We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buyer Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 30 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We booked a shark dive and one night's accommodation at Round House for January 2014. This was sold as a package and we prepaid accommodation as per request. Our journey took us from PE to Gansbaai (easily a seven hour drive) and when we arrived at 7pm, we were told that the shark dive was cancelled due to bad weather. No alternative excursion was offered. As international tourists with limited time, we were annoyed that we had not been informed of the cancellation earlier so that we could make alternate plans. It took the hotel over two weeks to respond to telephone requests and emails on this matter. Any request for a refund from the hotel was denied, they claim that the room was ready regardless of the dive conditions. At the time, we chose to move on to Cape Town our final destination, and all requests for assistance from the hotel denied. So buyer beware, if you want to dive, don't stay here as you will pay for accommodation regardless. Weather is very variable in these circumstances so keep your options open.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HeatherHHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GansbaaiRoundhouse, Owner at The Roundhouse Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Apologies for your bad experience with our service. As mentioned in our numerous emails we and the shark diving company tried repeatedly to contact you by your cell phone number given on the booking form during the day about the cancelled trip but without any response. We tried to call and sms but could not get hold of you. We were not instructed to contact you via email and knew you were driving from PE so did not think you would be picking up your email on the road so apologies for this. If tours do get cancelled due to poor weather we are one of the only establishments that are flexible and do not charge for the accommodation if it is part of the package. However if we cannot get hold of a client and have reserved the room with staff waiting until late in the evening we would need to honour this booking as the rooms were blocked off and we were unable to resell them. When you arrived you were obviously upset that the shark dive was cancelled (As I would be) and then demanded to have a refund for the accommodation as you did not want to stay any longer. We pride ourselves on providing a world class service to our clients and will definitely be flexible should the weather not play fair. In this instance however, by the time we managed to inform you that the dive had been cancelled it was very late in the day and we were unable to release your room. We pride ourselves on being fair, transparent and will always do our best to accommodate all of our client’s needs. Our guesthouse is in De Kelders which is one of the most stunning coastal towns in South Africa with miles of endless beaches and stunning rugged cliff edges. The area offers a fantastic array of activities from Wine tasting to Quad biking and horse riding and many guests that stay want to extend their stay or come back. In our rooms we have a thick booklet listing all of the activities that are in the area with contact numbers and our staff are briefed to show clients this. It is a real shame as you were here so late after a long drive that you did not decide to stay overnight as you would have after a good night’s sleep woken up in a breath-taking part of the world. If you are in South Africa again we will gladly offer you a free night’s stay at the Roundhouse as an apology for your disappointment and once again apologies for not being able to inform you of your cancelled dive before you arrived.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for The Roundhouse Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Spent an enjoyable night's stay in February en route from Cape Town to Mossel Bay. Lovely welcome, excellent breakfast and the highlight was watching the sunset from the hot tub! The number of stairs to climb make it awkward for anyone with a disability, but beautiful views and a great welcome - thank you so much.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We could not recommend the Roundhouse more! We only had one night there on our garden route drive, but all of us wished we had more! The building is so beautifully unique, the view exquisite, the decoration simple and lovely, the hospitality wonderful and the breakfast delicious.
Would have loved to have been there during whale season, but really enjoyed the shark cage diving we were able to do there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank BeStillAndTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

As a woman traveling to South Africa by myself for the first time I was a little bit nervous. Dave (the owner of the Roundhouse) picked me up at the airport and immediately made me feel at home. He told me all about the area as we drove from Cape Town to Gansbaii, stopping several times so that I could take pictures. I saw Southern Right Whales leaping out of the water in Hermanus! The Roundhouse is very nice. They were out of regular rooms so I was upgraded to a nicer room at no charge. Breakfast was delicious. The staff (yay Elana!) was incredibly nice and did everything that they could to make sure that I was comfortable (driving me around town/telling me about growing up in Gansbaii/answering any questions that I had). The surrounding area is incredibly beautiful as well. Dave organized my first cage dive and then managed to get me on another boat last minute when I decided I NEEDED to experience that one more time before leaving. He took myself and a few other guests to the most southern tip of Africa to feed an enourmous, wild stingray by hand. He also drove me to a facility where they rehabilitate cheetahs (I touched a cheetah!). Dave drove me back into Cape Town at the end of my stay and even recommended a great hotel and a restaurant (Mama Africa) where I ended up eating that night. Thanks again to Dave and Elana!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed here whilst in the region for 3 nights. Clean,modern amenities in a super location in the 'shark diving capital of the world'. Some very high quality eating establishments near by and the Guesthouse itself serves up a really good breakfast with plenty of choice. Highly recommended establishment with the jacuzzi on the sun deck being the cherry on the cake.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cetecea room which was on the ground floor and perfect for a pair of travelling divers.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We were here for the third year in a row! Everytime we come here we feel very comfortable. The rooms really have a lot of space and the vicinity of Gansbaai invites you to make a stroll along the ocean. The Roundhouse serves a good breakfast where we advise to take the yoghurt with muesly which is yummy yummy! Next year we will certainly spend again two nights at this guesthouse! Other advantahe are the King Size beds that you won't find often in South Africa.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed in Gansbaai for the shark diving and stayed at the Roundhouse. The cottage house was great, 3 bedrooms, full kitchen, very clean, nice landscaping and working wifi. More than enough room for 2 of us-could have stayed longer. Easy to locate, as you can spot it from the main road.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tamyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.9 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.6 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#5 of 30 in Gansbaai
410 reviews
3.7 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#3 of 30 in Gansbaai
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#11 of 30 in Gansbaai
288 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 30 in Gansbaai
623 reviews
0.6 mi away
On The Rocks B&B
On The Rocks B&B
#15 of 30 in Gansbaai
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roundhouse Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roundhouse Guesthouse

Address: 61 Ingang Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: £43 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roundhouse Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roundhouse is the best place to stay in Gansbaai as the owners are well experienced travel operators and own the tourism booking office in Town. The B&B is in De Kelders, THE prime land based Whale watching area in the world and has a unique African feel with special touches such as Shellstone clad walls contrasting with rough earthy paints. With Free WIFI, Rooftop Jacuzzi, outdoor Swimming pool and Games room with Pool and Table Tennis we have a large variety for you to lick back and relax for a few days. Our specialty is Shark Cage Diving and stay packages and offer a fantastic combination package for shark diving and Whale watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roundhouse Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roundhouse Guesthouse South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing