We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view and great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aire del Mar Guest House
Ranked #14 of 30 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We had a lovely 2 night stay and I would definitely return. They have thought of everything and you are made to feel very welcome. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKvisitor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Aire del Mar Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

We only stayed there one night, but it was very nice to have the ocean right in front of our apartement. The welcome was a bit unfriendly but nevertheless a good place to stay on the route to cape town

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank AwesomeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I stayed at Aire Del Mar in february 2012 for 2 nights. It was certainly a very comfortable experience,home away from home feeling. I enjoyed the shower and was treated as a valued guest when I had breakfast sent to my room for my convenience. It was a pleasure to have free Wi-Fi at a self catering place. Incredible views and very safe enviroment.Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loshni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The hotel is nearby the launch point for the cage diving to see the great white sharks. You can easily walk there. There are 4 upstairs rooms which have wide open sea views and during whale season you can watch them swimming by. The beds were very comfortable and the brai in the back is open to everyone to use. I didn't know how and Rodolf showed me the ropes.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room with ocean view
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wernickejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed here for 1 night between christmas and new year,it is very conveniently located for the the harbour ,and makes it an excellent base for the for shark diving trips as is only a 5 minute walk from the harbour.
My wife and 5 yr old had a superb room looking over the ocean ,the room had a seperate single bed area seperated by a set of patio doors ,which was excellent for our daughter.
tea coffee and home made biscuits in the room ,and an honesty bar on the landing.the room was spotless and very nice, Breakfast was excellent with fruit cereal,fresh bread and a cooked breakfast as well...all made fresh to order and NOTHING was too much trouble.
at breakfast we chatted with the owner who was a mind of knowledge about the local area ,history ,sharks etc. Thank you for a very nice memorable stay .

Room Tip: No a/c but a lovely sea breeze
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CraigRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

We stayed in this guest house for one night after we had spent the day diving with great white sharks (Shark Lady). We were absolutely exhausted and frozen when we arrived, but had a fabulously warm welcome here. The room was absolutely beautiful and spotlessly clean. The view from the large windows was spectacular - within a few minutes of arriving, we spotted a southern right whale breaching! Can't get better than that! It did take us a while to warm up in the room (probably because we'd spent so much time in the water with the sharks earlier...), but there was a heater, which helped.

The shower was great and there were lovely fluffy towels. There were also coffee making facilities, some biscuits and I think a decanter of sherry (I didn't try it, so don't quote me on that!) in the room and an "honesty bar" fridge on the landing. Breakfast was excellent and we really felt welcome here.

We drove to the Lighthouse pub for dinner that night. We were the only people in there that evening - service and food were good. There are a few other restaurants in the area, all a short drive away. One of them, Ciro's, will send a car for you if you don't want to drive.

I wish we'd had another night here. If you're planning a dive with the sharks here, I'd recommend staying the night before and the night after the dive to enjoy the scenery and peace of this area. Kleinbaii is a good three hour drive from Cape Town in the morning, making it a very early start for the dive boats!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubagirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

I went to Gansbaai with my boyfriend in july to experience cage shark diving. My bf booked the premium room at Aire del mar. We paid about usd70 per nigt which we found a good price for what we got. The lady at reception was more than helpful, gave us a map and explained us all the good places to eat and hang around. The room was huge and they offered milk, tea, rusks, an jerez for free! The room was homy, clean, they left candles for us, good soft towels and warm water at all time. They even offered us a hitter for the room since it was winter time. definitely a lovely place to stay. I would definitely come back.
Roxana

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxana_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
13.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#5 of 30 in Gansbaai
410 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 30 in Gansbaai
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
On The Rocks B&B
On The Rocks B&B
#15 of 30 in Gansbaai
56 reviews
2.0 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#3 of 30 in Gansbaai
428 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aire del Mar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aire del Mar Guest House

Address: 77 Van Dyk Street | Kleinbaai, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: £49 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aire del Mar Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aire del Mar is ideally situated for viewing of the Great White Sharks. Only 2 hours’ drive from Cape Town, Aire del Mar is in the quiet and small seaside resort of Kleinbaai, near Gansbaai. Aire del Mar is walking distance from Kleinbaai harbour from where the boats leave for shark cage diving and whale watching. We offer you friendly personal service and quality accommodation in: - 5 Spacious luxury rooms, all with en suite bath rooms and balconies from which you have a spectacular unspoilt panoramic view over the bay of Dyer Island [world famous for its shark alley! ] - from Danger Point all the way around to the light house of Quoin Point in a distance. All room have coffee/tea facilities, safes, satellite TV and wall heaters. You start your day with a healthy breakfast and towards the end of the day you can enjoy sun-downers on your own balcony or in our fully licensed bar. - 3 Self-catering studios on the ground floor - with sea-view and en suite bathrooms. A small kitchenette has a microwave oven, fridge and adequate utensils to prepare and enjoy small meals, and there is a BBQ facility behind the guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aire del Mar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aire Del Mar Guest House South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing