We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Baleens(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$574
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour House Hotel(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor Hotel & Apartments(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
325
81
20
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
81
20
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsround househot tubthe ownerabalonetop deckshark cage divingwhale watchingrooftop jacuzzicape townan amazing place to stayde keldersour room was spaciousself catering cottagestay there againnice staygreat whitesbed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
324 - 329 of 433 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of March 2012 and had a wonderful time. Had the jacuzzi been heated it would have been perfect. Staff were lovely and very helpful, sorting out our cage dive and providing the best breakfast ever! Special mention to Stavros the dog, lovely little chap who accompanied us on our walk. We saw a pod of whales too, from the balcony of our suite, upon our return from shark dive - perfect day. (we went with Apex Predator boat and would highly recommend them)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachbums0227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roundhouse100, Owner at The Roundhouse Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Great to hear you had a good stay! I am not sure why the Jacuzzi was not hot? Apologies for this! This is our greatest and most popular feature so it should be on every afternoon into the night!! Hope to see you again sometime. Stavros is getting old but still likes the odd walk. We have a puppy now called Spiros and we are training him up to be a guide too :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my 4 day stay at The Roundhouse in De Kelders. The rooms and service were top notch, and the owners, Dave and Elna were great (the in house booking office made everything so much easier) I'll be returning for another shark cage diving expedition soon, and I'll definitely be booking my bed at this Gansbaai guest house again. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjifaye34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We were at Gansbaai for the shark cage dive...

Reached later than expected but Dave was around to receive us... The room (Standard Suite) was great (big and clean), safe parking right in front of the room, common internet facility, jacuzzi with a view of the bay (The bay was filled with whales when we stayed there), great breakfast, a well stocked mini bar etc... I could go on and on with a risk of sounding like their employee! :) Anyways, like Ruckstuhl P has already mentioned, it does feel like a 5 star!

Thanks Dave for showing us around and helping us with directions!

We had earlier planned to spend time at Hermanus for whale watching but the Gansbaai bay was definitely a better location!!! You can get really close to the whales and it isn't crowded! :)

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor but I am assuming higher floors will have a great view!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 553,366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roundhouse100, Owner at The Roundhouse Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Great to hear that you had a memorable experience with us. We hope you are able to return some time again for more Roundhouse, Sharks & Whales!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed at The Roundhouse for 3 days last month and it was a wonderful experience. The staff are delightful - so friendly and efficient. The rooms are very well equipped (loads of space, great views, and all the home comforts you need for a comfortable stay). The rates are also reasonable, which is great because it means more money to spend on shark cage diving! Thank you Dave and Elna for providing us with sensational Gansbaai accommodation during our Summer vacation. Great hosts!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CallieRawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roundhouse100, Owner at The Roundhouse Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Excellent to hear you had a great time here. We hope to see you again some time soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Very very nice place. It looks like 5 Star!
Sehr sehr schoener Platz, es fehlt an nichts. Komfortabel in jeder Hinsicht. Exclusive Ausstattung.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruckstuhl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GansbaaiRoundhouse, Owner at The Roundhouse Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Thank you for your excellent review. We are so glad to make your stay perfect and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews