We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Africa Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mettmann, Germany
2 reviews
“South Africa Trip”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Roundhouse Guesthouse in Gansbaai. We only stayed one night. Breakfast was delicious (especially the muesli)! Unfortunately it was so stormy that we could not do the Cage Diving.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Conny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    70
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
92
176
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Owner extremely friendly (he waited up until late night to let us in).
Room quiet and clean, close to the cage diving site.
The day after departure i receive an email saying that I had forgotten my shoes in the room and they'll be posting it without any additional expenses - extremely kind of them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clemente443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feltham
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

3rd year we have stayed at the Roundhouse and as pleased as always. Stayed 10 nights this year and as always makes a great base. The staff are helpful and friendly and Dave the owner is just a great chap, also very knowledgeable about the sharks and the diving and gets you a good deal which is always a sweetener. The rooms are large, clean and just pleasurable to stay in. Thanks for everything Dave and staff as usual and especially saving us when we got the hire car stuck on the beach!!!! lol

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We loved the Roundhouse! The rooms were beautiful and location great. Located close to the water with great trails. Also plenty of restaurants in the vicinity. Thank you for allowing us to return to shower after our shark diving.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katumab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Warm&friendly reception by the owner! Location was great-stunning views from jacuzzi on top deck/balcony! Tasteful breakfast in the morning- staff very helpful&friendly! Rooms very spacious and clean!
Will recommend to friends&family!
Thanks you

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BvDiemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The rooms (open plan lounge/kitchenette, bedroom and bathroom) were clean, spacious, elegant and very comfortable. Every need was taken care of, to the extent of having access to a jacuzzi on the top deck with a view to die for. Thank you for allowing us to come back to the room to shower after a smelly morning at sea. We will be back :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank carmen722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The service was excellent, it was very relaxing environment, after the excitement from the shark cage diving. Spectacular view. Clean room, everything was there what you needed.
Will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Monique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gansbaai hotels
1.2 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
608 reviews
3.7 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#4 of 29 in Gansbaai
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
1.8 mi away
Aire del Mar Guest House
Aire del Mar Guest House
#15 of 29 in Gansbaai
74 reviews
0.8 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roundhouse Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roundhouse Guesthouse

Property: The Roundhouse Guesthouse
Address: 61 Ingang Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roundhouse Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roundhouse is the best place to stay in Gansbaai as the owners are well experienced travel operators and own the tourism booking office in Town. The B&B is in De Kelders, THE prime land based Whale watching area in the world and has a unique African feel with special touches such as Shellstone clad walls contrasting with rough earthy paints. With Free WIFI, Rooftop Jacuzzi, outdoor Swimming pool and Games room with Pool and Table Tennis we have a large variety for you to lick back and relax for a few days. Our specialty is Shark Cage Diving and stay packages and offer a fantastic combination package for shark diving and Whale watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roundhouse Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roundhouse Guesthouse South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing