We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a "bucketlist" experience!”

White Shark Projects
Book In Advance
More Info
US$129.28*
and up
Half-Day White Shark Cage Diving from Gansbaai
Ranked #3 of 21 Tours in Gansbaai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: White Shark Projects welcomes local and international tourists, divers and non-divers … anyone who wishes to encounter, dive with, or view white sharks in a safe and professional environment. White Shark Projects was established in 1989 and is a world-leading organisation that focuses on the conservation of great white sharks through responsible tourism and research. Expect excellent customer service, good value and operational efficiency.
Reviewed 30 May 2014

All my fears of being in the water with sharks were minimized thanks to a great, knowledgeable, professional and safety-conscious staff surrounded by excellent facilities, great preparation, on-board guidance, and solid boat.

The experience was both exhilirating (I had to be the 1st in the water) and educational and I would highly recommend it to anyone in that area of South Africa.

Thank TheTravelSlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juanitawsp, Guest Relations Manager at White Shark Projects, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Making sure our clients are as comfortable as possible is one of many 1st priorities we want to achieve. I will pass on your lovely comments to the crew. Thank you for sharing your pictures. Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

631 - 635 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Very happy with my trip at white shark projects, an amazing expierence, but unfortunately visibility was quite poor and we had a tight time scale as there were three trips that day. But all in all was a great day

Thank Amelianderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juanitawsp, Guest Relations Manager at White Shark Projects, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hi Amelia. We are so happy to hear that your experience meeting the Great White was amazing. Surely takes ones breath away when coming face to face with such an incredible majestic animal. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I must admit I was filled with trepidation as we left Cape Town early in the morning for the 3 hour trip to Gansbaai. I went along for the ride with my husband, and had no intention of submerging myself in a cage with a load of sharks swimming around! But in the end I had a wonderful time, and picked a perfect spot on the boat to take numerous photos of the sharks and their human 'bait'!

The crew were great fun and provided a tasty buffet breakfast and lunch. They ensured everyone on the boat was safe and issued clear instructions to those who went in the cage.They also filmed the whole experience (both on the boat and underwater) and this was shown on the screens before our departure (DVD copies could be purchased!)

Overall the experience left me feeling privileged to have seen so many of these iconic creatures in the wild, and to have gained an insight into their behaviour and environment.

Thank Kazzoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juanitawsp, Guest Relations Manager at White Shark Projects, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Firstly we would like to thank you for this lovely review and we are so happy that you and your husband enjoyed the trip. I will pass on your comments to our crew. Creating awareness and giving clients the chance to learn more about Great Whites is really important to us. Sometimes the best viewing is from the boat and creates perfect opportunity for amazing photographs that will live on forever. Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had a great day with White Shark Projects. The staff was very hospitable, the building was very clean and a great place to meet up before going into the water. The on board crew was really fun, made sure everyone had the opportunity to have their time to experience a shark encounter and made us feel safe. I liked that the crew was tracking and documenting the shark activity and actually conducting research. They were courteous to the protection of the wild sharks. I would recommend them to anyone wanting to go on a cage diving experience.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank sloy615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juanitawsp, Guest Relations Manager at White Shark Projects, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hi,thank you for writing your great review and comments about our crew, I will certainly pass the message on. We actually started as a Great White Research company and after a few years we decided to open to the public and share all there is to know about these animals, well at least what we have established to date. Yet there is more to learn about them every day. Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went on the day trip with these guys in March and have to say it was SUPERB. The whole day was proffesional enjoyable and amazing
From the pick up from the hotel to getting back everything was done right. My partner was very worried about the day but as soon as she saw how the trip was organised her fears disapeared.
Its a full day out that litterally takes your breathe away. We were lucky enough to see 9 great whites from 2.5m to 4.5m WOW.
As a proud Yorkshire man I am as tight as a tight can be and I have to say without exception the value for money on the day trip was exceptional.
All the crew were helpful and knew their stuff and made the day even better
Dont come to Cape Town without having a day with these guys
SUPERB

1  Thank gary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juanitawsp, Guest Relations Manager at White Shark Projects, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

We are grateful for your amazing review. It is such a privilege that the White Shark Projects Team and the Great White Sharks made your experience with us, one of the best days in your life. Thank you. To have seen 9 different sharks is absolutely remarkable and I agree that this experience takes ones breath away. Your recommendation means the world to us. Hope to see you again one day. Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Shark Projects also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
Kleinbaai, Gansbaai
 

Been to White Shark Projects? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing