We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Gainsbaai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Gainsbaai”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We had a lovely time at the roundhouse during our 3 week trip in SA! We arrived after a beautiful drive from Cape Town to a lovely room that was very clean and well equipped. We were explained where we could go for dinners and where we needed to go for our Shark Dive the following day. We drove up to the town found where we needed to go for our dive and looked at the boats and cages in anticipation! The following day we woke up to quite windy gloomy weather we drove down tothe place that was drawn out for us on the map to meet for our dive. We were told that the dive had been called off and to go home due to bad weather. So we went back to bed as it was pretty early, we then got a knock on the door from the accommodation manager to say they are waiting foryou the boat is about to go! We drove down and realised that he had told us the wrong building to go to for the dive, luckily we made it onto the boat although we missed the brekkie and briefing session. We had a fantastic day out at sea we saw 6 great whites and although it was choppy and I got pretty sick it was an incredible experience. The accommodation is very close to the water just a
2 min walk where you can go sit watch the whales (very special) and just take in the beauty. We enjoyed a drink at Coffee on the Rocks, loved the local/only bar that served great seafood and very very reasonable! We had a lovely meal at Benguala’s owned by the lovely Jonathan! Hermanus is about a 40 min drive very beautiful drive, maybe worth a visit one day or evening but not much more to do there than see the whales and have a nice meal/lunch. The accommodation served a great breakfast which was a preselected choice which you made the night before. There was a hot tub up on the roof however when we did try to use it after it had been broken it was beyond hot almost boiling the temp must have been wrong as it was dangerously too warm to get in – this was a bit of a shame! We didn’t see the owners once which was a bit of a shame given the dialog we’d had over emails. Stavross their gorgeous sausage dog though was the highlight of our time here – he
entertained us no end several times we saw him running around a good ½ mile from the house no doubt having a little local adventure! If your looking for somewhere to relax, watch the whales, enjoy nature and just escape then this is the place we will definitely come back if we plan to do another shark dive.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monsey-moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GansbaaiRoundhouse, Owner at The Roundhouse Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for your review. I must apologise first for not being there for you during your stay as my wife's father was in hospital and we had to spend most of the week running back and forth to cape town. I am glad that you had an enjoyable experience and I will definitely look into the problem you had with the incorrect information regarding the shark dive. Since fixing the Jacuzzi we noticed that the new thermostat was set incorrectly and now have dropped the temperature to a more comfortable level so apologies for this. We hope to see you again some time and this time you will be able to enjoy the Jacuzzi!! Regards, Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    70
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
93
176
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Some friends and I recently went on a shark cage diving trip to Gansbaai and we got more than we bargained for with The Roundhouse.

The staff were exceptionally warm and friendly, the bedrooms were absolutely exquisite and the views...the views were mindblowing!

Although diving with great white sharks was exhilarating, the accommodation was undoubtedly the best part of the whole trip. This is one incredible Gansbaai bed & breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aislinn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GansbaaiRoundhouse, Owner at The Roundhouse Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Wow, thank you for such a wonderful review! We are only doing our best and are so happy to give you an excellent experience which for you seemed to surpass the shark diving which is a difficult one to beat! We hope to see you again sometime in the future. regards, Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We visited this hotel out of season. Upon our arrival, we were greated by the owner and explained where we would have breakfast in the morning. Since then, we did not see him again. In the morning, a girl quickly served our breakfast and disappeared.

The room was very nice but it was quite cold (due to the season). I did not manage to start the heating and no one was home to help me.

Don't forget that from your room, you have no view as your are on the ground floor and there are walls around the property.

The terrage on the top floor is beautiful and there is a jacuzzi but unfortunately we did not have the opportunity to use it due to the weather (again).

I would recommend this place in the warmer days in SA.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco73Bruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roundhouse100, Owner at The Roundhouse Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
I am really sorry that you were not completely happy with your stay. This may have been when I had to rush off to Cape Town early morning the following morning and I was not around. There is always someone on hand should there be a problem and I would have explained if I checked you in that all you need to do is to push the door bell and I will assist you. We have heaters in the bedrooms and living rooms in all suites and I apologize if you felt like there was no assistance as I will come out at any time to assist you if you. I am also not sure why the girl at the Roundhouse disappeared in the morning after serving breakfast and I will look into this. We have been very busy in October but you must have been very unlucky with bad weather to hit at the same time as your stay. This is a funny year and there is another cold front on it's way in tomorrow which we should not be seeing at this time of year. I hope you have a chance to come again and this time I hope the weather plays in your advantage and you get to use the Jacuzzi next time. Apologies once again that you did not get the most out of your say at the Roundhouse. Regards, Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The room was beautiful, the breakfasts were delicious, the hot tub with the sea view very relaxing, and the owner Dave was super. With the cozy luxury, walk down to whale watching, and short ride to shark diving, it was fantastic, I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roundhouse100, Owner at The Roundhouse Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
I am really glad that you had a memorable experience at the Roundhouse. Most people who arrive at the Roundhouse say that they wished that they booked more nights. This is such a relaxing getaway and it is a real taste of the old South Africa. Safe, quiet and with stunning wildlife and scenery. We are blessed to live here and love sharing this amazing place to all visitors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Stayed in the dettached cottage when we went to see the Great White Shark (and obviously Whales!). It was a very very comfortable stay. Our welcome by the little dog was the start of a very homely happy stay
Dave was EXTREMELY FRIENDLY, very accommodating and helpful. Much recommended by us as 2 families. Great value for money!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miuraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roundhouse100, Owner at The Roundhouse Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Excellent to hear you had a great time on your visit! The weather is getting nice now and summer is finally here!! Went to the beach yesterday for the first time this summer!! See you again on your next visit. regards, Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montville, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We did a combo great white shark dive and night in the roundhouse. We had three rooms - a family, a couple and a single - all rooms were very very nice. Would definitely stay again. The dive was fantastic - highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roundhouse100, Owner at The Roundhouse Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
I am so glad you had a memorable experience in the Guesthouse and also the shark dives which we arranged for you. The combination of both is always a winner especially now in Whale season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The Roundhouse was perfect for spending time at the shore. The location was great, you can drive or walk right to the ocean to whale watch. The owner was great, gave us a wonderful recommendation for dinner! The room was wonderful and the staff even came in early to make breakfast for us. Use the hot tub too, it was wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristenD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roundhouse100, Owner at The Roundhouse Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thanks for the lovely review. I am glad that you had a memorable experience at the Roundhouse. We look forward to seeing you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.9 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.2 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
608 reviews
3.7 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#4 of 29 in Gansbaai
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
281 reviews
0.8 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#5 of 29 in Gansbaai
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roundhouse Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roundhouse Guesthouse

Property: The Roundhouse Guesthouse
Address: 61 Ingang Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roundhouse Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roundhouse is the best place to stay in Gansbaai as the owners are well experienced travel operators and own the tourism booking office in Town. The B&B is in De Kelders, THE prime land based Whale watching area in the world and has a unique African feel with special touches such as Shellstone clad walls contrasting with rough earthy paints. With Free WIFI, Rooftop Jacuzzi, outdoor Swimming pool and Games room with Pool and Table Tennis we have a large variety for you to lick back and relax for a few days. Our specialty is Shark Cage Diving and stay packages and offer a fantastic combination package for shark diving and Whale watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Roundhouse Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roundhouse Guesthouse South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing