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews