We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“PERFECT LONG WEEKEND GETAWAY”

Review of Romans Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Gansbaai, Overstrand, Overberg District, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Boychick1...
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
“PERFECT LONG WEEKEND GETAWAY”
Reviewed 16 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Prior to celebrating my wife's 60th birthday at Romans Villa we had investigated many other alternatives, including Mauritius, Greece and other similar idyllic locations. So when I advised the family of Gansbaai as our chosen location you can imagine the reaction!!
How wrong could that have been. Not only is Romans Villa a mere two hours drive from Cape Town, but it is equal in every respect to some of the more luxurious establishments we have stayed in worldwide. The accommodation is world class, the location is outstanding, the views across Walker Bay with the seasonal whales was awesome and the features of the Villa and its facilities are top class.
Romans is highly recommended and, Gus, the owner, can be justifiably proud!
We hope to be back again soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2018
Thank you so much for your most awesome review of Romans Villa. We're most grateful to hear of your great experience in staying in our Villa and thank you again for your most valued support. We look forward to having you return in the summer months to enjoy the magnificence of the azure blue ocean below our home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daan E
Durbanville, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect, perfect, perfect, perfect!”
Reviewed 5 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This absolutely well equipped, organised, well designed, perfectly positioned and properly managed facility provided the perfect break away for our family of 10. Each room had a perfect view of the ocean and the pleasure of just being there did not warrant any other excursions to see lighthouses, beaches and other attractions in the area - we just stayed put! Doing it again?? - no-brainer!!
(I certify that this review is based on my own experience and is my genuine opinion of this property, that I have no relationship with this property, and that I have not been offered any incentive to write this review!! )

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2018
Dear Daan,

Thank you for this most encouraging review. I’m so pleased that you and your family enjoyed you stay. Thank you for choosing Romans Villa for your family break.

We look forward to having you return soon.

Regards,

Gus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Some say: devil is in the detail: I would say: Heaven is in the Detail”
Reviewed 11 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

What a pleasure to stay at Romans Villa with my wife and two daughters last weekend. We all felt like a spoiled Roman family in a Villa that is picture perfect. Location, amenities, finishes, comfort, views, space, privacy.
Over and above the immense attention to detail, the owner has clearly not spared any expense to create a Villa that meets the highest of standards. Finishes, equipment, furniture, lay-out, you name it.
Add a spectacular North facing setting, seeing 3 mountain ranges in the distance across the Bay, seals in the waters nearby, a secluded sandy beach just down the dune, crimson coloured skies @ sunset and one can impossibly not enjoy a great break.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2018
Dear Peter,

Thank you for your excellent review, we sincerely appreciate it.

We look forward to welcoming you and for family back soon.

Regards,

Gus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile740...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely stunning beach front Villa”
Reviewed 20 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Location Location location! beautiful surroundings, breathtaking views and the most amazing luxurious villa one could ask for. This is the place to go and just relax.! see you soon Romans Villa.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2018
Dear Paul,

Thank you for your excellent review of Romans Villa. We’re really happy to hear of your wonderful experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
archiemac...
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“Breathtaking, beautiful, relaxing and peaceful”
Reviewed 19 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This is definitely a home away from home in pristine condition with every need taken into careful consideration. Spectacular views, heated pool, state of the art kitchen and scullery, peaceful secluded courtyard, beautiful rooms and bathrooms and a super housekeeper who takes care of everything without even knowing he is there. Amenities nearby and so much to do in the area. You don't need to worry about taking anything with you. Definitely a holiday destination I would highly recommend and certainly one of the best. Highly recommended!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2018
Dear Sue,

Thank you for your most amazing review of Romans Villa. We’re pleased that you enjoyed yourselves at our home and that you found everything to be of the quality and standard that you’d expected.

We look forward to having you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dewaldkle...
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“Breathtakingly beautiful and tranquil”
Reviewed 11 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Spent the weekend there was greated with a very friendly and always smilling Lucky and shown around the Beautiful house, with great finishing touches. It was everything we could have asked for. The kids had so much fun, and enjoyed hours of fun in the pool, while mom and dad layed back and enjoyed the breathtaking views. I wished this weekend would not come to an end.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2018
Dear Dewald,

Thank you for your excellent review of Romans Villa. We're really glad that you and your family enjoyed yourselves and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyK179...
1 review
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 11 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Beautiful house. Most relaxing stay. Awesome sea views. Everything is catered for your stay. Awesome to wake up to the sound of the waves crashing on the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2018
Dear Tracy,

Thank you for your excellent review of Romans Villa. We're delighted that you and your family had a lovely stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing