We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very quiet and peaceful place to get away from it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Star Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Star Lodge
Ranked #12 of 30 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kraaifontein, South Africa
1 review
“Very quiet and peaceful place to get away from it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I and my wife visited the guest house for 2 days and nights. The staff are professional and always courteous. The views of the sea are amazing. We were very fortunate to observe the whales frolicking in the bay, so close to shore, it is almost unheard of. We enjoyed the hospitality of all involved. Clarissa is a professional host who is always wanting to know your needs. they are a caring lot. On the point of the TV channels, the 5 channels are enough for those people that realize they are supposed to be on a breakaway from the hustle and bustle of city life AND the 154 useless channels on DSTV which you don't need when actually trying to have a break from everything. When I wanted to watch a bit of cricket on the sport channel that was arranged so options are available on request. Thanks for the visit Ardi. Keep up the good work. Mario & Annalene.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the sea !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario de Jesus d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    36
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
32
193
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

The rooms are beautiful and very modern. The BnB has German practicality written all over. Each room has a view of the sea. We had the family room, which was nice but it had a jacuzzi right in front of the bed! That was a bit odd, but the room was comfortable and spacious and equipped with air-con and heating, fantastic nespresso coffee and tea, tv, music system, lounge chairs, two massive cupboards and a projector! Clarissa, the host, took the pain of booking all our shark cage and whale watching tours and kept up updated. We saw whales jumping and dancing from our room and that made it such a special experience. The service was quite good. Recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsicsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bracknell
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I found myself on the 1st day of staying here to be overwhelmed by small niggles, my husband 's response was to calm down and get a life. At the end of the stay I was still somewhat annoyed by shower heads that leaked, cracks in mirrors , plastic wood floors and sound bouncing of every hard surface in the house (not a single rug in the place to soak up the sound), but I do have to I was sorry to leave as most everything else was pretty fine, the views were to die for and the staff could not be beaten - anywhere.

Kindness and consideration abounds, anything you need or want is sorted almost before you can mention it. We were much entertained on our second evening when we joined other guests and staff in the lounge for chatter and sundowner and also much enjoyed the breakfasts with whale sightings given so we could all stop eating and walk out onto the balconies to view.

So overall 4 stars for the accommodation and six stars for the staff making it the five star rating they officially have.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

My 3 daughters stayed here for the weekend and they haven't stopped raving about the hospitality and attention they were given. They loved the breakfast and the huge bedroom they shared. They can't wait to return. Thanks to you at Sea Star for looking after my children so well!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
262 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay. I agree with the critic on the honeymoon suite as well as the overall conditions of the lodge. The bath tap was not working and the shower ran for a long time to get the bath filled. We were informed of this upfront. There are cracks everywhere but I believe renovations are planned for this month. The staff, Katiwe & Blessed, gave us excellent service. We found the view awesome. The electric fire place was not working and no English instructions to use the fancy Nespresso coffee machine. We still had a wonderful stay though and would like to go back after the renovations. On the breakfast - I have had much better breakfast at B&B's that are not as pricey. Out of luck with the whales on the day we were there.

Room Tip: We "upgraded" to the honeymoon suite as it was a lot bigger. But the bath tap does not wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecsonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

1stly no signs for directions from the main road, water in the honey moon suit that i paid R1450 in winter was slow, property is not what you see on the advert as it's not right on the edge of the sea. Continental breakfast that they offer, they had no sausage, tomato. Building has cracks all over from bedroom to the kitchen, only 6 tv channels on a 5 * lodge, they need to visit Marmalsbery's guest houses to see an intimate with personal touch breakfast not a lot but enough for 7 - 10 guests, worst in winter, have those small ports of button mushrooms, sausage, bacon, chick liver with peppers,scramble egg etc

For R1450 in winter you need that attention to detail, which will add value in your money. Not just a room to sleep on, where staff even struggle to make fire while it's raining outside.

The view is so dissapointing as there's a road and other buildings in front of your apartment, we booked co the picks on your website shows the beach view and it was our honey moon but no welcome drinks or gifts @ all or welcome letter. So dissapointing

Room Tip: I chose a honey moon suit but water took n hour to fill a bath, only few tv charnels were playing, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinnie3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

I actually came across this lodge on trip advisor and decided to give it a try. I fell in love with the place the minute I walked in cos of the reception I got from the staff. They have the best staff ever who are passionate about hospitality. The house is morden but very homely. The rooms are neat and the view is to die for. The owner Ardi took time to meet and greet all his guests during breakfast. Too bad my stay was short. Planning to visit there again, would recommend it to anyone that travels to Hermanus.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bon3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
0.9 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 30 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
0.5 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#5 of 30 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sea Star Cliff
Sea Star Cliff
#1 of 2 in De Kelders
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Whalesong Lodge
Whalesong Lodge
#8 of 30 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kleinzee Oceanfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Star Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Star Lodge

Property: Sea Star Lodge
Address: 19 Ingang Straat | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea Star Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly at the Walker Bay facing the Atlantic Ocean and the coastline of Hermanus you'll find this small exclusive lodge. At this place luxury ambiance meets genuine warmth and here you'll experience the wonders of nature in their full glory. Whether you are looking for adrenalin and decide to go on a shark cage diving trip to discover the Great White Sharks or if you decide to savour the local wines at the estates in the nearby Stanford Valley - our friendly staff would be glad to assist you with information and make your stay an unforgettable and enjoyable experience. The modern and spacious design of the lodge provides breathtaking sea views. The African arts blend in perfectly with the modern design and create a unique luxury atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Star Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Star Hotel Gansbaai
Sea Star Lodge South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing