We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Star Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea Star Lodge
Ranked #12 of 30 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
258 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay. I agree with the critic on the honeymoon suite as well as the overall conditions of the lodge. The bath tap was not working and the shower ran for a long time to get the bath filled. We were informed of this upfront. There are cracks everywhere but I believe renovations are planned for this month. The staff, Katiwe & Blessed, gave us excellent service. We found the view awesome. The electric fire place was not working and no English instructions to use the fancy Nespresso coffee machine. We still had a wonderful stay though and would like to go back after the renovations. On the breakfast - I have had much better breakfast at B&B's that are not as pricey. Out of luck with the whales on the day we were there.

Room Tip: We "upgraded" to the honeymoon suite as it was a lot bigger. But the bath tap does not wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ecsonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    35
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
29
191
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

1stly no signs for directions from the main road, water in the honey moon suit that i paid R1450 in winter was slow, property is not what you see on the advert as it's not right on the edge of the sea. Continental breakfast that they offer, they had no sausage, tomato. Building has cracks all over from bedroom to the kitchen, only 6 tv channels on a 5 * lodge, they need to visit Marmalsbery's guest houses to see an intimate with personal touch breakfast not a lot but enough for 7 - 10 guests, worst in winter, have those small ports of button mushrooms, sausage, bacon, chick liver with peppers,scramble egg etc

For R1450 in winter you need that attention to detail, which will add value in your money. Not just a room to sleep on, where staff even struggle to make fire while it's raining outside.

The view is so dissapointing as there's a road and other buildings in front of your apartment, we booked co the picks on your website shows the beach view and it was our honey moon but no welcome drinks or gifts @ all or welcome letter. So dissapointing

Room Tip: I chose a honey moon suit but water took n hour to fill a bath, only few tv charnels were playing, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinnie3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

I actually came across this lodge on trip advisor and decided to give it a try. I fell in love with the place the minute I walked in cos of the reception I got from the staff. They have the best staff ever who are passionate about hospitality. The house is morden but very homely. The rooms are neat and the view is to die for. The owner Ardi took time to meet and greet all his guests during breakfast. Too bad my stay was short. Planning to visit there again, would recommend it to anyone that travels to Hermanus.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bon3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

My friends and I had long been fascinated by whales and when planning our trip, we came across Sea Star Lodge and it fitted our kind of holiday destination. We arrived on Thursday afternoon, after the exhausting drive from Cape Town and we were welcomed by the friendliest staff. We asked for the rooms overlooking the sea and to say the view is spectacular is an understatement. The excitement of having to see the whales from our room was too overwhelming. When we got to our rooms, the beds were neat, clean and mostly comfortable. They recommended good restaurants around where we had dinner and drinks. They helped us with bookings for shark diving and also advised we visit the wine farms around. We had an amazing time!! We got lost on our way back and called Kate for directions back to the lodge and she was very patient and helpful. We had the pleasure of meeting Mr Ardi, the owner of the lodge who was very kind and welcomed us to “a home away from home”. His exact words!!!
Overall, we had a wonderful time in Gansbaai and thank Mr Ardi and his staff for their excellent service.

Room Tip: Ask for the roofTop room for an amazing view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lebogang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Thank you, thank you, thank you for a lovely experience. Your home is really warm and welcoming. We cannot wait to come back. The staff Kate and Blessed were fantastic. The owner Ardi is a perfect gentleman and being in his house and the way he interacts with guests is what every traveller needs. I wish many guest house owners were like that.

Room Tip: The rooms are really great with views of the ocean. The peace you get from just being in the room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momos988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

In our two week tour of the Western Cape we stayed in some lovely guest houses and we enjoyed them all, except for this one. Sea Star Lodge was the most expensive by far, at least 30% more than any of the other places we stayed in, including Cape Town It was also the most disappointing, and the room we were given was the smallest by a long way – and the least well maintained.
The owner(s) were not present during our stay and the house was being looked after by a caretaker ‘manager’, overly conscientious, but neither confident nor competent in the role she had been given.
The house itself seemed like a triumph of style over substance, impressive but impractical. One gets the impression that the person who designed it was not intending to live in it! It had no garden or grounds and, unlike the other places we stayed at in South Africa, this was a house without a heart, unloved and uncared for. The pool area was on the middle floor, in the shade in the afternoon and unusable when we arrived. Our tiny little room, also on the middle floor, had a poor view of the sea – severely restricted by the houses on the opposite (seaward) side of the road. The view from the dining area above was much better, but we were only encouraged to go up there at breakfast time, and even then the ‘manager’ stood over us and watched us the whole time whilst we ate our breakfast - a most disconcerting experience!
Our room was very small indeed, with no seating area and very, very limited circulation space. It had a very small balcony which overlooked the parking area and the road. There was only space in the room for one suitcase. Our second suitcase had to go on the floor and we had to step over it to get to the toilet or use the shower. The shower/wc area was separated from the room by a clear screen. We were not able to use the wash basin to wash in because the plug did not work and it could not be repaired. In the shower there was nowhere to put one’s soap or shampoo, except on the floor. There was a small safe in the wardrobe, but it had been pulled out of the wall. It lay on a shelf and was no longer secure. There was a TV and a coffee machine, neither of which worked, and there were no instructions for either. The only available electrical sockets, when we found them, were hidden behind the bedhead, or behind the wall-mounted TV which made the overnight re-charging of our phones and our camera batteries very difficult.
Despite its high standing on Trip Advisor our stay at Sea Star Lodge gave us absolutely no reason whatever to recommend it. Overall, a poor and extremely disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Avoid the middle room on the middle floor. It's tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mohud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

A great place to stay, spacious, light and comfortable. The staff were most helpful and friendly, they arranged all our dinner reservations and even a scuba diving trip for us in Hermanus. If you can, book the roof top room with the big patio.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
0.9 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 30 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
0.5 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#4 of 30 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sea Star Cliff
Sea Star Cliff
#1 of 2 in De Kelders
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.9 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#7 of 30 in Gansbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#6 of 30 in Gansbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Star Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Star Lodge

Property: Sea Star Lodge
Address: 19 Ingang Straat | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea Star Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly at the Walker Bay facing the Atlantic Ocean and the coastline of Hermanus you'll find this small exclusive lodge. At this place luxury ambiance meets genuine warmth and here you'll experience the wonders of nature in their full glory. Whether you are looking for adrenalin and decide to go on a shark cage diving trip to discover the Great White Sharks or if you decide to savour the local wines at the estates in the nearby Stanford Valley - our friendly staff would be glad to assist you with information and make your stay an unforgettable and enjoyable experience. The modern and spacious design of the lodge provides breathtaking sea views. The African arts blend in perfectly with the modern design and create a unique luxury atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Star Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Star Hotel Gansbaai
Sea Star Lodge South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing