We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“that's vacation!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gansbaai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marebella Seafront Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
haarlem
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“that's vacation!”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The rooms are comfortable including the see view.Were most helpful ans informatieve

Room Tip: there are (only) 2 rooms available; both are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frits k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    23
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
274
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheltenham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Shalene and Gerhart made us very welcome to the Marebella. Situated in the most glorious coastal location, they obviously loved the home they had built themselves and were appreciative, as we were, of the natural wonders around them. The terrace on the first floor is equally a great place to have breakfast or to enjoy a glass of South African wine at sundown.
Shalene booked 2 restaurants for us during our 2 night stay - both very good in their different ways. The room finish and furniture was maybe a bit simple considering the price, but the bed was very comfortable. We look forward to our return visit!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katyCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2012

this hotel is a special place. we were very well received, with great affection. the rooms are very comfortable, has a sea view which is simply wonderful. everything is perfect. Shalene and Gerhart thank you so much.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmaralRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We had a spectacular stay with Shalene and Gerhart who were charming hosts. They made us very welcome, were most helpful and informative. Shalene arranged two restaurants for us which were very good. We enjoyed the home particularly - a beautifully designed modern space full of wonderful art. The views from the terrace and the rooms were unbelieveably beautiful. We certainly hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We visited this lovely place because of wonderful beach and caves. Owners Shalene and Gerhard helped us to discover this beautiful spot. Worth to return. Jan

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stejskal_honza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Shalene and Gerhart are wonderful hosts and welcomed us warmly. Shalene was able to arrange a shark dive with practically no notice and recommended a nice walk along the cliffs to the beach. Gerhart recommended a local restaurant where we had one of the best meals on our vacation. Since it was not whale season, this gives us a perfect excuse to come again, this time for a longer stay. We had a beautiful room facing the sea and we were cordially invited to sit at the upstairs terrace as well where the view is even better. Since we're very interested in perhaps being in South Africa long-term, Gerhard was very informative about the expat community there and property information.

Room Tip: Two rooms available, both facing the sea with great views. Quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sequim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aesch, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

In February 2012 we spent again some memorable days with friends in the Marebella Guesthouse.
Shalene and Gerhard are the best hosts. We really feel welcome. They recommended excellent restaurants in the vicinity. The sundsets with a glass of wine on the upper patio
were unforgettable. The accommodation directly to the sea is comfortable.We will come back.
urs-i from Switzerland

Room Tip: both rooms seafront are equal quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urs s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.0 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
608 reviews
0.2 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
0.8 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
280 reviews
4.5 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#4 of 29 in Gansbaai
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marebella Seafront Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marebella Seafront Guesthouse

Property: Marebella Seafront Guesthouse
Address: 29 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious guest rooms on the seafront in De Kelders with 180 degree uninterrupted panoramic sea views of Walker Bay. Whale watching from your room and private terrace from September to the end of November. Owner-run by Gerhard and Shalene Pirker. German spoken. Free WIFI. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marebella Seafront Guesthouse South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing