We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience!”

White Shark Projects
Book In Advance
More Info
US$140.34*
and up
Half-Day White Shark Cage Diving from Gansbaai
Ranked #3 of 21 Tours in Gansbaai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: White Shark Projects welcomes local and international tourists, divers and non-divers … anyone who wishes to encounter, dive with, or view white sharks in a safe and professional environment. White Shark Projects was established in 1989 and is a world-leading organisation that focuses on the conservation of great white sharks through responsible tourism and research. Expect excellent customer service, good value and operational efficiency.
Regina
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband and I took my parents when we were on a trip to Africa. I have a food allergy, to which they were very accommodating. The water was quite choppy, the visibility not great, but we still saw plenty of sharks. The only downside was that there were so many people on the boat that we split into 2 groups going into the cage. There were plenty of sharks around for the first group, but not so many for the second group. Still got some great photos and had an amazing time though!

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    194
    42
    12
    25
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best experience ever.”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Excellent day. Great crew. Lots of sharks. Very safe. No fear at all. A MUST DO for anyone. The sharks are so brilliant up close. You are within reaching distance both on the boat and in the cage. An underwater camera would be advised. We got some great pics this way.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mark j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome great white dive!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I went on the White Shark Projects tour out in Gaansbai and it was really great! I highly recommend this tour for anyone who has shark diving on their bucket list!

Visited June 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank RyanBahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juanitawsp, Guest Relations Manager at White Shark Projects, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Ryan. We thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so thrilled that you and your wife had such a great experience. Thank you for sharing your pictures and your recommendation. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“My fear has gone!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great team, tons of sharks and very confident. Had a massive fear of sharks until now! Thanks for a fantastic experience which we WILL be doing again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luvbug666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juanitawsp, Guest Relations Manager at White Shark Projects, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We are very pleased to hear that your fear of these magnificent animals has gone. Thank you for your great review and i will be sure to pass on you compliments to the team. Looking forward to welcome you aboard again. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience, awesome people”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our trip with White Shark Projects was excellent. Before leaving there were refreshments and a talk about what we can expect and a safety briefing from the skipper. Once at the island we could help ourselves to sandwiches and drinks while we waited for the sharks to arrive, which didn't take long. We got to spend a good amount of time in the cage, everyone got their fix!

While we were at the island one girl got really sea sick and fainted when she got out the cage. The crew dealt with the situation very well and she was soon feeling ok again, I was very impressed at how professional and caring they were.

All in all a fantastic experience which I would highly recommend to anyone!

Visited June 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Disco552014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juanitawsp, Guest Relations Manager at White Shark Projects, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi, thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. Our clients, their comfort and safety are very important to us. Absolutely thrilled that you had such a fantastic experience and we thank you for your recommendation. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Shark Projects also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
Kleinbaai, Gansbaai
 

Been to White Shark Projects? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing