We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Spot - Highly recommendable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gansbaai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marebella Seafront Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 30 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Shalene and Gerhard's guest house is something special even for SA, where one can find a lot of cosy guest houses. Direct view to the sea and the rough coastline, whales so closed by, a large terrace for every room, moderrn but cosy interior, excellent breakfast and good restaurants closed by. But most impressive was the warm and helpful hospitaly. Everything was made with love. An excellent place to stay
Gerhard und Karin G from Hamburg, Germany

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerhard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Gerhard and Karin, we are very happy that De Kelders, with its whales, the coastline and our hospitality contributed to your visit of our beautiful country. Thank you for staying with us, everything of the best to you both. Gerhard and Shalene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for Marebella Seafront Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

If you want to see whales up close and personal without getting on a boat, De Kelders is the place to go, and Marabella is the place to stay. Shalene & Gerhard could not have been nicer. There are no hotels at De Kelders. Only small B & B's and that is what we like about the place.
If you are prepared to scramble down to the rocks, perhaps get a little wet, and scramble up the rocks, you can get really close to the whales as they cruise past.
Lesley and Richard - Seattle / Vashon, WA.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

We are glad that you have chosen Marebella amongst the B&Bs here in de Kelders and that you have enjoyed our hospitality. It was great having met you both and it would be a pleasure for us if you would return one day again and enjoy the natural beauty of our region. We wish you well, Gerhard and Shalene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great place to stay and relax and enjoy the whales right in front of you! We stayed as a couple and would definitely choose Marabella again. Very friendly hosts with great tips for day trips or dinner reservations. very good breakfast. Room spacious and clean with sea view.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

It was great having met you both and have enjoyed your enthusiasm watching the whales and that you had a great time at our local restaurant. Thank you for staying with us. Gerhard and Shalene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay before our shark dive and wanted a place with a view of the ocean. The beautiful Marebella House delivered. The rooms were clean and well-maintained. The property owners, Gerhard and Shalene, are what make the trip memorable. The house is covered with great artwork by Gerhard and some of his friends. Make sure to take their restaurant suggestions for lunch and dinner, as they were all fantastic. Gerhard also has a great wine cellar that you are able to purchase from and he makes some excellent suggestions. The couple are a wealth of information about the area and if you are headed to Stellenbosch or Franschhoek, make sure to get a map from Gerhard and Shalene with their highlighted favorites. They will not steer you in the wrong direction. Unfortunately, we weren't able to do the shark dive or see whales from the balcony because of weather. Nonetheless, it was a great stay and we would recommend Marebella to anyone staying in the Gansbaai area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CESVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

We thank you very much for all your comments which you made about Marebella, our art and our suggestions where to dine and which wine estates to visit in Franschhoek and Stellenbosch. You certainly contribute to our passion to welcome guests from all over the world and to share our love for this beautiful part of South Africa. Please come back and if you do, try a little later in the year. From mid October onwards the weather promises to be more stable as summer is approaching at that time of the year. We would love you to experience a shark cage dive and enjoy the whales from the balcony. We wish you both everything of the best and we thank you for staying at Marebella. Keep well, Gerhard and Shalene.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Amazing modern house near edge of high cliff over the ocean bay, with Picassoesque art work on display and wine racks full of excellent off-brands available at reduced prices. Hosts Gerhard & Shalene were like old friends, with excellent advice on touring nearby attractions, including Cape Agulhas, the southern-most tip of Africa, and hiking to caves in the cliff near the B&B. Only disappointment was no view of whales from bedroom deck, due to rough seas. But saw them on whale-watching boat trip nearby, which Shalene will gladly arrange for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D0llyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for the compliment to the architecture of Marebella and the artwork on display. We are very proud to be associated with the artist who visited Marebella and who himself was a pupil of Picasso. We are glad that you enjoyed Cape Agulhas and the whale boat trip. Should you visit our part of South Africa again it would be a pleasure to welcome you back as friends. Keep well, Gerhard and Shalene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had a wonderful time at Marebella Guest House in De Kelders. The room was clean, spacious and equipped with loving interior. The view from our balcony as well as from the living room was just amazing!
Thanks to Gerhard and Shalene for the support in planning our trip while we stayed at Marebella. We had a great whale experience on the boat, delicious restaurant recommendations and even better suggestions for wineries in Franschhoek!
It´s really a spot to go - it´s worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for your kind words, we are very happy that you treasured your stay at Marebella and its view over Walker Bay. We always enjoy helping to plan activities in our area and help to plan routes into our magnificent wine lands. It sounds that you also had a very good time in Franschhoek. Thank you for staying with us,
Gerhard and Shalene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

What an amazing time we had at Marebella! Gerhard and Shalene were such gracious hosts it felt as though we were visiting old friends. The room was spacious and comfortable and we could watch the whales right from our balcony...literally meters away.....what more could you want? We had superb dinners at local restaurants, which were walking distance from the guesthouse...and in this beautiful, safe little town you're going to want to do some walking. This stunning guest house will see us again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Reynhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Reynhardt and Lhente, it makes us very happy, that you have embraced De Kelders so much into your heart and that you have enjoyed Marebella and our company. How wonderful it would be to see you both during your choir performance in Austria next year. We are also looking forward to welcome you back at Marebella and to the beautiful nature around us. Till then, stay well and keep your wonderful voices.
Gerhard and Shalene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
0.1 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 30 in Gansbaai
622 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
0.2 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 30 in Gansbaai
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#11 of 30 in Gansbaai
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Star Cliff
Sea Star Cliff
#1 of 2 in De Kelders
108 reviews
4.5 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#3 of 30 in Gansbaai
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marebella Seafront Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marebella Seafront Guesthouse

Address: 29 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: £79 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious guest rooms on the seafront in De Kelders with 180 degree uninterrupted panoramic sea views of Walker Bay. Whale watching from your room and private terrace from September to the end of November. Owner-run by Gerhard and Shalene Pirker. German spoken. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marebella Seafront Guesthouse South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing